We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Tulip Lion D'Or

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Tulip Lion D'Or to your Saves list
Golden Tulip Lion D'Or
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kruisweg 34-36, 2011 LC Haarlem, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Haarlem
Tickhill, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Quality service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

A great hotel with 1st class customer service. Highly recommended. Room was nice and clean. Could do with some modernising but well looked after. We checked in for a wedding and the hotel arranged an early check in so could get ready for the service.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    46
    21
    4
    4
See reviews for
14
36
14
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Diest, Belgium
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

It is the second time we stayed in the hotel. It offers a good base from which to visit the cosy city of Haarlem and combine it with a trip to the nearby seaside and especially Amsterdam which is only 20 minutes away by train. Compared with the poor value proposition of hotels in Amsterdam this makes the hotel a very attractive alternative from which to visit Amsterdam in my opinion. I don't see any real drawbacks to the hotel. The parking situation is not ideal but hotel staff explains it well. The rooms offer good sleep quality which I consider very important. Good price/quality for The Netherlands.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilburg, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in Haarlem in stead of staying in Amsterdam. The close proximity to the railway station and the center of Haarlem makes it a very convenient place to stay and start your daily travels. Haarlem is a beautiful city smaller and more relaxed than Amsterdam which allows you for an comfortable retreat. The commute to Amsterdam is 4 times every hour and takes a 15-20 minutes only (3,90 Euro fare per person one way).
The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful in pointing out practicalities - such as a free parking space just one train-station down the line to Amsterdam. The rooms are tidy, have a safe and the beds extremely comfortable. The rooms are quiet, the breakfeast quite OK though not extraordinary.
We paid 263 Euro for two persons for two nights incl breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chester
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

I have stayed here may times but never written a review. The golden tulip is in a decent location - just out of the centre of Haarlem (righ next to station and about 5 mins walk from main square). The rooms are basic, but clean and with everything you need. Price is reasonable for Halland (c95 euro a night). The place has a decent small bar and restaurant. Breakfast is also decent (help yourself to all the usual continental breakfast things).

All in all you cant fault this place at all - its not luxury by any means - but does exactly what you would want it to do if your in Haarlem for either business or pleasure.

Location is great as i stated above - its right next to the station (although you cant her trains all night) with a direct line to Amsterdam.

Room Tip: There atre 3 floors - all are similar so no real advice needed on room choice as there is a lift to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

This lovely little hotel is located by the Haarlem train and bus station. Busses and trains run frequently to the airport and Amsterdam, and there are good connections to other places in the Netherlands.
Our room was large, comfortably furnished, and immaculate. The bathroom had the longest tub I've ever seen, and it too was immaculate.
An excellent buffet breakfast is served in the dining room and the front desk staff are friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria BC
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
250 helpful votes 250 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We enjoyed 6 nights at this excellent and well run hotel.We were in a beautifully renovated junior suite #2 overlooking the newly built square and the train station. The room and bed were most comfortable. Breakfast was of excellent quality with a variety of fresh fruit,freshly baked buns,cold meats and bacon and sausage There were facilities for scrambing eggs and making toast The coffee was excellent..Dirk at the front desk was kind, friendly and very helpful. It was good to see and talk to the restaurant and bar manager Ron again,after 5 years when we last visited. Ron spent his early years in Canada and still follows the Canadian sport scene. Breakfast staff were lovely.After 20 years of European travel, we find Haarlem to be a beautiful,friendly small city with plenty of character, and yet so conveniently close to busy and bustling Amsterdam.Highly recommended.
Marjorie and John McIlroy Victoria BC Canada.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

I was working in Sloterdijk and needed easy access to Schiphol. Hotel staff are very friendly and I send them my best wishes for looking after me for 18 months.

The rooms are well serviced and the breakfasts are spot on. If you would like something different for dinner, ask Fokke and he will arrange whatever you would like.

An ideal location right next to the railway station and buses. Bus takes about 40 minutes to the front door of Schiphol and the train about the same ( change at Sloterdijk ).

Don't rush for either forms of transport as, if you miss the train, there will be another one 10 minutes later. Buses are about every 10 minutes.

The location of the hotel is perfectly suited for a 10 minute walk into the town centre where I am told by my wife, the shopping is superb.

Phil Hindmarch, Aberdeen

Room Tip: Room 6 South side and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Tulip Lion D'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Lion D'Or

Address: Kruisweg 34-36, 2011 LC Haarlem, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Haarlem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip Lion D'Or 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Golden Tulip Lion D'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Hotel Haarlem
Golden Tulip Haarlem
Haarlem Golden Tulip

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Tulip Lion D'Or, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.