We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location! Service! Food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bed and Breakfast L'Anders

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Bed and Breakfast L'Anders to your Saves list
Bed and Breakfast L'Anders
Grote Markt 12, 2011 RD Haarlem, The Netherlands (Centrum)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 15 Haarlem B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
california
Level Contributor
86 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Location! Service! Food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The added bonus to this bed and breakfast is the delicious restaurant downstairs that is also run by the B&B owners. This is where you'd check in. The owners and staff were super helpful even by B&B innkeeper standards.

We had one of the front rooms facing the Square. It has nice view but, on a Friday night, it was loud - both from loud talking passerbys and from vendors setting up the Saturday market, which started around 3 am. Earplugs were provided but if you are not a heavy sleeper, I would recommend requesting a back room particularly for a Fridy night. Our room was comfortable and totally adequate for two. Bathroom a bit smal though.

Despite the noise, I wholeheartedly recommend this little b&b.

Room Tip: Back room on Friday nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    10
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
38
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
105 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We had a car and parked it at one of the parkades a couple blocks away and then walked with our backpacks to the L'Anders bed and breakfast. It's located right on the Grote Markt - the main square in Haarlem. We were at the door for the Brasserie and the owners came out to meet us, and show us to our rooms - up some very interesting, and steep stairs - especially to the top stairs. The rooms were great, and quiet. Beds were comfortable and so had a great stay. Bathroom was also very good. As we were travelling into Amsterdam via train early every morning, the owners had breakfasts made up for us and placed in a cooler outside our room door - and ready for us at 7 am every morning. Sandwiches, drinks (apple and pear juices), muffins, apple strudel - which was great....Would stay there again when in Haarlem. Short walk - a few blocks to the train station, and lots of eating choices on our close to the Grote Markt (highly recommend eating at the Carillon Hotel restaurant across the square from the L'Anders - European and Asian mix of foods - best food we've had to date on this trip, and very, very reasonable - about 40 euros for 3 of us). We also ate at the L'Anders brasserie downstairs and it was also very good.

Room Tip: Located right on the main square, the Grote Markt. Parking available in the parkades in the downtow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We only got to stay at Bed and Breakfast L'Anders for one night but were very glad we did.
The B&B is in an old Dutch building so expect the steps to be steep. Luckily your luggage gets taken to your room so you only have to concentrate on getting yourself up.
We stayed in room no.1 and although the bathroom is compact the room is massive and very nicely decorated.
If you are in a room overlooking the Grote Markt there will be possible issues with noise (people going home late from cafes or garbage men starting work early etc.) but I knew this and deliberately asked for a room at the front with a view as how often do you get to stay somewhere with a view of a Grote Markt?
Breakfast is served from 10-12am in the cafe/restaurant under the rooms and is plentiful and delicious. We didn’t get a chance to eat at the restaurant but the menu looked tasty.
All the staff we dealt with couldn’t have been more friendly and helpful and we had a thoroughly enjoyable stay. We would definitely go back to B&B L’Anders if we are travelling through this part of the Netherlands again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terschelling
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

One needs good legs to reach the upper second floor. (Nothing for less able guests)
Especially in the early morning municipally workers clean out the streets with 'LEAF BLOWERS' instead of the good old brooms. And once they're finished and you dozed off again, the start collect the Garbage. Again after this no rest as the market is getting built up.
Rooms are dressed according the price. Just enough.
Breakfast only from 09.45, the friendly waitress makes up for the late meal.
We will use this Hotel again when necessary.

Room Tip: If possible avoid room 3, unless you love the view of Haarlem's Grote Markt.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxemburg
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed in Haarlem for one night. We were welcomed in a very friendly way by the owner, he made us feel like at home and gave us some very good recommendations for restaurants.
The room was cozy, IKEA furniture, very clean. I liked the little details a lot, like the small DVD collection in the room and some books. In front of the room there was a little table, with water and fruits for free.
In the morning we were woken up by the smell of freshly baked croissants from the restaurant downstairs, where we had our breakfast, which was also very good.
The location could not be better. Next time we go to Haarlem, we book this b&b again!

Room Tip: We had no view from our room, we were facing a wall. As we just stayed for one night, it did not bot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying at Hotel L'Anders in Early September and I have never been treated better. We were greeted warmly, shown to our room, given a welcome drink and antipasto plate and when we showed interest in Dutch beer were given detailed directions to a local brewery located in an old church. They gave us earplugs in case people in the Grote Markt were too noisy late at night, though I didn't need them. Breakfast included a croissant that I found to be actually better than the ones I got at a hotel later on in Paris. The little room we stayed in overlooked the Grote Markt and provided ample entertainment for when we weren't out rushing to take in all the sights. I really can't say enough good about Hotel L'Anders and Heaucheaux (spelling?). All in all a nice little place and I recommend it with the highest regards.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

There are many small hotels or “bed and breakfast”s dotted around Europe and I must admit that my previous visit to one in Haarlem was not the best.

So I wasn’t sure what to expect when I arrived at L’Anders Bed and Breakfast but my fears were completely unfounded. This tiny B&B provides excellent service and is situated above a restaurant which looks out over the town square. The first floor room (number 1) just above the restaurant was smart and comfortable – and also looks out on to the square.

The bed was extremely comfortable, there was plenty of hot water for the shower and the room was decorated in a modern, simple style.

L’Anders is not like most B&Bs as it does not serve breakfast at traditional hotel times. Breakfast is available when the restaurant opens at 10am. This suited my schedule but might be too late for some people visiting on business. When it arrived the breakfast was very good with, for example, a range of freshly baked breads – unlike the croissants out of the freezer that are served in many hotels.

The restaurant, which is open throughout the day until dinner time, provides wonderful food and the service is friendly and polished. You might be lucky and get offered the “chef’s sample” meal with a selection of main course dishes. This is an excellent option if you feel adventurous. The choice of wine is very good and there are some excellent bottles which don’t even appear on the wine list.

The couple who run this B&B provide wonderful service and will do their best to make you feel cared for. L’Anders will be my first stop when I next return to Haarlem.

Room Tip: Try and get a room at the front of the B&B for the good view of the square. I wasn't distur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Haarlem hotels
Centrum
Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals
Carlton Square Hotel
#1 of 12 in Haarlem
4.0 of 5 stars 356 reviews
Golden Tulip Lion D'Or
#5 of 12 in Haarlem
4.0 of 5 stars 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Haarlem Hotelsuites
Haarlem Hotelsuites
#6 of 12 in Haarlem
4.5 of 5 stars 32 reviews
B&B Malts Hotel
#1 of 15 in Haarlem
5.0 of 5 stars 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed and Breakfast L'Anders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed and Breakfast L'Anders

Address: Grote Markt 12, 2011 RD Haarlem, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlem > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Haarlem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bed & Breakfast L'Anders is located above the Brasserie and gives a direct view on the big market square, the Grote Markt, in the old town of Haarlem. It's a town which is perfectly situated, close to Amsterdam, Schiphol international airport and the beaches of Blomendaal and Zandvoort. But itself Haarlem offers you its History, its architecture, its shops (Haarlem is regularly reward the best town to shop in Holland), its good Life style and plural charms. The B&B has 4 rooms: 2 rooms gives a perfect view on the big square and its alive days & nights; 2 rooms gives you peace and rest after a very intense sight seeing or just shopping in town. The rooms are old but updated with the taste of nowadays. The breakfast is provided downstairs in the Brasserie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Bed and Breakfast L'Anders reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bed and Breakfast L'Anders, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.