We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Tulip Lion D'Or

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Golden Tulip Lion D'Or to your Saves list
Golden Tulip Lion D'Or
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kruisweg 34-36, 2011 LC Haarlem, The Netherlands   |  
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Haarlem
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The staff was very friendly, helpful and professional. We had the continental breakfast included and it was really good. Our room was very clean, quiet and not too small. The bathroom was great. Most importantly, our bed was VERY comfortable. Haarlem is a quiet town just a 15 minute train ride from Amsterdam Central. The hotel is located just across the square from the train station. There are many historical sites, restaurants, bars, coffee shops and shopping in Haarlem. If we are ever in this area again, we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    43
    20
    4
    4
See reviews for
11
34
14
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great little hotel ideally situated right next to the main train station and bus terminus; if you're coming from Schiphol, I'd recommend the 300 bus which picks you up right outside the arrivals hall and drops you virtually at the door of the hotel for 5 euros, and they run every 5 mins.

The hotel was friendly, nice room and great breakfasts. The town of a Haarlem is a delight. We hired bikes and cycled through the National Park to the beach at Zaandvoort - superb cycle paths.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby England
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We stayed here last week while visiting Haarlem. It is placed in a very good position near to rail and bus station and close to town. The room was good and the bed excellent, would have liked to take it home. Breakfast was included in the price we paid and I was impressed by the griddle to cook your own eggs fresh. Staff were extremely willing to help and very friendly. We will definitely stay here again

Room Tip: We were in a side room and were happy with that, I imagine tHe rooms on the front would be nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traiskirchen, Niederosterreich, Austria
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Located right next to the main train station, this hotel offers all you need in your travel - spacious rooms (at least mine was so), free internet, good service. Old town Haarlem is just 20 minutes away. The only thing they could work on is the breakfast choice.

Room Tip: Avoid top floor rooms if it is raining - it can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Stayed four nights and choose the hotel on the internet due to the location. We had arrived in Amsterdam by ship and took the train to Haarlem. The hotel is across the square from the train station which was extremely convenient. But it is not noisy or remote from the town centre. It was a ten minute walk down a main street to the central market, with shops and restaurants all along the route. Easy access to shopping and to a wide variety of restaurants on foot. The breakfast was good with a variety of choices. Room was clean and able to open up the windows. We travelled with 3 couples and the only issue that arose was that one of the 3 was charged a different rate even though we all booked online at the same time. The hotel would not honour the reduced rate and told our travel companions that they had to take it up with the main office for The Golden Tulip, not with Lion D'Or. That was definately poor service and left a bad taste. I highly doubt that any McDonald's franchise would tell you to contact head office if your hamburger was not cooked properly. So look at your online registration information carefully before you go to avoid any problems. Would have given a higher rating if not for this problem.

Room Tip: If you want a larger room that is more like North American size, choose the higher priced superior r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GTLiondor, Front Office Manager at Golden Tulip Lion D'Or, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are always happy to see that our guests enjoy our hotel, its location and service. We support the advise you give: always double check your booking before confirming it. Special deals, refundable or not, may be available. Using our own hotel website makes it easier for us to communicate with our guests directly prior to their stay. We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in Haarlem again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

The Golden Tulip Lion O'Dor Hotel in Haarlem, The Netherlands, was a nice hotel next to the train station. The breakfast was okay, and the room was a bit small. The hotel was in a nice location. The staff was friendly and the lobby had a nice atmosphere. There is no pool in this hotel, and the breakfast came included with our room. The hotel was very clean and our room had a nice view.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Stayed here for a couple of nights on a last minut booking to visit Haarlem. The location is ideal right next to the train station and bus terminus. Ideal for arriving into Holland from Schipol airport the bus drops you off just metres from the hotel. Walking into the centre of historic Haarlem again takes only a few minutes. We stayed B+B in one of the superior double rooms and were greeted on arrival by excellent service in fluent English. Our room was very pleasant and large and exceptionally clean. The bathroom was spotless. My only slight criticism was the memory foam mattresses on the split king size bed. I struggled to sleep on the memory foam the first night with some better sleep the next, preferring the more classic firm hotel mattresses. A few pictures on the walls would have been nice.
There was unfortunatley no restaurant or bar or room service when we arrived on the Sunday evening but we had some sandwiches with us so it wasn't a problem to us.
Breakfast was a typical buffet help yourself in a light and roomy restaurant. The fresh fruit and yoghurts were very good, but the rest was just average with poor attempts at the sweet offerings,
The staff are friendly and polite and happilty let us leave our luggage for the day until we made our way back to the airport.
Well worth using if convenience and cleanliness are your main needs for a hotel room

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Tulip Lion D'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Lion D'Or

Address: Kruisweg 34-36, 2011 LC Haarlem, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Haarlem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip Lion D'Or 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Golden Tulip Lion D'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Hotel Haarlem
Golden Tulip Haarlem
Haarlem Golden Tulip

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Tulip Lion D'Or, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.