We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, good stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassador City Centre Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ambassador City Centre Hotel to your Saves list
Ambassador City Centre Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oude Groenmarkt 20 - 24, 2011 HL Haarlem, The Netherlands (Centrum)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Haarlem
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Good location, good stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I just read some of the reviews and it's as if there are two hotels; my experience was good.
We stayed here one night as part of Tulip Tours biking, so they picked the hotel. We used a GPS to find the hotel and the GPS told us immediately upon entering the address that the hotel cannot be accessed by car, so we knew to park and walk. This was simple, we rolled our bags in a 3 minute walk from underground parking to the hotel.
Hotel is dated and had charm, beds were comfortable. Lobby staff were cooperative and friendly. Bathroom and shower were fine. Hallways had stairs so not handicap accessible.
Location is key. If you want to be on the historic town square, you get all the activities and restaurants. We like this. You also get sounds and church bells 24 x 7. Some may not like this.
We found old town Haarlem to be charming and would stay here again to take a train 15 minutes into Amsterdam and save money. This hotel is convenient to the train station.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    75
    48
    18
    14
See reviews for
25
85
12
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

One of the worst experiences ever. Assistant manager was quite polite, but guy on duty was very rude and arrogant and front desk manager never bothered to meet us.
So where do I start. For a couple in a double bedroom got 2 small pillows, 2 single duvets. Never bothered to change the towels, although requested - made up bed and left towels lying on the floor together with empty complimentary water bottles on the table!
If you think these are petty complaints, how about not working wifi as advertised? Oh and also absolutely horrendous bathroom - no separation between toilet, not ever curtain, so when you have a shower, everything gets soaked - toilet, toilet paper, even hair drier. Said to this guy at the front desk that we are concerned at being electrocuted and his response was - don't use hair drier.
Conclusion - avoid if possible!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Sadly a pretty poor experience. No instruction as to how to access the property by car, made our way and we're treated rudely at check-in. Construction meant we needed to haul our luggage out onto the street and in a back entrance to the "garden" that is a concrete patio with some potted plants. We had two rooms and they weren't even the same...one had a heater that was behind the drape, odd furniture and the bathroom was practically institutional. The lobby was so unique and had interesting antique clocks. We asked the receptionist about them and she seemed annoyed to be asked. Too bad. Oh, and don't plan to go to sleep before 9:30.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2015

We stayed in joops city centre hotel for one night while visiting friends in haarlem. Joops is part of the ambassador hotel. The check in is done there and the hotel is around the corner. If you wish to take breakfast in the hotel, you will need to walk to the ambassador hotel.

The location is very good, just in the city center and a short walk from the train station. The location is probably the best about the hotel. Positive was also the large room size.

For the rest, the hotel needs some renovating soon. The red carpet is full of black stains which gives the impression that it is dirty. Eventhough the room is actually clean.

Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2015 via mobile

If you don't like church bells do not stay here or get a room in the back. Ours was awesome facing the church but, it was facing the church. Great staff. Clean and very large rooms for the price. I would stay here again. Cool antiques scattered about the public areas. Walking distance to everything.

Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2015

The room was simple and old fashioned, and not so modern. The bad is very comfortable.
Good location, very close to Grote Markt. The bathroom was poor, but it was enough for 2 nights.
Staff is very helpful.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yalikavak, Turkey
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

We were visiting the me.t.s in Amsterdam what an interesting hotel owners seems to collect old clock and antques room had an antique 4 poster bed much more interesting than the normal hotels around will go again easy parking in underground car park a short walk away

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ambassador City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador City Centre Hotel

Address: Oude Groenmarkt 20 - 24, 2011 HL Haarlem, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlem > Centrum
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Haarlem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassador City Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The monumental Ambassador City Centre Hotel is located in the historic heart of the city of Haarlem facing the St. Bavo Church. For city trippers this friendly hotel is an excellent choice. From the hotel, all the fun and interesting attractions can be easily reached. The train station is only a five-minute walk from the hotel. All rooms in the Ambassador City Centre Hotel*** are non-smoking. The stylish rooms are all marked by their unique interiors. A number of rooms also have a gorgeous view of the St. Bavo Church. The other rooms are at the rear of the hotel where you can rest peacefully in the heart of the city. Because of our unique location we are not allowed to offer our own parking facilities or discounts. In the hotel's surroundings there are public parking facilities available at an additional charge. We recommend parking in parking garage 'Appelaar' about 3 minutes walk from the hotel. Ambassador City Centre Hotel guarantees you an atmospheric stay in an ambiance in which you will feel at home immediately. The hotel offers all facilities you need for a weekend away or a long stay, for a leisure or a business trip. You can sweeten your stay by visiting our traditional Italian restaurant or our Grand Café 'De Gouverneur.' I wish you an enjoyable stay. Yours sincerely, Paul van Riek, General Manager. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Ambassador City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador City Centre Haarlem
Hotel Ambassador City Centre

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassador City Centre Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.