We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bed and Breakfast L'Anders

Save Saved
You added Bed and Breakfast L'Anders to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bed and Breakfast L'Anders
Grote Markt 12, 2011 RD Haarlem, The Netherlands (Centrum)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Haarlem B&B and Inns
Bridport, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“What a great place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

This time last week we had arrived at Schipol airport and ridden the 300 Bus into Haarlem. It was so easy, we could pay cash, 5 euros each, and it took about 35 minutes. We got off at the stop just past the big Art Deco V and D store and walked along the street directly opposite the store. This took us to the Grote Markt where we easily found L'Anders. Thanks to trip advisor reviews we had high expectations and were not disappointed. We were made to feel very welcome and given lots of useful information about the city. We stayed in room 2 which was large,clean and comfortable. Yes, the stairs were steep but we were in Holland and soon got used to them,but we did take it carefully( well we are in our 60s) Room 2 was a quiet room at the back but because of this had no view, next time (and there will be a next time,) we will hopefully have a room facing the square.
There was complimentary water , tea, coffee etc on the landing outside which was most welcome
and unexpected. The staff at L'Anders could not have been nicer we were even given free tasty treats to try with our beers and the meal we ate in the evening was extremely good and great value for money. The breakfast was fantastic and beautifully presented with the ever attentive staff offering more if we should need it. Our stay in this beautiful city was made all the more enjoyable
by l'Anders, it's position, it's atmosphere and above all it's staff! Can't wait to visit again soon!

Chris and Graham

Room Tip: If you want a quiet night go for a room at the back but if you want a view then the front would be b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
27
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thunder Bay
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Flew in to Amsterdam then took the 300 bus from the Airport to Haarlem -- google maps very confusing as they had walking instructions that took us much past the accommodation -- check in was good - stairs very very very steep and narrow and two sets -- so if mobility issues then is a problem -- no elevator -- however this is not all that unusual -- we had room 4 - small room and the walls are steep so have to be careful getting out of one side of the bed. Bathroom small and shower (only) very small and little room to move ( curtain surrounds you in the shower and seems to enjoy getting attached to you) Beds comfortable -- two singles - and very small desk area -TV did not work at all - but not there to watch tv -- internet was good -- restaurant very good -- people there very good -- one morning we had plans to leave before breakfast - they make up lovely sandwiches - a couple of GREAT pieces of apple pie - couple of oranges and some juice -- had breakfast with them the next day - some bread cheese and meat --very fresh -- decent place to stay - would stay there again -- by North American standards needs work - but from what I can tell very good for Haarlem - would agree quaint would be a good description

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

We have just returned from Haarlem - stayed at L'Anders for 2 nights. The room was wonderful full of character. It was in the best location - 5-10 mins walk either direction to shops or station. The breakfast was AMAZING as were the staff - they were courteous, friendly and helpful. The food was lovely and they had all amenities. Free ...yes FREE mini bar stocked for our use.

The only downside was the noise - I do have to mention it as it was quite bad. The hotel do provide ear plugs though. The noise started about 2-3am when the clubs closed up and on saturday morning they have a market so we could hear the market sellers throughout the night putting up their stalls - However the staff, location and food would tempt me back there again although I would definately ask for a back room and that it such a shame as the front room had a beautiful view of the square.

Room Tip: Book the back room to avoid noise at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We have just returned from the best stay we have ever had in Haarlem. When you make a hotel booking you read the reviews, the pros and cons, and then make your choice. We choose “Bed and Breakfast L'Anders”. This is a small 4 bedroom place with the rooms above the restaurant facing onto the beautiful square.
We were welcomed by one of the friendliest people I have meet in awhile, indeed one of the stand out experiences of our stay was the quality of the people who work here. Nothing was to much trouble and everything done with a smile.
We were given our room, number 3, and ascended the steep stairs. Don't complain about stairs, this is Holland and all old buildings have them and no lift, remember these beautiful old buildings are part of the reason you love Holland!
A large room with a lovely mix of different furniture and two windows looking out on to the Grote Markt. There is some noise but you are in the centre of town and if you have trouble sleeping the wonderful people from Bed and Breakfast L'Anders give you free colourful earplugs! Outside our door was a fridge filled with complementary beer, water, juices and wine.
The breakfast the next morning was a treat to behold, nice large coffee to start then freshly squeezed orange juice, muesli and yogurt and then a plate of ham and cheeses, served with  croissant and bread fresh from the oven, all served to your table. Fill up of coffee and off for the day.
I could go on and on about how much we enjoyed our stay but let me end by saying come February we will be back. Thank you all at “Bed and Breakfast L'Anders”

Room Tip: Go for Room 3 (but not when we go there!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed at this BnB after reading the reviews here. And yes, it was a really nice ad wonderful experience! We stayed at room 4, and had no problems with sound/noise (though it is true that you can hear people when they come out/go into their rooms).
We checked in really late and the Manager was really nice to recommend a good late-dinner place (which the food was really nice!) for us and show us on the map where to pack our car.
He also helped us bring our 24'" heavy suitcase up 2 flights of very steep and scary stairs to our room.
Their breakfast is abit later only at 10am, but if you let him know early, he usually will arrange something for you. Their breakfast is simply awesome! The croissant is super nice and flaky, and I loved the freshly squeezed orange juice. They do provide quite a relatively simple but nice selection for breakfast.
There are only 4 rooms in this BnB, so the service is very personal and has a homely feel to it.
It's a must-go if you are planning to stay in Haarlem!

Room Tip: The stairs are really steep (there is no lift here)! Try not to bring suitcase and opt for backpack.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I had a wonderful stay at Bed & Breakfast L'Anders.

The location can't be beat: right on the Grote Markt, close to everything. Also, the train station is only a 10 minute walk, and from there you can get just about anywhere so easily.

I was in Room 2, at the back of the building - great choice. No noise from the square, and only one flight of stairs to climb. The room was large, and I had everything I needed. Very comfortable. I think the only thing I would comment on is that, even without being on the market square, there was still noise in the room from other guests coming and going (i.e. noises from doors and stairs, etc). The B & B did provide ear plugs, which was awesome. I'm a very light sleeper, so if I was OK, anyone would be OK. :)

Breakfast was wonderful - what a treat to sit on the square each morning, have a wonderful meal, and watch the world go by. Also, the staff was extremely accommodating with my dietary requirements. Couldn't have been more helpful! I had to leave early on my final morning, and they packed the nicest little breakfast for me to take to Schiphol.

I almost always travel by myself and don't usually enjoy sitting in a restaurant for dinner alone, but the staff at L'Anders made me feel right at home, and I had two excellent dinners there.

The owners and staff at this B & B made it one of the friendliest I have ever stayed at. I can't say enough about all of them - just exceptional. It felt like I was still at home. I wouldn't stay anywhere else next time I come to Haarlem.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

A superb stay in the Grotte market with the most generous hosts. We were in room 1 overlooking the market square. Yes it was noisy at night but that reflected the life of the place. It was like living on a film set. We loved it and we slept really well without ear plugs! We stayed for 6 nights and felt really at home. Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff. Lots of lovely food as well as advice about places to go and things to see. Lovely little treats like complimentary drinks and packed lunches when we couldn't make breakfast. We were in our car and parking around about is not too easy. Something that makes Haarlem really special as the bike clearly had priority over cars. It was suggested we leave our car at the park and ride at Ikea and get the train into the town. This worked really well for us.
Such a great holiday, so many kind and friendly people. We cannot recommend this place to stay and Haarlem enough. Many many thanks.

Room Tip: Room 1 is huge with a great view of the market square
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bed and Breakfast L'Anders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed and Breakfast L'Anders

Address: Grote Markt 12, 2011 RD Haarlem, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlem > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Haarlem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bed & Breakfast L'Anders is located above the Brasserie and gives a direct view on the big market square, the Grote Markt, in the old town of Haarlem. It's a town which is perfectly situated, close to Amsterdam, Schiphol international airport and the beaches of Blomendaal and Zandvoort. But itself Haarlem offers you its History, its architecture, its shops (Haarlem is regularly reward the best town to shop in Holland), its good Life style and plural charms. The B&B has 4 rooms: 2 rooms gives a perfect view on the big square and its alive days & nights; 2 rooms gives you peace and rest after a very intense sight seeing or just shopping in town. The rooms are old but updated with the taste of nowadays. The breakfast is provided downstairs in the Brasserie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bed and Breakfast L'Anders reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bed and Breakfast L'Anders, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.