We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lekker” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Subliem

Subliem
Kleine Houtstraat 44, 2011 DN Haarlem, The Netherlands
+31 23 551 0590
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #117 of 199 Restaurants in Haarlem
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Middle Eastern, South American, International
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lekker”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

The food was very tasty. The service friendly, The open kitchen is spotlessly clean. The chef came to our table and chatted with us after he had prepared all the food for a large group at the next table.
When we passed the restaurant the following day he even waved at us .
I can only recomend this place.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    8
    4
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Friendly service | Food may be sourced from Albert Heijn”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

The service was really wonderful at Subliem, a stark constrast to the usual form of poor Dutch service : very friendly and accommodating although not particularly knowledgeable about the wine selection. The food ingredients and quality, however, seemed to have been sourced from the Dutch grocery store, Albert Heijn. The salad seemed remarkably similar to one of the salad bags from AH, as well as the veg and even the entree and other items we ordered. Unfortunately, the taste was underwhelming and indeed, we felt we could have prepared a tastier meal ourselves if we purchased the ingredients directly and prepared the dishes at home. The €100 bill (starter and entrée each + bottle of wine) was a high price to pay for the experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heiloo, Netherlands
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Always a pleasure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

I have been to this restaurant many times and it's always a pleasure. Being ‘locals’ my friend and I are recognised by the owner (also cook) and he will go out of his way to make sure we have a good time. The food is very good and service very friendly. I can’t imagine it being any different for people visiting maybe once. Because I have been before, I have noticed that the menu hasn’t changed for a long time and that’s my only suggestion: to change so now and then. I know there are daily specials but a few changed would be nice. A three course menu for euro 28,50 is very good value. I do really recommend this place!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Subleim, Haarlem, Netherlands”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We joined the locals celebrating Queens day and had a wonderful dinner. Several staff including the chef came by to welcome us.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not worth it”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We decided to go to this "sublime" restaurant as a day out to celebrate our anniversary. Turned out to be our worst restaurant experience ever.

First they put us on a table that was 20cm from the main entrance. Knowing it was january, the temperature was not pleasant.

After that, we waited for 20 minutes until somebody asked us if we wanted to drink something.
The food was good, but portions average. The service was very bad. The housewine was sour.
A bigger group came, what meant we had to sit even closer to the door, to the point that we could only sit straighten up with holding in our stomach.

When we finally paid and wanted to leave the place, we waited for 30 minutes for our change. When we realized they were not planning to give us change, we went to ask for it. The waitress said she "thought" it was okay like that; what really turned out to be the deal is that they didn't have any change to give back. She finally gave us back the amount of change in 10 and 20 cents, out of her wallet, and threw it unrespectfully on the table.

A little more positive communication could've made up a lot; remember that most of the people go out to the restaurant for the positive experience, not really for the food.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Subliem also viewed

Haarlem, North Holland Province
Haarlem, North Holland Province
 
Haarlem, North Holland Province
Haarlem, North Holland Province
 

Been to Subliem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Subliem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.