We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel got fined for smoking” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassador City Centre Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ambassador City Centre Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Ambassador City Centre Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oude Groenmarkt 20 - 24, Haarlem 2011 HL, The Netherlands (Centrum)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 12 hotels in Haarlem
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“good hotel got fined for smoking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

good hotel and great lopcation but was fined 150euro for smoking when it was not me who smoked but manager would not belive me walked out and they charged my cc card but i would go again for sure

Room Tip: room 404 is giod
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    58
    36
    12
    8
See reviews for
16
59
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

We stayed here for one night, and liked it. We most appreciated the central location - the hotel is within walking distance of the main museums, the tourist office (VVV) and the railway station, and is surrounded by restaurants, bars and shops.

Our room was on the 2nd floor, on the street side. Nevertheless it was quiet, even on the Saturday night that we were there! No noise from returning partygoers that kept us awake, the only sound we could hear was the chiming of the St Bavo's church bells.

Only negatives of the hotel would be the lacking of a towel rack in the bathroom (why?), and the tv that was too far from the bed to watch without having to squint your eyes. Other than that, it was all good. The breakfast was nice, the room was spacious and clean, and everything you need is really there.

Haarlem is such a lovely town! Full of little shops, nice museums and good places to eat. We had a great time, and are definitely coming back here.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

We stayed just one night, in a double room, which turned to be a suite when we opened the door. Very comfortable bed, full hd tv, huge bathroom, nice view over the rooftops of haarlem. The desk guy at the Ambassador City Hotel (is there where you have to check in ) was very friendly and very helpful. Many thanks again to him. The hotel is perfect located, only 100 meters away from the san bavo church and the grote markt.

At 5 am a stupid bored dutch guy had the idea to press the fire alarm button. It was awful to wake up like this when you pretend to have a nice weekend away.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

When we decided to go to Netherlands, we choose to live not in Amsterdam,but in a town near it. Harlem is a charming town, with the famous Bavon cathedral and its organ, Hals museum and canals. We lived in the apartment in this hotel for 6 days, then we left for Belgium and after spend one night at the room at the hotel. The service is welcoming and friendly. The rooms are spacious: we had a bedroom and a living room with a big table and kitchen. Everything was clean and comfortable.
The location is great, near the Market Place, our balcony to the Cathedral, enormous number of restaurants next door. I can recommend this hotel, especially if you like to travel over the country.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loudon, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

I love the downtown European hotels and this one is better than most. My room was larger than expected, very clean with a simple and roomy bathroom. The nights were quiet and the breakfasts were fine having eggs, bacon, sausage and more. The area is filled with restaurants within a one minute walk. Yes, it costs to park, but the garage is so close, clean and well lit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Germany
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

I have stayed at joops innercity appartments sever times over the years and the rooms are always quite nice. Staff is friendly, and I have never had any complaints with them. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

Interesting to read the last two reviews, and I think my opinion is somewhere in the middle. Our room also looked out over the square and the bells didn't disturb; large room; shower and bathroom basic; front desk excellent. What did disturb were the loutish locals who congregated in force in the square at the weekend. Have often visited Amsterdam and never seen as many drunk Dutchies as we did here. Even with the window shut, their early hour shrieks did manage to penetrate our slumber. But can you blame the hotel for that? I suppose they could put double-glazing in but it is after all a 3* so we shouldn't complain too much.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ambassador City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador City Centre Hotel

Also Known As:
Ambassador City Centre Haarlem
Hotel Ambassador City Centre
Address: Oude Groenmarkt 20 - 24, Haarlem 2011 HL, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlem > Centrum
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 hotels in Haarlem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassador City Centre Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The monumental Ambassador City Centre Hotel is located in the historic heart of the city of Haarlem facing the St. Bavo Church. For city trippers this friendly hotel is an excellent choice. From the hotel, all the fun and interesting attractions can be easily reached. The train station is only a five-minute walk from the hotel. All rooms in the Ambassador City Centre Hotel*** are non-smoking. The stylish rooms are all marked by their unique interiors. A number of rooms also have a gorgeous view of the St. Bavo Church. The other rooms are at the rear of the hotel where you can rest peacefully in the heart of the city. Because of our unique location we are not allowed to offer our own parking facilities or discounts. In the hotel's surroundings there are public parking facilities available at an additional charge. We recommend parking in parking garage 'Appelaar' about 3 minutes walk from the hotel. Ambassador City Centre Hotel guarantees you an atmospheric stay in an ambiance in which you will feel at home immediately. The hotel offers all facilities you need for a weekend away or a long stay, for a leisure or a business trip. You can sweeten your stay by visiting our traditional Italian restaurant or our Grand Café 'De Gouverneur.' I wish you an enjoyable stay. Yours sincerely, Paul van Riek, General Manager. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, HotelsNL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Ambassador City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassador City Centre Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.