We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Tulip Lion D'Or

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Tulip Lion D'Or to your Saves list
Golden Tulip Lion D'Or
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kruisweg 34-36, 2011 LC Haarlem, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Haarlem
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awesome location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This Golden Tulip location is no frills - the rooms are very basic, with no decorations, very little color and few extras. That being said though, the hotel is perfect for exploring Haarlem, and was clean and comfortable. It is right across the street from the train station and bus stop, which was wonderfully easy for coming and going and travelling to other locations via train. We had a room at the back of the hotel, and experienced no noise from the buses or traffic.

The walk to the center of town is about 5 minutes, and you are immediately close to restaurants and shops. We booked a room that included breakfast, which was a good combination of hot and cold food, and highly recommended. If you want something romantic and luxurious, look elsewhere, but otherwise book here!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    57
    22
    4
    4
See reviews for
17
43
14
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This is the most conveniently located hotel if traveling by train or bus. My husband and I stayed here at the beginning and end of our month long Europe trip during April and May. I had emailed the hotel to ask if we could have an early checkin, as we were arriving from the US on a red eye flight with no sleep. We were so delighted that they were able to honor our request. We were able to take a nap and then explore the beautiful town of Haarlem. The train station and bus stop is just across the street from the hotel. We used the bus to travel to the Grote market area and it was 2,60 euro pp each way. The bus from the airport was 5,00 euro each. We were able to buy our tickets for the Kuekenhof Gardens from the hotel clerk. The included breakfast buffet had a good variety of items, including scrambled eggs and meats, fruits, yogurts, cereals, delicious breads, etc. The hotel was extremely clean. The beds were comfortable and we slept extremely well. The bathroom was large with fluffy towels. The hotel has AC, which is rare in Europe. The room had a safe and computer with printer for guest's use. Breakfast started at 7 am. Haarlem is a great small city in which to stay to explore the area. It is less stressful and more relaxing for us seniors.
We would certainly stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I led a group of 22 people on holiday in the Netherlands. This hotel was our base for the week. It is in a great location, in the attractive city of Haarlem. It is conveniently near the railway and bus stations but quiet. There is a direct rail and bus connection to the airport from outside the hotel.

The accommodation was very good. The evening meal provided and the breakfast were of a high standard. The welcome and service by the staff could not have been better. The manager ensured that all our needs were met during our stay.

We toured around but, in Haarlem itself, there is so much to do and see, including churches, museums, good shopping and canal cruising.

Among the museums the group found the visit to the Corrie ten Boom House to be most moving. During the war, this Christian family sheltered and hid many Jews who were being hunted by the Nazis during the German occupation of the city.

Room Tip: Very good choice of rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is right in the centre of Haarlem next to the main train and bus station. Comfortable rooms, good breakfast and helpful staff. There is a public garage opposite the hotel which was quite safe. The hotel is walking distance from the historical centre where you will find a lot of cafes and restaurants. All in all a good stay

Room Tip: As for a room at the back of hotel where it will be less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londoner in SW
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A really comfy bed and well appointed room, in a lovely, homely feel hotel. Centrally placed within the heart of Haarlem and easy walking distance to great restuarants and bars. Extremely helpful and friendly staff who made me very welcome. Breakfast was great. Very Dutch so don't expect a full English, but you can cook your own eggs and toast fresh bread or indulge in cheese, fruit and pastries. Fab coffee machine that makes a mean expresso and the cups hold four at a time, wicked. I really liked Haarlem and would like to linger longer next time. Only minus point to me was a very odd alarm by the bed, which I set for 7am as a back up call, but it went off at 3am. Not great! But I alerted the staff in the morning and they very professionally said they would deal with it. Would hate someone else to get a wake up call at that unearthly hour. Otherwise a fab stay.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015 via mobile

A one night stay in Haarlem for me on a press trip. Stayed in the Lion D'Or and had everything that I needed - good WIFI, clean and large room with all of the facilities that you might need for a city break. The room would have comfortably slept two people. A little walk to the place we went to eat in the evening, but we got a taxi back afterwards and it was inexpensive to do so.

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015

We based ourselves at Golden Tulip Hotel Lion D'Or in Haarlem for an eight day visit to the Netherlands - three in Amsterdam (via train) and five to destinations around the country. The hotel was terrific - very friendly and helpful staff at the reception and in the dining room, a nice breakfast buffet, comfortable rooms, great location (a minute from the train station, a few minutes in the other direction to charming, historic Haarlem), and easy access to highways and the airport. It really felt like our home and we were happy to return at the end of each day.

Room Tip: Based on reviews we read before booking, we requested a quiet room and indeed, ours faced the back o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GTLiondor, Front Office Manager at Golden Tulip Lion D'Or, responded to this review, April 15, 2015
Thank you RJ for your kind words. It was a pleasure hosting you and your family in our hotel! You stayed quite long with us and used the hotel as a base to discover more of Europe. We hope to see you back some other time and meanwhile your comment inspires us to keep doing what we do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Golden Tulip Lion D'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Lion D'Or

Address: Kruisweg 34-36, 2011 LC Haarlem, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Haarlem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip Lion D'Or 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Golden Tulip Lion D'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Hotel Haarlem
Golden Tulip Haarlem
Haarlem Golden Tulip

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Tulip Lion D'Or, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.