We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassador City Centre Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ambassador City Centre Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ambassador City Centre Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oude Groenmarkt 20 - 24, 2011 HL Haarlem, The Netherlands (Centrum)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 12 hotels in Haarlem
Auburn, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great location!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel because it was booked by our tour group. The location was excellent & within walking distance to many great sites & the canal. The room, however was not so great. We understand they were in the middle of remodeling & figure they just hadn't gotten to our room yet. The carpet was stained & worn while the walls had numerous scuff marks & in desperate need of paint. Otherwise the room appeared clean (sheets, sinks, bathroom). Can't beat the location!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    63
    41
    15
    9
See reviews for
22
67
12
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

My husband & I spent 4 nights at the Ambassador City Hotel in Haarlem. Great location overlooking the beautiful St. Bravo church and one of the town squares. The room was big & comfortable w/3 large windows. The bathroom wasn't cleaned well when we checked in was never cleaned well during our stay. It also needed updating. The carpet in the room was stained and needed replaced and the TV was tiny. The desk staff could have been more friendly. Over all we enjoyed our visit and the location was perfect.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Great location for a hotel. Had a nice stay here. The room was nice and clean. My only complaint was it was a little dark in the room. Bed was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was good. Would recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: The rooms that face the streets are noisy. Ask for a courtyard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

The hotel helped us out massively by letting us check in early as the room was free, meaning we didn't have to pull our luggage around town in the blazing sunshine. It's a lovely entrance, and breakfast room, and has a lift to take you to your room unlike most other hotels in Haarlem. The room was spacious and the beds were extremely comfortable. Very good hotel, especially for what we paid for the stay. Would highly recommend.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooloolaba, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Spending two nights here. Ambassador City Hotel is fantastically located. We arrived by train into central Amsterdam. Everyone speaks english and is so helpful. 19 Minutes train ride from Central to Haarlem Stn. And then an easy direct 15 min walk to the hotel. We think if you want to see the real Netherlands get out here. Small cobble stone streets, hardly any cars but a thousand bikes, great small eating places and best good quality shops. So much to do in walking distance distance from hotel. The Amsterdam City Centre Hotel is a fantastic eclectic place. Egyptian theme with 50 clocks in the foyer. My wife wanted the romantic top floor room. (160). Had to cart everything up three flights of narrow stirs to the top but boy is it worth it. Large clean modern room at roof top level, quiet , and just couldn't ask for more. Staff are so helpful. We really want to come back here, what a top spot. And Breakfast was just great, don't know why some have had negative comments for this place. Highly recommend it.

Room Tip: If you want something away from the hustle and bustle room 160 top floor (get your wife to carry her...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Positive: location, haarlem city center

Negative: bad customer service, bad actittude, bad organization, bad breakfast. The staff is: bad trainned, the organization is a disaster. If they can, the manager will charge more money in your invoice than quantity agreed. They owned me 44 euros.

I´ll never be back.
The worst hotel I have never visited.

Room Tip: be carefull with your invoices...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

My husband, three children (17, 20 & 22) and I stayed at the Joops City Center Hotel, which is part of the Ambassador Hotel. The Joops is about a block from the Ambassador so both checking in and out were not a problem. The Joops doesn't have a lobby so it feels more like an apartment building than a hotel. Not a big deal. The Joops has an elevator. Our room had a comfortable king bed (which is really two twins/singles pushed together). The room our kids were in had the same king bed set up and another twin/single bed so it was perfect for them. They were on a different floor but because they are older, it wasn't a problem. Both rooms seemed very new, maybe recently renovated, with all new furniture, bedding and linens. We had plenty of hot water for showers and heat in the room (it was fairly cold outside when we were there). Being in the heart of things brings convenience and a bit of street noise. It wasn't a problem, nothing ear plugs couldn't block out. We were within a few blocks of everything. We took the train into Amsterdam to see the Anne Frank museum and only had to walk about 15 minutes to get to the train station in Haarlem.

We added the continental breakfast which was substantial. Plenty of food including hot items like scrambled eggs and bacon. We didn't see any restaurants in our area open for breakfast so the short walk over to the Ambassador worked well for us. For those traveling by car, the price tag for the nearby parking garage was shockingly high...50 euros for about 40 hours.

Room Tip: I have seen some negative reviews. If you want something new and comfortable and don't mind the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ambassador City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador City Centre Hotel

Address: Oude Groenmarkt 20 - 24, 2011 HL Haarlem, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlem > Centrum
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 hotels in Haarlem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassador City Centre Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The monumental Ambassador City Centre Hotel is located in the historic heart of the city of Haarlem facing the St. Bavo Church. For city trippers this friendly hotel is an excellent choice. From the hotel, all the fun and interesting attractions can be easily reached. The train station is only a five-minute walk from the hotel. All rooms in the Ambassador City Centre Hotel*** are non-smoking. The stylish rooms are all marked by their unique interiors. A number of rooms also have a gorgeous view of the St. Bavo Church. The other rooms are at the rear of the hotel where you can rest peacefully in the heart of the city. Because of our unique location we are not allowed to offer our own parking facilities or discounts. In the hotel's surroundings there are public parking facilities available at an additional charge. We recommend parking in parking garage 'Appelaar' about 3 minutes walk from the hotel. Ambassador City Centre Hotel guarantees you an atmospheric stay in an ambiance in which you will feel at home immediately. The hotel offers all facilities you need for a weekend away or a long stay, for a leisure or a business trip. You can sweeten your stay by visiting our traditional Italian restaurant or our Grand Café 'De Gouverneur.' I wish you an enjoyable stay. Yours sincerely, Paul van Riek, General Manager. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotel.de, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Ambassador City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador City Centre Haarlem
Hotel Ambassador City Centre

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassador City Centre Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.