We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent perch for short visit to Haarlem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Tulip Lion D'Or

Save Saved
You added Golden Tulip Lion D'Or to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Golden Tulip Lion D'Or
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kruisweg 34-36, 2011 LC Haarlem, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Haarlem
Washington DC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent perch for short visit to Haarlem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Golden Tulip Lion D'Or is fully a **** experience -- right across the plaza from Train Station; little restaurant that was fine for dinner, excellent for breakfast; comfortable & spacious room (#34) with shower, quiet (Note: it's winter), and with very courteous, responsive, knowledgeable staff. Takes 20 minutes from AMS via commuter train to get here; shorter if you head here straight from Schiphol.

I was here for a 2-day touring visit to Haarlem sandwiched between other destinations. Left Lion D'Or hotel to walk in to town Centre at 9:30 this morning, walked back at 8 PM from a wonderful day exploring Haarlem (Frans Hals & the Teylers Museum + Saturday Market & nice dinner in town). It took 7 minutes to walk back to hotel (ergo train station).

There are plenty of nice (more upscale) hotels in town -- but if you are arriving late and want to get from station to hotel, rest, start afresh -- and at end of trip, leave luggage and pick up en route to train, this hotel is great.

I'll put in a pitch for Haarlem, as well. TripAdvisor reviews suggested coming here rather than Leiden. While I can't speak for Leiden, my Dutch friends said "go to Haarlem" so that ruled. Indeed this has been a super day of learning about Flemish art, history, geopolitics, Saturday markt, and architecture. I didn't sit down all day -- spent 3 hours in Frans Hals Museum, for example -- was just so enriching. Did have dinner at Cafe Colette tonight . From 5:45-on was increasingly and delightfully crowded with locals (including kids) and quite pleasant. Nice aubergine parmesan and creme brulee with a Sancerre.

Back to Hotel:
I would have given Lion D'Or 5***** just because they were exactly what I needed (including universal free wifi); but this IS a 3-4 * experience/amenities. Good example where enough can be exactly what you need, rather than the ultimate!

Room Tip: Some street noise based on train station -- in summer might want to ask to be in a room off the plaz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    43
    20
    4
    4
See reviews for
11
33
14
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Pleasant small hotel in excellent location near station and about 10 minutes walk from historic centre of Haarlem. Very clean, good buffet breakfast and brasserie meals. Staff very helpful. We would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GTLiondor, Front Office Manager at Golden Tulip Lion D'Or, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. It is so inspiring to read that you enjoyed the hotel room and the service in the brasserie. We hope we can welcome you back in Haarlem some other time. As a returning guest, let us know if there is a specific room you prefer. We will always do what we can to get you back in your favorite room. Dirk Pauw, front office manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air MD
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

The Golden Tulip Lion D’or is a charming little hotel near the train station in Haarlem. The staff is friendly and accommodating, the rooms are clean and comfortable and the food is tasty. Very convenient location. I will stay there again on my next business trip.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Located just outside the old town of Haarlem with easy access to the pedestrian area & only half a block from train station. Clean, surprisingly quiet budget hotel. In a typical Dutch fashion room is cold as you enter - heating turned off. It takes a few hours to warm up, but once properly heated all OK.

Hower, the hotel restaurant is a disaster. We had a dinner for 4 and 2 of the 4 main cources were barely edible. There is plenty of restaurants in the old town just a few mins walk away.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GTLiondor, Front Office Manager at Golden Tulip Lion D'Or, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
We are so sorry that you had such a bad experience in our restaurant! We just started a new menu including some game dishes. Game obviously has its very own specific taste. That night we learnt that the gooze we served was indeed not up to our standard. Our offer to serve an alternative dish, not from the game menu, was rejected. Subsequently we took the filet of wild gooze off the menu. We compensated you on the spot with free drinks, but hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in our brasserie some other time to proove we can do better!
Dirk Pauw, front office manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Stayed at the Lion D'Or with my husband for two nights. Quick thirty minute journey from Schipol on a regular bus route. The room was a lot larger than expected, and the free Wi-Fi was a bonus. I really dont like the twin beds thing, but they were comfortable and the bathroom was spotlessly clean and up to date. I thought the shower could have had a little more punch - I like a hotel power shower that nearly knocks you off your feet. The first night the room was baking hot, with weird radiating heat from the bathroom walls. Once we worked out how to set the air conditioning to cool the place down I had a much better nights sleep.

The real selling point of this hotel is that the staff cant do enough for you. They were very friendly and efficient, and helped us to plan our days in the stunning town of Haarlem. The breakfast waitress even rustled up some scrambled eggs especially for my husband as he had commented the day before that they were good. I would stay in this 3-4 star hotel again because I felt very welcomed. The experience was certainly a lot more rewarding than the British chain hotels that are soulless and serve you a plastic breakfast for the same cost per night. I would heartily recommend Haarlem as an alternative to Amsterdam, if you like a bargain, and because it has a much more relaxed ambiance, great restaurants and some beautiful museums.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

The hotel is 45 mins away from the airpot, close to the metro station and bus station. train to Amsterdaam city centre takes only 25mins from the hotel. staff is friendly and helpful. breakfast was really good and there was a lot of options. the room was huge and clean. enough tv channels. Bar lounge in hotel. Def going to stay at this hotel next time i visit Holland.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The West Country
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

I stayed here for a couple of days and was not sure what to expect. The location is very good as it is adjacent to central station, bus station and taxis. It is a ten minute walk to the market square, shops and restaurants. Check in was friendly and efficient. The decor in the public spaces looks a little old and somewhat gloomy. However, the rooms are clean and comfortable with free wi-fi. I liked this hotel as it had something of a family feel to it. So, if you can get past the public area decor I think you will have a comfortable and welcoming stay. Only had breakfast at the hotel which was satisfactory. For a business traveller it is situated in a great location, priced well with friendly and efficient staff. Recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Tulip Lion D'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Lion D'Or

Address: Kruisweg 34-36, 2011 LC Haarlem, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Haarlem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip Lion D'Or 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, HotelsNL, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Golden Tulip Lion D'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Hotel Haarlem
Golden Tulip Haarlem
Haarlem Golden Tulip

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Tulip Lion D'Or, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.