We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gothic Chique Boutique....not quite !” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Van der Valk Hotel Haarlem

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Van der Valk Hotel Haarlem to your Saves list
Van der Valk Hotel Haarlem
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Toekanweg 2, 2035 LC Haarlem, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€ 5 discount
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Haarlem
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Gothic Chique Boutique....not quite !”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I was in the area for business a couple of weeks ago and due to the Europa Cup Final being played in Amsterdam this was the only hotel I could get. I was booked into what was described as an "Economy Room" as that was the ONLY room available, but the name did worry me.

OK so lets start with the positives. The reception and check in were fine and painless, and the hotel bar had a good selection of beer and a good atmosphere. We ate in the restaurant and the selection and standard of food was very nicey prepared and served. Breakfast was self service and again a good selection for all tastes. This is the primary reason for the 3*.

Now the not so good. The "Economy Room" was actually on the roof of the hotel it seemed. The hotel had obviously had a go a decorating the room in some Gothic Chique style but in truth it looked a bit dark and sinister decorated in red and black with old style furnishings missing the mark. They may well have got away with it except they had left in the room a pretty grotty wooden wardrobe which spoiled the whole thing. One good thing was the bathroom which was large and spacious and well refurbished.

When I entered the room it was very hot at 30 degrees C, so I tried the wall mounted aircon unit which activated for about 30 seconds and then switched off. Having tried this for about an hour I called reception to have someone come fix it. After a further call one hour later someone eventually appeared and having taken a look said it was broken and they couldn't fix it. Before getting into bed later that night I tried the aircon unit again and it worked perfectly all night ???

The hotel seems to be undergoing major refurbishment and additonal rooms built, so there is a lot of construction work going on. I guess when this is done the whole hotel will be much better.

It was OK just for the one night but if I was here for a 3 or 4 day stay I'd have to have a different room.

Room Tip: Do NOT book an "Economy Room"
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    156
    74
    24
    19
See reviews for
59
150
15
89
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Haarlem
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

The room was excellent, the breakfast selection was one of the best ever, a very relaxing atmosphere. I would certainly book again. The staff were very friendly with perfect English.
Lifts were a bit slow, but we were in no rush

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights whilst visiting Amsterdam. The hotel is currently getting refurbished which doesn't seem to effect the rest of the hotel. We had interconnecting rooms which was great for our family of 5. There was direct access to the carpark from our room which was very handy for loading the car. The only thing we found unusal was that we had to access our room through the hotel restaurant which wasn't a big problem. To get to Amsterdam it was a short bus ride to Haarlem Central station and a 20 minute train ride to Amsterdam Central station and right into the action. We actually preferred Haarlem to Amsterdam as it was much quieter and had a very beautiful town centre. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Definitely try Cafe De Linde in Haarlem - the best ribs in Netherlands! Overall would highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

was concerned about some of the other comments about this hotel but was pleasantly surprised. Hotel itself is of reasonable quality and found all the staff more than helpful at all times, barman a bit surly but more than does his job. Food is of good quality too albeit the menu a little limited, but good fare nonetheless. Wifi is free but signal is weak in restaurant area. Room was large and clean with (communal) balcony and digital safe. Hotel has its own free car park and bus service to central Haarlem stops outside. Easy to get bus/train to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stouport on Severn
Level Contributor
172 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed on the hotel over the Easter break. It was very quiet as it appears to cater for the business traveller. Despite some of the previous reviews we found the hotel to be modern, clean and well presented. Receptionists very friendly and helpful. Our room was large and well serviced. A good variety of hot and cold offerings for breakfast. Ample on site parking. Bus stops immediately outside the hotel linking to Haarlem railway station where there are frequent trains to Amsterdam about 15 minutes away. You can also catch the bus onto Amsterdam but you need to change to get into the city centre. Would be very happy to stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Machelen, Belgium
Level Contributor
97 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Regular 3* hotel. There are several buildings, and the transfer from one to the next can take some time and the use of several elevators. Very friendly personnel. restaurant OK, but not supperb.
Free parking, which in Holland is worth a lot.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Haarlem hotels
Carlton Square Hotel
#1 of 12 in Haarlem
4.0 of 5 stars 372 reviews
Centrum
Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals
Golden Tulip Lion D'Or
#4 of 12 in Haarlem
4.0 of 5 stars 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Ambassador City Centre Hotel
Centrum
Haarlem Hotelsuites
Haarlem Hotelsuites
#6 of 12 in Haarlem
4.5 of 5 stars 33 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Amadeus
Hotel Amadeus
#8 of 12 in Haarlem
3.5 of 5 stars 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Van der Valk Hotel Haarlem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van der Valk Hotel Haarlem

Address: Toekanweg 2, 2035 LC Haarlem, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Haarlem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Van der Valk Hotel Haarlem 4*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Van der Valk Hotel Haarlem is located at the border of the historical center of Haarlem. From the hotel you can easily visit the beaches of Zandvoort and Bloemendaal and the cities of Amsterdam or The Hague. The hotel is located not far from the airport Schiphol. The city of Haarlem is certainly worth a visit with its beautiful canals, old buildings, inner-gardens and of course the famous Teylers Museum and Frans Hals Museum.Our guests enjoy free high-speed internet, free parking and free access to Anybody Healthcenter. We would like to welcome all business guests in one of our 14 meetingrooms, ranging from 13 to 900 m². ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Van der Valk Hotel Haarlem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Van der Valk Hotel Haarlem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.