We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite Place in Europe!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bed and Breakfast L'Anders

Save Saved
You added Bed and Breakfast L'Anders to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Priceline.com
Bed and Breakfast L'Anders
Grote Markt 12, Haarlem 2011 RD, The Netherlands (Centrum)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 Haarlem B&B and Inns
Kennesaw, Georgia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Favorite Place in Europe!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We had the most amazing time! 5 of us were on a mother/daughter Taste of Europe! And we all agreed that L'Anders in Haarlem was our favorite place of the whole trip. Xiadong (our wonderful host) was gracious and welcoming! We arrived after a looonnng flight from Atlanta and were delighted that we were staying at Brasserie L'Anders. This charming bed and breakfast is right on the Grote Markt . I have never been anywhere so charming in my life! We had a wonderful night and great breakfast was included. We sat outside and watched people riding by on their bikes while dining on cheeses, bread, yogurt, nutella.... and yummy coffee. The church where Mozart played as a child was steps away. Shopping was delightful. And our favorite part.... the Corrie Ten Boom haus was a few blocks away! A free tour ( they do take donations and sell books) of the home where they hid jews during WWII was inspiring! We visited 4 countries during our trip, but L'Anders in the Netherlands was our favorite! Thank you Xiandong Watchao! Your family is lovely! If you are ever in Atlanta, we would love to welcome you into our home like you welcomed us!

Room Tip: the front room has an amazing view of the square, but there were some people laughing loudly after m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    3
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
20
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Huntersville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed at this wonderful B&B for two nights before joining up with our tour group. Upon arriving early on our first day, we knew the room would not be ready so we decided to leave our luggage with the caretaker at the restaurant. The restaurant looked so inviting that we decided to have a lovely and delicious lunch only to be surprised that the it was complementary. From that moment on, this place was wonderful. The breakfasts were excellent, the room was huge and the bed was so comfortable. Although we had the room in the front, right on Grote Square, we did not mind the noise because we used ear plugs (highly recommended). We enjoyed seeing the activity on the Square, and, in fact, were delighted when we woke up to a market set up on Saturday morning (not to be missed)! This place is a treasure and the best place to stay in Haarlem.

Room Tip: If you want quiet, try a room in the back. If you want to see what is going on in Grote Square, sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

The reviews we read prior to our trip were absolutely correct. We had a great room, comfy bed and nice bathroom. The winding steps up were a little challenging but even though we are in our 70's we didn't have any problems. Breakfast was wonderful, fresh squeezed OJ, muesli/yogurt, cheese, ham, croissant and some great healthy bread. Our last day she fixed our breakfast early so we could make our train. Wonderful place, they bent over backwards to please you. Absolutely recommend this place. Great place for shopping also.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olds
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

The owner of this B&B was very attentive and made sure that our needs were met. He answered any questions that we had with expertise. We came on the craziest day ever because it was Queen's day and there was a carnival in the Grote Market square. He kindly provided ear plugs for us to help with the noise. Even though he had his hands full with many customers that night, we felt that he still attended to our wishes.
The restaurant serves delicious food and would highly recommend eating there. The staff is superb and very friendly.

Room Tip: Yes, Room #1 is facing the Grote Market. If you are a light sleeper, you might want to choose anoth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Misterlanders, Owner at Bed and Breakfast L'Anders, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Mr & Mme Perry,
We have to thank you 2 for all the nice sweet gifts you offered to us.
We really enjoyed your stay at our place.
I hope that you had a good time in Paris.
Maybe see you again, in Holland or in Canada, who knows ;)
Best regards.
Wotchao & the team L'Anders
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The added bonus to this bed and breakfast is the delicious restaurant downstairs that is also run by the B&B owners. This is where you'd check in. The owners and staff were super helpful even by B&B innkeeper standards.

We had one of the front rooms facing the Square. It has nice view but, on a Friday night, it was loud - both from loud talking passerbys and from vendors setting up the Saturday market, which started around 3 am. Earplugs were provided but if you are not a heavy sleeper, I would recommend requesting a back room particularly for a Fridy night. Our room was comfortable and totally adequate for two. Bathroom a bit smal though.

Despite the noise, I wholeheartedly recommend this little b&b.

Room Tip: Back room on Friday nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We had a car and parked it at one of the parkades a couple blocks away and then walked with our backpacks to the L'Anders bed and breakfast. It's located right on the Grote Markt - the main square in Haarlem. We were at the door for the Brasserie and the owners came out to meet us, and show us to our rooms - up some very interesting, and steep stairs - especially to the top stairs. The rooms were great, and quiet. Beds were comfortable and so had a great stay. Bathroom was also very good. As we were travelling into Amsterdam via train early every morning, the owners had breakfasts made up for us and placed in a cooler outside our room door - and ready for us at 7 am every morning. Sandwiches, drinks (apple and pear juices), muffins, apple strudel - which was great....Would stay there again when in Haarlem. Short walk - a few blocks to the train station, and lots of eating choices on our close to the Grote Markt (highly recommend eating at the Carillon Hotel restaurant across the square from the L'Anders - European and Asian mix of foods - best food we've had to date on this trip, and very, very reasonable - about 40 euros for 3 of us). We also ate at the L'Anders brasserie downstairs and it was also very good.

Room Tip: Located right on the main square, the Grote Markt. Parking available in the parkades in the downtow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We only got to stay at Bed and Breakfast L'Anders for one night but were very glad we did.
The B&B is in an old Dutch building so expect the steps to be steep. Luckily your luggage gets taken to your room so you only have to concentrate on getting yourself up.
We stayed in room no.1 and although the bathroom is compact the room is massive and very nicely decorated.
If you are in a room overlooking the Grote Markt there will be possible issues with noise (people going home late from cafes or garbage men starting work early etc.) but I knew this and deliberately asked for a room at the front with a view as how often do you get to stay somewhere with a view of a Grote Markt?
Breakfast is served from 10-12am in the cafe/restaurant under the rooms and is plentiful and delicious. We didn’t get a chance to eat at the restaurant but the menu looked tasty.
All the staff we dealt with couldn’t have been more friendly and helpful and we had a thoroughly enjoyable stay. We would definitely go back to B&B L’Anders if we are travelling through this part of the Netherlands again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bed and Breakfast L'Anders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed and Breakfast L'Anders

Address: Grote Markt 12, Haarlem 2011 RD, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlem > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Haarlem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bed & Breakfast L'Anders is located above the Brasserie and gives a direct view on the big market square, the Grote Markt, in the old town of Haarlem. It's a town which is perfectly situated, close to Amsterdam, Schiphol international airport and the beaches of Blomendaal and Zandvoort. But itself Haarlem offers you its History, its architecture, its shops (Haarlem is regularly reward the best town to shop in Holland), its good Life style and plural charms. The B&B has 4 rooms: 2 rooms gives a perfect view on the big square and its alive days & nights; 2 rooms gives you peace and rest after a very intense sight seeing or just shopping in town. The rooms are old but updated with the taste of nowadays. The breakfast is provided downstairs in the Brasserie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bed and Breakfast L'Anders reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bed and Breakfast L'Anders, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.