We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base for your trip.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Amadeus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Amadeus to your Saves list
Hotel Amadeus
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Grote Markt 10, 2011RD Haarlem, The Netherlands (Centrum)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Haarlem
Scituate, MA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great base for your trip.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2009

My husband and I stayed at this smallish hotel for a nice fall trip for relaxation. Our room was quiet and clean. The breakfast spread was terrific, a nice change from most European hotel buffets complete with meats, cheeses and breads, jams and jellies, teas and coffee. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful, even getting us a reservation at the restaurant Julia (YUM) close by for an unforgettable dinner! The square is scenic and Haarlem is a great place to stay outside Amsterdam with convenient travel to the big city. We recently tried to book a reservation at another Haarlem hotel with disastrous results. Stay here! It is great!

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    43
    45
    22
    9
See reviews for
7
52
26
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maplewood, NJ
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2008

Stayed in a triple which is next to the hotel above L'Anders restaurant with my husband and 9 year old son. Room was basic but big and bright. Breakfast was good. I loved that the hotel was right above the square so husband and I could sit outside and have dessert and a drink and son could read in the room and was perfectly safe. Contrary to the previous posters review I found the staff nice and helpful. The manager came back on this moped on a Sunday night after my husband misplaced out room key. I really enjoyed our stay in Haarlem and will return someday.

Stayed September 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2008

Our experience at the Hotel Amadeus was mixed. Our room was clean and reasonably quiet. The bathroom, although quite small, was adequate. The free breakfast buffet was good and included cereal, basic meats and cheeses, and a variety of rolls. However, it was difficult to get more than one cup of coffee or tea. After reading positive reviews of the hotel’s staff, we were quite disappointed by their lack of helpfulness. One staff member was not even able to direct us towards a pharmacy. Also, the hotel tells you that there is one flight of steps up to the hotel’s lobby from which an elevator can be used. In actuality, it is two flights of steps to the lobby, likely without any help to carry luggage. Although we were not thrilled by the hotel, the price was right for a location on the square, and we would definitely consider staying at the Hotel Amadeus in the future.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — unhelpful staff
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2008

Haarlem is a beautiful small city close to Amsterdam. The compact city centre is best explored on foot, and it's also a great base from which to explore other parts of Noord-Holland. The NS railway station is a 10 minute walk to the north, and the location is unparalleled: right on the south side of Grote Markt, with a great view onto the busy city square from either the front bedrooms or the high ceilinged breakfast room / lobby on the first floor.

Haarlem has a dearth of cheap city centre accommodation. Any Haarlemers with a big city centre townhouse should seriously consider a budget hostel to rival the town's only really cheap option - the StayOkay which is some distance away in the northern suburbs. I'd read cautious reviews of that option, and chosen to pay a bit more (€130 / 2 nights, high season weekend) to be in the city centre.

The hotel is above a café - although there's a lift between the first, second and third floors, it would appear you have to climb at least one set of stairs to enter. Check in was easy and I purchased wireless internet for €5/24hours, although this is still working well into my second day. The entire hotel was Haarlem's first non-smoking one, although by the time you probably read this (after 1 July 2008) a national smoking ban will be in effect.

My room (34) is a single on the top floor (and has already been photographed by another reviewer here). While I appreciate that few hotel rooms have windows on two sides of the building for cross ventilation, being a narrower room on the west side of the top floor, the large window turned the room into an oven during the second half of the summer days. An oscillating fan purloined from an alcove down the corridor helped. The single bed was ok, but an annoying shelf above the bed meant one couldn't lean against the wall to watch the small TV (with Dutch, German and a couple of British channels). There's also a phone and an in-room combination safe, which will look after all but the biggest laptops.

There is no night staff in the building; access is with a key card and there's an emergency phone contact if there are problems. Late arrivals can arrange (with prior warning) to collect their key card from a combination lock box. Breakfast is included and is expansive with cereals, yoghurt, breads, meat, cheese etc.

So, overall, ok, but verging on being too expensive, mainly due to Haarlem's lack of budget accommodation. Those with limited mobility would probably find the stairs a problem.

  • Liked — Location, location, location
  • Disliked — Price, verging on bad value
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2008

My wife and I spent five nights at the Amadeus Hotel in Haarlem, the Netherlands. We based our choice on price, and on the write ups for it in various guide books and websites. These sources said the Amadeus provided good basic accommodations in a charming location -- on the Grote Markt square in the heart of old Haarlem. We had an excellent, comfortable stay there, and unreservedly recommend it to others looking for clean, comfortable, affordable rooms in an excellent location.

The rooms were relatively basic, as the reviews we read had accurately reported. But the beds were comfortable, the in-rooom bathroom and shower perfectly adequate, and the premises clean and tidy. And very quiet (our room was on the top floor, at the back.) The building is quite an old one, with steep winding stairs, and a very small noisy elevator which starts on the first floor, not the ground floor. Those with mobility problems would not find it a good choice.

The continental breakfast -- included in the price of our room -- was not fancy, but certainly more than met our needs. Breakfast was the only meal available in the dining room; the rest of the business day, it operates as an internet cafe, with reasonable rates. Wifi was available for a daily fee.

The hotel's location -- between the old town hall and St. Bavo's church -- was enchanting. It is about a 15min walk from the central train and bus station. If you have rolling bags or light luggage, it is a practical walk. We did take a taxi from the hotel to the bus station when we left, since it was 5am, and snowing. The ride was less than 8 euros.

The hotel concierges were pleasant, knowledgeable and helpful.

I will add that Haarlem proved to be an idea headquarters for exploring. It is a short, fast commute into and out from Amersterdam, and as a rail hub, gives excellent access to many other towns and villages. It is also a convenient 38 minute bus ride from the airport.

  • Liked — Value for money
  • Disliked — Awkward stairs
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cameron park, ca.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2008

My friend and I stayed at the Amadeus for three days in October. It was not at all fancy, but clean and comfortable. The location is outstanding!!!! The breakfast room is cheerful and overlooks the square. I do recommend getting a room in the back as the noise from the square can be a bother. We had a wonderful visit.

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2007

We recently stayed at Hotel Amadeus in Haarlem. It was disappointing. The front of the hotel is attractive and the location is fantastic (right on the square). However, the room we had (I believe it was 41) was at the top of the hotel, with a window looking out on the square through the giant Heineken sign. The room was tiny and cramped. Because the room is on the top floor, the ceiling tilts in sharply so when we sat in the chairs, our heads hit the ceiling. The bathroom is even smaller (I'm 5' 1" and 112 pounds and felt cramped getting into the shower - if you are large, you will really have problems). The lighting is dim, making the room even more depressing. The paint was chipped in the bathroom, the hall carpet had stains. The beds were ok but not great. We were asked to pay in full when we checked in for a two night stay. Once we saw the room, I tried to get a refund on the second night so we could move to another hotel and they refused (we were still within the acceptable cancellation period).

In all fairness, we had just stayed in other hotels that were exceptional so our expectations may have been a little high. Even so, I will not stay there again. Hotel Joops is nearby and looks much nicer and I don't think their rate is that much higher.

  • Liked — Close to market square
  • Disliked — Tiny, depressing room
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Amadeus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amadeus

Address: Grote Markt 10, 2011RD Haarlem, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlem > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Haarlem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Amadeus 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Amadeus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amadeus Hotel Haarlem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Amadeus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.