We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, safe, and priced right.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Amadeus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Amadeus to your Saves list
Hotel Amadeus
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Grote Markt 10, 2011RD Haarlem, The Netherlands (Centrum)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Haarlem
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Clean, safe, and priced right.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

I wasn't looking for anything fancy in Haarlem, but I wanted clean,comfy and safe. Hotel Amadeus fit the bill. It was a bit bland, but when you step off of the train in Haarlem, stop by the florist and buy a huge bouquet of tulips. It'll brighten the room nicely and last an entire week. Haarlem felt safe regardless of what hour I wanted to wander the streets, too. The location was great, central to many of the attractions I was interested in near Haarlem as well. I highly recommend this place!

Room Tip: Haarlem is quiet, but I'd try and get away from the street anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    41
    39
    22
    8
See reviews for
7
50
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Entiat, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Room was small but most importantly, clean. Bed was soft. There was a hot water pot with tea, coffee and cocoa, plus a flat screen TV. Didn't need an air conditioner but the windows did open. You have to keep an open mind that this is an old hotel. We were there for 3 nights at the end of our vacation. Took the bus from the airport to within 3 blocks of the hotel (5 EU) Nice experience and you get to see some of the countryside. Bus has a designated lane in which it travels. Directions were sent to us by the hotel. All staff were friendly. Breakfast included was standard but adequate so no complaints. We each ordered a small salad at the restaurant, for dinner one night and it was huge. Small elevator inside restaurant took us to the level on which our room was located and it was in the back so was not bothered by the noise from the market square. Flea Market on the Saturday and Monday while we were there. Great place to people watch at the table and chairs set up in the square when you aren't exploring the sights in the area. I took no pictures of the hotel to post, so if trip advisor put one on my review, I didn't take it.

Room Tip: The ones in the back are the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Good location on the main square, next to town hall and cathedral. approx 10 min walk from railway station, and very simple to get there. Breakfast included and nice, stuff friendly. Room is simple but clean, with flat TV. bathroom clean. Bed comfortable. There was a flea market on Sat morning, just next to the hotel, it was great!

Room Tip: front has a good view, but can be noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We are just back from staying ,we stayed 3 nights 4 days and could not fault the services noting was too much for all at the hotel to make our trip to Haarlem enjoyable .
The room was great no street noise but right on the square lovely spot for everything from boat trip to sightseeing ..
we caught bus 300 from the airport Hotel so easy to find you can get off 2nd to last stop and a 5min walk and you are there .

All we can say to hotel team is thank you for making our stay wonderful.
God Bless you all

Room Tip: we stayed in 32
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazareth, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

The Amadeus Hotel is a very basic, no frills place. Our room and bathroom were extremely small and ordinary. The hallways are dreary and not well kept. What bothered me the most was that there is no lobby or desk clerk. To check in you must go to the restaurant downstairs and see the manager on duty. Breakfast is served in the downstairs restaurant and it is very sparse with limited choices.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back. Front of hotel room was extremely noisy. We booked for 5 days and dislik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

We recently stayed at the Amadeus in Haarlem based on earlier reviews. Our double room at the front of the hotel was very small and noisy. The bathroom looked like a converted closet with a sliding door for privacy. It was a truly tacky room that smelled moldy. The only good news with was that it was convenient and the breakfast was good but the service was inattentive even during breakfast. Stay somewhere else!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

I recently stayed 4 nights at this hotel. I booked it because of the favorable reviews I'd read from previous Trip Advisor reviews and from the Rick Steve's travel book. It seemed that it would fit our needs. I felt I knew what to expect, as this was my 3rd trip to Europe. But things have changed with this hotel. The owners are no longer actively involved. You'll see them in the morning, but that's it. The hotel is now being ran by a restaurant, and the folks working there just don't care about the hotel portion. One day I asked for another blanket. We never did get it as the staff said they were too busy with the restaurant. Housekeeping was poor; my dirty bath towel got exchanged for a clean face towel. The room was dingy and the beds were broken down. It was obvious that the owners were no longer investing in the hotel. The place was advertised as having a nice lounge area on the 2nd floor where you could enjoy the market place. This room was closed. So the only place we could sit and relax was in our room. Being typical small rooms, this wasn't pleasant. There were tables and chairs outside in front of the building, but they were for restaurant customers. There was nobody around to ask for advice on things to do, the Information center had closed down, so you were totally on your own. I would avoid this place. While it's affordable, it's not worth the money and does nothing to enhance what should be an enjoyable stay in Haarlem

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Amadeus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amadeus

Address: Grote Markt 10, 2011RD Haarlem, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlem > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Haarlem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Amadeus 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Amadeus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amadeus Hotel Haarlem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Amadeus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.