We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Van der Valk Hotel Haarlem

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Van der Valk Hotel Haarlem to your Saves list
Van der Valk Hotel Haarlem
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Toekanweg 2, 2035 LC Haarlem, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Haarlem
Calgary Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Love this Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Second time staying here. There are two sections to this hotel. This time I was in the Main part of the Hotel on the side with the Reception and Dining areas. (They are renovating the other part.) The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. Beautifully decorated. The staff are helpful and friendly and even allowed me to use up all of my Euro change to pay my hotel bill. The breakfast buffet is always excellent at the Valk.

Excellent access to the bus platform to downtown Haarlam and straight to the train station for a 20 minute train to Amsterdam.

Haarlam itself is a very pretty town with interesting things to see (St Bavo;s church, Hals museum etc)

Room Tip: If you can try to get a room that faces away from the highway and gas station. There was some very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    118
    53
    23
    17
See reviews for
40
105
11
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Don't let the distance from Schiphol Amsterdam airport put you off. A 20-30 mins bus ride straight from airport will take you directly to hotel. Very conveniently located in a quiet neighborhood and a comfortable and enjoyable walk along the canal to Haarlem downtown through interesting neighborhoods.
Clean rooms with one the most comfortable beds I have slept in a long time. Very helpful staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Close to the historic Haarlem town center. Good food and good sized rooms, breakfast is excellent. The Bathrooms are really smart but the room decor is somewhat miserable and the carpets are too dark and garish in the hallways.

WiFi was fine and did no air con in the room. The Hotel is however a building site at the moment but once done even though off a main road double glazing is efficient.

Room Tip: Check whats going on with the building work before you come
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zeewolde, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Near Schiphol and the Zandvoort racetrack and close to the historic Haarlem town center. Very efficient operation. booking over their website is easy and simple. Good food, all night bar, good roomy rooms, breakfast is very complete. parking is okay. WiFi was free but slow.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the upper floors, quiteer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

I like the personal so nice professional less than 3 minutes check in also check out v quickly about the breakfast perfect a different resource of food perfect coffee also service v goed the room view was so nice but the decoration of the room I found not so class or comfortAble for the eyes but I found the bathroom is great clean

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I was in the area for business a couple of weeks ago and due to the Europa Cup Final being played in Amsterdam this was the only hotel I could get. I was booked into what was described as an "Economy Room" as that was the ONLY room available, but the name did worry me.

OK so lets start with the positives. The reception and check in were fine and painless, and the hotel bar had a good selection of beer and a good atmosphere. We ate in the restaurant and the selection and standard of food was very nicey prepared and served. Breakfast was self service and again a good selection for all tastes. This is the primary reason for the 3*.

Now the not so good. The "Economy Room" was actually on the roof of the hotel it seemed. The hotel had obviously had a go a decorating the room in some Gothic Chique style but in truth it looked a bit dark and sinister decorated in red and black with old style furnishings missing the mark. They may well have got away with it except they had left in the room a pretty grotty wooden wardrobe which spoiled the whole thing. One good thing was the bathroom which was large and spacious and well refurbished.

When I entered the room it was very hot at 30 degrees C, so I tried the wall mounted aircon unit which activated for about 30 seconds and then switched off. Having tried this for about an hour I called reception to have someone come fix it. After a further call one hour later someone eventually appeared and having taken a look said it was broken and they couldn't fix it. Before getting into bed later that night I tried the aircon unit again and it worked perfectly all night ???

The hotel seems to be undergoing major refurbishment and additonal rooms built, so there is a lot of construction work going on. I guess when this is done the whole hotel will be much better.

It was OK just for the one night but if I was here for a 3 or 4 day stay I'd have to have a different room.

Room Tip: Do NOT book an "Economy Room"
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Van der Valk Hotel Haarlem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van der Valk Hotel Haarlem

Address: Toekanweg 2, 2035 LC Haarlem, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Haarlem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Van der Valk Hotel Haarlem 4*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Van der Valk Hotel Haarlem is located at the border of the historical center of Haarlem. From the hotel you can easily visit the beaches of Zandvoort and Bloemendaal and the cities of Amsterdam or The Hague. The hotel is located not far from the airport Schiphol. The city of Haarlem is certainly worth a visit with its beautiful canals, old buildings, inner-gardens and of course the famous Teylers Museum and Frans Hals Museum.Our guests enjoy free high-speed internet, free parking and free access to Anybody Healthcenter. We would like to welcome all business guests in one of our 14 meetingrooms, ranging from 13 to 900 m². ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Van der Valk Hotel Haarlem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Van der Valk Hotel Haarlem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.