We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place in excellent location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassador City Centre Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ambassador City Centre Hotel to your Saves list
Ambassador City Centre Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oude Groenmarkt 20 - 24, 2011 HL Haarlem, The Netherlands (Centrum)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Haarlem
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice place in excellent location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Comfortable rooms. Unexpectedly good for this price in Netherlands.
Very nice staff.
Excellent location in the centre of Haarlem.
Difficult to find a place to smoke, as in most hotels in the Netherlands.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank darthpoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Bucharest, Bucuresti, Romania
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

The hotel should not have 3* on it's door, and the Michelin Guide Stickers on the door are obviously a mistake.

First of all, don't be fooled by their claim they have an elevator in the building! The one that exists is only in one of the hotel's 3 buildings, and even that one, only takes you to the 1st floor. I had a room on the 3rd floor. So I carried my 30 kilo suitcase up 2 flights of very narrow and steep stairs. When I left, I asked reception if they can send someone to help me bring my suitcase back down and the girl at reception shrugged and said 'it's just me and the cleaning staff here so...'

Of course, you had to go up and down the stairs every time your key card stopped working, too. Or when you wanted to buy a bottle of water from reception, because the minibar fridge in the room was unplugged and empty.

Oh, and I don't want to find out what my room in the attic is like in the hot summer, as there's no A/C, but only an electric fan next to the bed.

Breakfast was the same every day (even during the weekend), poor and not a lot of choice, with the cheapest cereal in broken dispensers, 2 types of cheese and 2 types of ham (which vanished pretty quickly and were not replaced). The hot dishes were mini-sausages, burnt bacon, scrambled eggs and rice. The decor of the breakfast room was a desolating kitsch with a golden Egyptian theme and not enough light.

I stayed 4 days and my room was never vacuumed, even the cup of coffee I used on the first night never got washed until I left the hotel 4 days later. They made the bed and swept the bathroom floor, but that's about it.

The bathroom had a shower head on a wall, no shower enclosure of any sort (no glass pane, no curtain, nothing), so every time I showered I had to take everything out of the bathroom, otherwise it would have gotten wet.

The staff were completely unprepared and unwilling to help. Shrugged at almost anything. I witnessed a discussion between a couple on honeymoon who had specifically booked a room with a double bed, and got a twin room instead, and the receptionist who kept telling them it's too late to do anything about it now and then asking them: anything else that I can do for you? I wanted to smack him myself....

The location of the hotel is the best thing about it, so if you want to be within walking distance from anything of any importance in Haarlem, it's a good choice. All the clubs, bars, restaurants, sight and shops are right around the corner from the hotel, as is Haarlem's Red Light District. And their collection of antiques is stunning. But that doesn't mean they earn the 3 stars they advertise!

Room Tip: Make sure the elevator goes to the level on which your room is!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreeaTan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Haarlem hotels

Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

The staff were very helpful, breakfast was good, and the room was clean and the location is great! This is a great place for a weekend get away, but beware of the parking if you travel by car, there are plenty of places to park but it isn't ever cheap!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gene W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We booked this hotel just a couple of days before our arrival and were very pleasantly surprised at our good luck. The hotel is in a great part of town, right across the street from a wonderful 15th century church and steps from the main market square. Our room was on the first floor and just looked out at a patio, no view at all, but it was more than adequate, and very quiet. We did not sign up for the breakfast, preferring instead to go to local tea houses. We were very pleased we made that decision. Most hotels provide breakfast, thereby not allowing us the opportunity to try local eateries for breakfast (why pay when you can get it for free?).

The staff was very pleasant, providing us with complete and clear directions to anywhere we wanted to go, including the bike rental shop to rent bikes for a ride to the beach (the North Sea). I would highly, highly, highly recommend that activity! The entire ride is on dedicated bike paths, and being the Netherlands, pretty flat. Very easy and pleasant ride. That took about half a day as we spent some time at the beach just enjoying the water and people watching.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LosAngelino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We booked this hotel through expedia as we needed somewhere to crash overnight. When we arrived expedia had cancelled our booking without informing us so the hotel had no record of our booking. The manager was very helpful and apologetic and found us a room. He even discounted it from the already discounted price we had been quoted by expedia. The hotel is nothing special but the service was great

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank c00kie63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

This centrally located Haarlem hotel barely earns its three stars. The lobby is fun with its collection of clocks, and the dining room interesting with its, what, Greek-themed? frescoes. The place is clean but asterile. No European charm whatever. The staff is young and green but they do their best. The breakfast is cooked with only minimal concern for quality. If you stay in a courtyard room you can be sure to hear the echo of every voice and every suitcase rolled through. While the place is well-intended, I would not stay again, especially when many other more charming facilities (including VRBO rentals) are available around the same price.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SNAW2L8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda NL
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I am only submitting this review to Triadvisor after sending the same one to the hotel management, which elicited a dismissive and unconcerned response. We stayed in the 'Joops' part of the hotel.

The ‘bathroom’ (room with a shower) is barely functional. There is no shower facility - just a shower-head in the ceiling and a hole in the ground as a drain. In fact, there was even  a scraper in the room, placed there by the hotel management, to direct the water into the hole in the ground (drain) so that the apartment did not flood. Not acceptable. There was no sense of comfort - no shelves, no holder for toiletries, no heating, not even a towel rail.
 
Four apartments are in a separate building with no reception. There are a large number of steep, inaccessible stairs. OUR apartment had these stairs although when we asked at reception, we were told that there was a lift. The lift only went to the first floor, meaning that we had to descend and climb three additional flights of stairs, and walk along an outside corridor, every time we went out.
 
There is no double glazing in the apartment, so the noise from the bars in the street below, though apparently “normal” for a weekend, was unacceptable, even though we were on the fifth floor. The apartment is also very cold; the kitchen door leaks and the water which enters the room makes the floor very slippy.
 
We had assumed that the accommodation that we booked, under the aegis of the ‘Ambassador Hotel’ name, would be of the same standard as the hotel. It was not. In fact, it was very poor quality, and disappointing, as mentioned in our feedback. The decor is extremely dated and tired. I do not recommend this hotel to anyone, particularly since the management are unprepared to accept that the problems exist, and in their feedback in response to my complaints suggest the standard is "normal" for a hotel of this type.
 

Room Tip: My advice to other travellers is to find somewhere else to stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LyonTiger1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Haarlem hotels
Centrum
Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals
Carlton Square Hotel
#1 of 12 in Haarlem
4.0 of 5 stars 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Tulip Lion D'Or
#3 of 12 in Haarlem
4.0 of 5 stars 150 reviews
Centrum
Haarlem Hotelsuites
Haarlem Hotelsuites
#5 of 12 in Haarlem
4.5 of 5 stars 37 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Amadeus
Hotel Amadeus
#8 of 12 in Haarlem
3.5 of 5 stars 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador City Centre Hotel

Address: Oude Groenmarkt 20 - 24, 2011 HL Haarlem, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlem > Centrum
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Haarlem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassador City Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The monumental Ambassador City Centre Hotel is located in the historic heart of the city of Haarlem facing the St. Bavo Church. For city trippers this friendly hotel is an excellent choice. From the hotel, all the fun and interesting attractions can be easily reached. The train station is only a five-minute walk from the hotel. All rooms in the Ambassador City Centre Hotel*** are non-smoking. The stylish rooms are all marked by their unique interiors. A number of rooms also have a gorgeous view of the St. Bavo Church. The other rooms are at the rear of the hotel where you can rest peacefully in the heart of the city. Because of our unique location we are not allowed to offer our own parking facilities or discounts. In the hotel's surroundings there are public parking facilities available at an additional charge. We recommend parking in parking garage 'Appelaar' about 3 minutes walk from the hotel. Ambassador City Centre Hotel guarantees you an atmospheric stay in an ambiance in which you will feel at home immediately. The hotel offers all facilities you need for a weekend away or a long stay, for a leisure or a business trip. You can sweeten your stay by visiting our traditional Italian restaurant or our Grand Café 'De Gouverneur.' I wish you an enjoyable stay. Yours sincerely, Paul van Riek, General Manager. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Ambassador City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador City Centre Haarlem
Hotel Ambassador City Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing