We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Amadeus

Save Saved
You added Hotel Amadeus to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Amadeus
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Grote Markt 10, 2011RD Haarlem, The Netherlands (Centrum)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 12 hotels in Haarlem
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

This hotel has a very good location in a charming city near Amsterdam.
Amadeus is a 2 star hotel and that is what it is. We got a tiny room on second floor with view to the back of many old buildings. It was very hot and to open the window to a common smoking balcony vas not tempting. Owr shower over flooded due to problems with the drain.
The first night the old elevator did not worked and we had to use some very steep steps and with problems with my knee this was not fun.

Room Tip: Choose a room with view to the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    40
    37
    23
    5
See reviews for
7
46
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

This hotel has an ideal location right on the Main Square. Some reviewers has mentioned the noise from the Square, however my room (not on the hotel front) was quiet and there was no noise to speak of. I'd definately stay there again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

This hotel has a brilliant location being in the central market square close to all attractions.

It is very definitely only a two star hotel and our room and corridors needed a very good lick of paint. Nevertheless, for a budget hotel it is very reasonable. We had a room with a lovely view over the square. It was very quiet though may be noisier at weekends. The breakfast in a traditional Dutch room on the ground floor, also used as a café, was simple but very .good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

The best feature of this hotel is its position on Grote Markt, you could not get more central. Beds are a little on the soft side but OK. The square can be a bit noisy but the excellent view makes up for it.

Room Tip: Choose room 20 for a panoramic view of the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

We arrived to find I had booked the hotel for the day before and had not caught my error. Mike arranged for us to stay the 4 nights we thought we had booked without additional charges. The breakfast is very good, served in the restaurant downstairs, and the hotel is located right on the Grote Square. We had a great visit, saw all the sights in Amsterdam and used Haarlem as our home away from home.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbridge, Co Down
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Haarlem is a wonderful place to visit, with a huge amount of life in the historic square where the Amadeus sits. That's the good news. Unfortunately, we discovered the service from the owner was less than overjoyed, and the outdated and worn decor left much to be desired. We stayed one night in the attic room at the top of the hotel. The great view did not make up for the tiny space or the swing door on the minute bathroom. Stay for the location and view by all means, but don't have high expectations of anything else.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara,Mexico
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed here for 4 days,while visiting Amsterdam and the area.We loved Haarlem, a smaller version of Amsterdam and so much more peaceful and quiet.
The hotel is on the main square and when the weather is agreeable,you can sit outside and eat and drink while watching the people in the square.
The breakfasts were very good and set you off well for the day.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Amadeus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amadeus

Address: Grote Markt 10, 2011RD Haarlem, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlem > Centrum
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 hotels in Haarlem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Amadeus 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Amadeus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amadeus Hotel Haarlem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Amadeus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.