We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic Budget Hotel but have no pictures to show you!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Amadeus

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Amadeus to your Saves list
Hotel Amadeus
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Grote Markt 10, 2011RD Haarlem, The Netherlands (Centrum)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Haarlem
Entiat, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Basic Budget Hotel but have no pictures to show you!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Room was small but most importantly, clean. Bed was soft. There was a hot water pot with tea, coffee and cocoa, plus a flat screen TV. Didn't need an air conditioner but the windows did open. You have to keep an open mind that this is an old hotel. We were there for 3 nights at the end of our vacation. Took the bus from the airport to within 3 blocks of the hotel (5 EU) Nice experience and you get to see some of the countryside. Bus has a designated lane in which it travels. Directions were sent to us by the hotel. All staff were friendly. Breakfast included was standard but adequate so no complaints. We each ordered a small salad at the restaurant, for dinner one night and it was huge. Small elevator inside restaurant took us to the level on which our room was located and it was in the back so was not bothered by the noise from the market square. Flea Market on the Saturday and Monday while we were there. Great place to people watch at the table and chairs set up in the square when you aren't exploring the sights in the area. I took no pictures of the hotel to post, so if trip advisor put one on my review, I didn't take it.

Room Tip: The ones in the back are the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Helsinki
Level Contributor
93 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Good location on the main square, next to town hall and cathedral. approx 10 min walk from railway station, and very simple to get there. Breakfast included and nice, stuff friendly. Room is simple but clean, with flat TV. bathroom clean. Bed comfortable. There was a flea market on Sat morning, just next to the hotel, it was great!

Room Tip: front has a good view, but can be noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KrisztaHelsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We are just back from staying ,we stayed 3 nights 4 days and could not fault the services noting was too much for all at the hotel to make our trip to Haarlem enjoyable .
The room was great no street noise but right on the square lovely spot for everything from boat trip to sightseeing ..
we caught bus 300 from the airport Hotel so easy to find you can get off 2nd to last stop and a 5min walk and you are there .

All we can say to hotel team is thank you for making our stay wonderful.
God Bless you all

Room Tip: we stayed in 32
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank honestdoug1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazareth, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

The Amadeus Hotel is a very basic, no frills place. Our room and bathroom were extremely small and ordinary. The hallways are dreary and not well kept. What bothered me the most was that there is no lobby or desk clerk. To check in you must go to the restaurant downstairs and see the manager on duty. Breakfast is served in the downstairs restaurant and it is very sparse with limited choices.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back. Front of hotel room was extremely noisy. We booked for 5 days and dislik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pardfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Haarlem hotels

Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed at the Amadeus in Haarlem based on earlier reviews. Our double room at the front of the hotel was very small and noisy. The bathroom looked like a converted closet with a sliding door for privacy. It was a truly tacky room that smelled moldy. The only good news with was that it was convenient and the breakfast was good but the service was inattentive even during breakfast. Stay somewhere else!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Washington
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

I recently stayed 4 nights at this hotel. I booked it because of the favorable reviews I'd read from previous Trip Advisor reviews and from the Rick Steve's travel book. It seemed that it would fit our needs. I felt I knew what to expect, as this was my 3rd trip to Europe. But things have changed with this hotel. The owners are no longer actively involved. You'll see them in the morning, but that's it. The hotel is now being ran by a restaurant, and the folks working there just don't care about the hotel portion. One day I asked for another blanket. We never did get it as the staff said they were too busy with the restaurant. Housekeeping was poor; my dirty bath towel got exchanged for a clean face towel. The room was dingy and the beds were broken down. It was obvious that the owners were no longer investing in the hotel. The place was advertised as having a nice lounge area on the 2nd floor where you could enjoy the market place. This room was closed. So the only place we could sit and relax was in our room. Being typical small rooms, this wasn't pleasant. There were tables and chairs outside in front of the building, but they were for restaurant customers. There was nobody around to ask for advice on things to do, the Information center had closed down, so you were totally on your own. I would avoid this place. While it's affordable, it's not worth the money and does nothing to enhance what should be an enjoyable stay in Haarlem

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bruce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Would stay again but only for one night. The great breakfast made up for the small room we had and interesting facilities contained. But it was spotless - the wi-fi was great but the intercom based check in and mirrors were disconcerting

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Haarlem hotels
Carlton Square Hotel
#1 of 12 in Haarlem
4.0 of 5 stars 432 reviews
Centrum
Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Haarlem Hotelsuites
Haarlem Hotelsuites
#5 of 12 in Haarlem
4.5 of 5 stars 37 reviews
Centrum
Ambassador City Centre Hotel
Golden Tulip Lion D'Or
#3 of 12 in Haarlem
4.0 of 5 stars 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amadeus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amadeus

Address: Grote Markt 10, 2011RD Haarlem, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlem > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Haarlem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Amadeus 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hotel Amadeus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amadeus Hotel Haarlem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing