We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Base for Day Trips” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Amadeus

Save Saved
You added Hotel Amadeus to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Amadeus
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Grote Markt 10, Haarlem 2011RD, The Netherlands (Centrum)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 12 hotels in Haarlem
The Woodlands, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Home Base for Day Trips”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We've stayed here a couple times and will definitely return! Reasonably priced, friendly owner (Mike) and staffed appropriately for the type of hotel that it is. It kind of irritates me when folks (generally we Americans) visit Europe, stay in a mom & pop type local place and expect the Ritz Carlton. The stairs are steep, the hallways narrow, the elevator is closet-like and the rooms/bathrooms are "cozy"...but here's a little secret...It's HOLLAND and most of the buildings are older than the US of A!

Rereading that last little bit may make this place seem kind of dumpy to some, it's totally not! But if you're looking for high end services and amenities, you probably want to move along.

We like the Amadeus when visiting Keukenhof. Bus service from the train station runs regularly to and from the flower property. This last time we also took the train/bus to Kroller-Mueller museum in Nationaal Park De Hoge Veluwe. The trip out to the park makes for an all day event, so if jamming a ton of things in to every day is something you like to do, you may want to skip that one.

Two of three times we've stayed at Amadeus our room overlooked the square (preferred), and there was a carnival going on in the square on those weekends. I think it shut down around 11 or midnight, but we're rarely in bed that early when traveling, so it wasn't a problem for us. I saw some complaints about bar noise making it into rooms; I don't doubt those reviews, but that hasn't been our experience. Once the carnival shuts down, it's relatively quiet. We've stayed on several squares, and in busy-ish neighborhoods around the Netherlands and there are ALWAYS late night revelers enjoying themselves as they pass under your windows. If activity at night is something you need to avoid, you may not enjoy staying in any city center around the Netherlands. You'll be relegated to modern buildings on the outskirts of town...to each his own, I suppose.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    37
    36
    19
    6
See reviews for
7
42
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
atlanta
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

First, Haarlem is the absolute place to stay when visiting Amsterdam/Netherlands..great old town with a beautiful town square and great access to train to Amsterdam. And right in the center of the square is the Amadeus..with short walks to lots of quant eating places, people watching, museums, cathedral, the Corrie Ten Boom hiding place, etc., etc. Of course the hotel is old and small as are the rooms, but that adds to the uniqueness. The only downside for me are the narrow steps leading up to the lobby. It's similar to bizillions of Italian family owned hotels are are quirky, quant, and in buildings many times older than the USA.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights in June.The location was probably the most redeeming quality of the hotel.Our room was at the very top of the hotel,over looking the square.The view was awesome,especially at night. However the earplugs that were provided were utilized due to the noise from the bar that did not stop until early morning. The room was very basic and the tiny bathroom with the swinging doors was a little uncomfortable.The breakfast was nice,I wish we would have sat outside at one of the tables earlier during our stay,sitting outside seeing Haarlem wake up was very nice. It is very much a basic hotel,but you really can't beat the location and the price was reasonable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

This hotel has a very good location in a charming city near Amsterdam.
Amadeus is a 2 star hotel and that is what it is. We got a tiny room on second floor with view to the back of many old buildings. It was very hot and to open the window to a common smoking balcony vas not tempting. Owr shower over flooded due to problems with the drain.
The first night the old elevator did not worked and we had to use some very steep steps and with problems with my knee this was not fun.

Room Tip: Choose a room with view to the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

This hotel has an ideal location right on the Main Square. Some reviewers has mentioned the noise from the Square, however my room (not on the hotel front) was quiet and there was no noise to speak of. I'd definately stay there again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

This hotel has a brilliant location being in the central market square close to all attractions.

It is very definitely only a two star hotel and our room and corridors needed a very good lick of paint. Nevertheless, for a budget hotel it is very reasonable. We had a room with a lovely view over the square. It was very quiet though may be noisier at weekends. The breakfast in a traditional Dutch room on the ground floor, also used as a café, was simple but very .good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

The best feature of this hotel is its position on Grote Markt, you could not get more central. Beds are a little on the soft side but OK. The square can be a bit noisy but the excellent view makes up for it.

Room Tip: Choose room 20 for a panoramic view of the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Amadeus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amadeus

Also Known As:
Amadeus Hotel Haarlem
Address: Grote Markt 10, Haarlem 2011RD, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlem > Centrum
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 hotels in Haarlem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Amadeus 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsNL, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Hotel Amadeus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Amadeus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.