We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in the city of Haarlem, perfect location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassador City Centre Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Ambassador City Centre Hotel to your Saves list
Ambassador City Centre Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oude Groenmarkt 20 - 24, 2011 HL Haarlem, The Netherlands (Centrum)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Haarlem
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    67
    44
    16
    10
See reviews for
23
74
12
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

A quirky place, especially if you get an Egyptian-themed room. Simple accommodations that are clean and thoughtful. No air conditioning, so it gets hot. Yes, like others reviewed the shower has no threshold so it gets the bathroom floor wet - so use the mat! Breakfast is well worth the included price as it includes a variety of meat and cheese and not just bakery items. Stayed here with a Rick Steves tour, and it's right on the money with the RSE expectations.

Room Tip: Based on friends who stayed in other rooms, avoid the front of the hotel on a Saturday night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We just spent a night here with the whole family. We took several rooms, most of them very comfortable, clean and quiet. The only room we had on the street was noisy though; Saturday night is a party day in town. So make sure you ask a room at the other side of the building.
My parents had a nice room but they were small wall lights which they could not switch off... They fell asleep with lights on.
Staff was very kind and dedicated to service. Prior contacts per email were answered very quicky and professionnally.
Location is perfect.
Breakfast is nothing exceptional but fine, the Egyptian-style dining room is a bit a surprise.
General impression was excellent, I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

My husband and I have stayed in the Joops Hotel Annex part of this complex a number of times. The most recent was for a New Year trip to the Netherlands. We like the annex because of the small kitchenettes that are available in some rooms. As some other reviewers have said, some rooms do need freshening up, and yes the wifi is spotty if you are far from the center of the place. But it is in a great little town, with easy access to Amsterdam, and of better value. So you can settle yourself in Haarlem, have space, privacy, ability to make your own modest meals, which also helps with cost. We have never availed ourselves to the indeed pricey breakfasts. The last time we stayed there was a mix up on the exact room we had wanted and booked for, a slight disappointment, but the staff and management worked with us for some price concessions. In essence, they were honest. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Stayed for a couple of nights in May 2013, the room was clean, tidy and pretty big. It overlooked the cathedral but didn't suffer from any street noise at all, its location is perfect.

The bed was soft which I like with good quality sheets and duvet, bathroom was a wet room which I am not a fan, my only real complaint was the bathroom fan did not switch off so was on all night.

Breakfast is in a room decorated like and Egyptian tomb, all very strange... however the breakfast buffet was excellent.

Would happily stop here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford Wisconsin
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Our room was fine...furnished in Ikea furniture but the beds were comfortable and the carpet was clean. The internet connection was great. The shower was a mess with water all over after every shower. Thankfully they bring new towels daily...it is a waste of water/laundry and would not have been necessary if the shower worked right. They just need to add a bigger lip at the floor line or change the shower door.

There was loud yelling and screaming below our room in the bar until about 3 AM but we were able to turn on a fan and use earplugs and get some sleep. Only one large window in the room opens fully so in hot weather this might be very unpleasant due to no airconditioning...it was cool weather when we visited.

It is too bad when a nice enough hotel is ruined by some rude staff.

The front desk male staff we encountered were very kind and helpful upon our check in. Unfortunately the female staff a few days later were the opposite. Free use of washer and dryer are advertised as available but we found the washer and dryer located in a different building (the Joop apartments) and were not told how to find them or how to operate them. They are located in a room on the first floor which has no sign on the door so you just have to try all of the floors and then all of the doors on the first floor to find it. The only way we found it was I could smell laundry soap in the hallway on the first floor and looked closely from there. Once we did we were unable to open the door to the washer. The signs said we needed tokens. We went back to the front desk and were told that we did not need tokens and should be able to open the door to the washer. They just said that we should be able to do it and to ready the signs. We again returned and tried unsuccessfully. At that point we went back to the front desk and told them we could not operate it and we would wash clothes in our room. They simply did not care and made no effort to help us....simply responded OK and kept working. Very irritating! So sad since a simple piece of paper with directions and instructions in English handed to english speaking guests would have totally prevented all of the misery.

We would not stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntersville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Stayed there as part of Rick Steves tour group after staying at a B&B on Grote Markt Square. This hotel is fine. Nothing special. The room was very plain, fine. The bathroom was large but there was absolutely no demarcation between the shower and the rest of the bathroom. We found this to be rather strange, especially since the entire bathroom floor got wet and very very slippery which was rather disconcerting. You have to be very careful not to slip and fall. This hotel is generally decorated in a very gaudy manner, almost to the point of being humorous. However, they do serve a great breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ambassador City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador City Centre Hotel

Address: Oude Groenmarkt 20 - 24, 2011 HL Haarlem, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlem > Centrum
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Haarlem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassador City Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The monumental Ambassador City Centre Hotel is located in the historic heart of the city of Haarlem facing the St. Bavo Church. For city trippers this friendly hotel is an excellent choice. From the hotel, all the fun and interesting attractions can be easily reached. The train station is only a five-minute walk from the hotel. All rooms in the Ambassador City Centre Hotel*** are non-smoking. The stylish rooms are all marked by their unique interiors. A number of rooms also have a gorgeous view of the St. Bavo Church. The other rooms are at the rear of the hotel where you can rest peacefully in the heart of the city. Because of our unique location we are not allowed to offer our own parking facilities or discounts. In the hotel's surroundings there are public parking facilities available at an additional charge. We recommend parking in parking garage 'Appelaar' about 3 minutes walk from the hotel. Ambassador City Centre Hotel guarantees you an atmospheric stay in an ambiance in which you will feel at home immediately. The hotel offers all facilities you need for a weekend away or a long stay, for a leisure or a business trip. You can sweeten your stay by visiting our traditional Italian restaurant or our Grand Café 'De Gouverneur.' I wish you an enjoyable stay. Yours sincerely, Paul van Riek, General Manager. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ambassador City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador City Centre Haarlem
Hotel Ambassador City Centre

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassador City Centre Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.