We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Square...... charming!! Also nice and relaxing!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grote Markt

Grote Markt
Marktplatz, Haarlem, The Netherlands
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 26 things to do in Haarlem
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Walnut Creek, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Square...... charming!! Also nice and relaxing!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

If you are looking for a nice, relaxing and yet charming cobble-stoned square with lots of nice cafes/restaurant while in The Netherlands,..... you have to visit Haarlem Grote Markt. We were there in the afternoon, just enjoying our time, and looking at the old church and its tower. My kids love that Dutch style fries with mayonnaise, or so many different kinds of sauce to choose from. We enjoyed our time there, not crowded with tourists, just a few here and there, mostly locals.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    109
    16
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“The Grote Markt in Haarlem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

The market used to be an abbey, until the Roman Catholic Church lost all of its land within the city limits of Haarlem. The Grote Kirche was part of this lawsuit settlement also. The settlement was from the great fire caused by German guards in the employ of the church. This destroyed most of Haarlem at the time.

The city of Haarlem gained from this. It really is a the market square. On Sat. it is filled with stalls selling all kinds of food and goods. On Monday it is a dry goods market. In between it is a hub of activity with weddings in the town hall, special events such as a jazz festival, carnival, welcoming of Sinterklaas, terminus for the Flower Parade in the spring and many more activities.

From early spring to late fall the restaurants around the Markt place tables out for their customers.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Haag
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The Grote Markt is central and a good starting point for a nice day walking in the city. If you arrive by car follow the signs for parking Appelaar. The exit is right behind the church and brings you close to the grote markt. The Grote Markt abounds with little terraces where it is nice to have a drink or even lunch. The architecture around you is well worth feasting your eyes on while you treat yourself to "poffertjes" or a sandwich.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennesaw, Georgia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“So charming!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

So glad we went straight to Haarlem after arriving in Amsterdam. The Grote Markt is so beautiful. We ate at 2 of the little restaurants right on the square. Briinkmann and L'Anders were both wonderful! The shopping was great. Corrie ten Boom house right around the corner was inspiring!!! My daughter wants to buy a bike and spend a summer here!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
214 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
220 helpful votes 220 helpful votes
“Grote Markt”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

When visiting Haarlem I was looking forward to seeing the Grote Markt, however it was unfortunate that a carnival / funfair was set up at the time. Not only did the loud music spoil the atmosphere, but the rides dominated the square and ruined any chances of photos of the surrounding buildings. I'm still glad that I visited the Grote Markt and I'm sure it is usually a more relaxing and picturesque place.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grote Markt also viewed

Haarlem, North Holland Province
Haarlem, North Holland Province
 
Haarlem, North Holland Province
Haarlem, North Holland Province
 

Been to Grote Markt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grote Markt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.