We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant locaion,budge hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Amadeus

Save Saved
You added Hotel Amadeus to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Amadeus
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Grote Markt 10, Haarlem 2011RD, The Netherlands (Centrum)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 12 hotels in Haarlem
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Brilliant locaion,budge hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

This hotel has a brilliant location being in the central market square close to all attractions.

It is very definitely only a two star hotel and our room and corridors needed a very good lick of paint. Nevertheless, for a budget hotel it is very reasonable. We had a room with a lovely view over the square. It was very quiet though may be noisier at weekends. The breakfast in a traditional Dutch room on the ground floor, also used as a café, was simple but very .good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    40
    37
    23
    5
See reviews for
7
46
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

The best feature of this hotel is its position on Grote Markt, you could not get more central. Beds are a little on the soft side but OK. The square can be a bit noisy but the excellent view makes up for it.

Room Tip: Choose room 20 for a panoramic view of the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

We arrived to find I had booked the hotel for the day before and had not caught my error. Mike arranged for us to stay the 4 nights we thought we had booked without additional charges. The breakfast is very good, served in the restaurant downstairs, and the hotel is located right on the Grote Square. We had a great visit, saw all the sights in Amsterdam and used Haarlem as our home away from home.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbridge, Co Down
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Haarlem is a wonderful place to visit, with a huge amount of life in the historic square where the Amadeus sits. That's the good news. Unfortunately, we discovered the service from the owner was less than overjoyed, and the outdated and worn decor left much to be desired. We stayed one night in the attic room at the top of the hotel. The great view did not make up for the tiny space or the swing door on the minute bathroom. Stay for the location and view by all means, but don't have high expectations of anything else.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara,Mexico
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed here for 4 days,while visiting Amsterdam and the area.We loved Haarlem, a smaller version of Amsterdam and so much more peaceful and quiet.
The hotel is on the main square and when the weather is agreeable,you can sit outside and eat and drink while watching the people in the square.
The breakfasts were very good and set you off well for the day.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Given the prices of hotels in Haarlem, this was a reasonable option. Nothing special, but located in the main square, which is a nice setting. Good restaurant below. Room was clean, beds very comfortable, but bathroom was small. Wifi connection poor. Also, the amount of tea/coffee sachets in the room was minimal.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Townsend, Washington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Upon arrival at Frankfurt AM my friends picked me up and we jetted off to the NL. Stayed at the Amadeus for the day and had a great time.
The proprietors are extremely friendly and gave us advice on local areas of interest upon check in. I believe my share of the cost was €40.
Bedding was ample, bathroom had the usual sundries you would expect while traveling. Everything in the room, and downstairs was kept extremely clean.

I awoke the next morning to the sounds of men shouting directions while tents were being erected in the square. The Market was opening soon, and what a awesome sight-you could soak in the colors all day-Flowers (It was Tulip season), fresh produce, meats, trinkets etc. on display and itching for some Euros from the crowd.

I'll be back, that's for sure.

Room Tip: Enjoy the stair climb ha!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Amadeus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amadeus

Address: Grote Markt 10, Haarlem 2011RD, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlem > Centrum
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 hotels in Haarlem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Amadeus 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Hotel Amadeus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amadeus Hotel Haarlem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Amadeus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.