We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“City centre hotel near city center” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassador City Centre Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ambassador City Centre Hotel to your Saves list
Ambassador City Centre Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oude Groenmarkt 20 - 24, 2011 HL Haarlem, The Netherlands (Centrum)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Haarlem
Mukilteo, Washington
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“City centre hotel near city center”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Good hotel and no complaints. Good rooms and service. As the name of the hotel implies, the best feature is its location near the center of old town Haarlem. About a 15 minute walk from the train station.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    83
    55
    22
    15
See reviews for
30
91
13
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
South of england
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We drove to Haarlem recently to collect our daughter who has been working/studying in Amsterdam for the past year. We choose Joops Hotel purely for the value for money. You check into the Ambassador Hotel in Grote Markt (couldn't be more central) and you stay in a separate block.
Our block was a 1 minute walk. It couldn't have been better. The room was clean, spacious, we even had a view of the Square. Would highly recommend it.
If you want to visit Amsterdam as we did on the Saturday, the train makes this very easy.
Haarlem is also a 5 minute drive from a lovely beach.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

A quirky place, especially if you get an Egyptian-themed room. Simple accommodations that are clean and thoughtful. No air conditioning, so it gets hot. Yes, like others reviewed the shower has no threshold so it gets the bathroom floor wet - so use the mat! Breakfast is well worth the included price as it includes a variety of meat and cheese and not just bakery items. Stayed here with a Rick Steves tour, and it's right on the money with the RSE expectations.

Room Tip: Based on friends who stayed in other rooms, avoid the front of the hotel on a Saturday night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We just spent a night here with the whole family. We took several rooms, most of them very comfortable, clean and quiet. The only room we had on the street was noisy though; Saturday night is a party day in town. So make sure you ask a room at the other side of the building.
My parents had a nice room but they were small wall lights which they could not switch off... They fell asleep with lights on.
Staff was very kind and dedicated to service. Prior contacts per email were answered very quicky and professionnally.
Location is perfect.
Breakfast is nothing exceptional but fine, the Egyptian-style dining room is a bit a surprise.
General impression was excellent, I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
Level Contributor
79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

My husband and I have stayed in the Joops Hotel Annex part of this complex a number of times. The most recent was for a New Year trip to the Netherlands. We like the annex because of the small kitchenettes that are available in some rooms. As some other reviewers have said, some rooms do need freshening up, and yes the wifi is spotty if you are far from the center of the place. But it is in a great little town, with easy access to Amsterdam, and of better value. So you can settle yourself in Haarlem, have space, privacy, ability to make your own modest meals, which also helps with cost. We have never availed ourselves to the indeed pricey breakfasts. The last time we stayed there was a mix up on the exact room we had wanted and booked for, a slight disappointment, but the staff and management worked with us for some price concessions. In essence, they were honest. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate
Level Contributor
82 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Stayed for a couple of nights in May 2013, the room was clean, tidy and pretty big. It overlooked the cathedral but didn't suffer from any street noise at all, its location is perfect.

The bed was soft which I like with good quality sheets and duvet, bathroom was a wet room which I am not a fan, my only real complaint was the bathroom fan did not switch off so was on all night.

Breakfast is in a room decorated like and Egyptian tomb, all very strange... however the breakfast buffet was excellent.

Would happily stop here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Haarlem hotels
Carlton Square Hotel
#1 of 12 in Haarlem
4.0 of 5 stars 356 reviews
Centrum
Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Tulip Lion D'Or
#5 of 12 in Haarlem
4.0 of 5 stars 126 reviews
Centrum
Haarlem Hotelsuites
Haarlem Hotelsuites
#6 of 12 in Haarlem
4.5 of 5 stars 32 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Amadeus
Hotel Amadeus
#8 of 12 in Haarlem
3.5 of 5 stars 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador City Centre Hotel

Address: Oude Groenmarkt 20 - 24, 2011 HL Haarlem, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlem > Centrum
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Haarlem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassador City Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The monumental Ambassador City Centre Hotel is located in the historic heart of the city of Haarlem facing the St. Bavo Church. For city trippers this friendly hotel is an excellent choice. From the hotel, all the fun and interesting attractions can be easily reached. The train station is only a five-minute walk from the hotel. All rooms in the Ambassador City Centre Hotel*** are non-smoking. The stylish rooms are all marked by their unique interiors. A number of rooms also have a gorgeous view of the St. Bavo Church. The other rooms are at the rear of the hotel where you can rest peacefully in the heart of the city. Because of our unique location we are not allowed to offer our own parking facilities or discounts. In the hotel's surroundings there are public parking facilities available at an additional charge. We recommend parking in parking garage 'Appelaar' about 3 minutes walk from the hotel. Ambassador City Centre Hotel guarantees you an atmospheric stay in an ambiance in which you will feel at home immediately. The hotel offers all facilities you need for a weekend away or a long stay, for a leisure or a business trip. You can sweeten your stay by visiting our traditional Italian restaurant or our Grand Café 'De Gouverneur.' I wish you an enjoyable stay. Yours sincerely, Paul van Riek, General Manager. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Ambassador City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador City Centre Haarlem
Hotel Ambassador City Centre

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassador City Centre Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.