We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carlton Square Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Carlton Square Hotel to your Saves list
Carlton Square Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Baan 7, 2012 DB Haarlem, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Haarlem
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We stayed here for five nights. It is a very easy walk to the centre of Haarlem and very spacious. Staff very efficient and helpful. The breakfast was good value. The air conditioner in our first room was not very effective and we were upgraded to a bigger room. The air conditioner still struggled to cope with the mid summer heat though.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anneke R, General Manager at Carlton Square Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Dear Paul,

Thank you for your review. Unfortunately we have experienced some issues with our airconditioning during the last period, but the airconditioning will be replaced within a couple of weeks. Hope to see you back soon!

With kind regards,

Anneke Rompa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    142
    35
    7
    6
See reviews for
21
140
6
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

The hotel is ideally located for exploring Haarlem which is a very pretty place. The staff were very welcoming, the room was spotless and big. Especially enjoyed the complimentary chocolates, thank you. And the bed was just the best ever. Plenty of choice at breakfast and some excellent coffee. Can't comment on the restaurant as we ate out at night. This hotel will not disappoint.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anneke R, General Manager at Carlton Square Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your experiences at the Carlton Square with the world.
Never hesitate to come back and sleep in the comfiest bed again!

With kind regards

Anneke Rompa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

I am usually very skeptical about hotels and their pictures in Europe.
This was such a gem . The staff were so friendly. Room was big and luxurious. Free bar for me :)
I really liked the decor . The most comforting hotel I have ever stayed

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anneke R, General Manager at Carlton Square Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Nandhini,

Thanks a million times for this wonderful review!
Please spread the word all over London and never hesitate to come back...

WIth kind regards,

Anneke Rompa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Staff are very efficient & pleasant. Rooms and bed extremrly comfortable. Nice little balcony with park view. Restaurant has high quality culinary creations. Very clean and spacious. Highly reccommend.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anneke R, General Manager at Carlton Square Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear John Paul,

Thank you so much for your wonderfull review and please spread the word all over Minneapolis!

With kind regards,


Anneke Rompa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Checked in on a saturday, girl behind the counter was not polite, didn't told us where an what time breakfast was, wasn't helpful with our questions regarding parking and later on in the evening when we returned from the city looked straight at us bur didn't greet us..... (maybe because we are not born dutch people, because she was nice to other (white) guests ????)

Parking: there is a garage under the hotel with a private entrance.......hotel doesn't have parking ticket reduction, doesn't sell 24-hour tickets etc.......It was a hell of a job to find WHERE we could pay for the parking.....(As mentioned....staff wasn't helpful).

Room: We had a superior room (the basic in the hotel), nice for 1 night, with a balcony and with airco which wasn't working so good ( ok...it was a hot day: 33 Celsius, but still......you expect the airco does the job...)

Breakfast: basis but good.

Surrounding: Very near to city center (Walking distance)

Free wifi (bad reception)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anneke R, General Manager at Carlton Square Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Shoba- Roy,

I am very sorry to read your review regarding your stay.
As I don’t have your details, please send me your telephone number at arompa@square.carlton.nl as I would really like to solve this personally.

With kind regards,

Anneke Rompa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zutphen, The Netherlands
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

This well located hotel provides excellent accommodation. As well there is an topnotch kitchen. I have many food allergies and the chef prepared for me one of the most delicious meals that i have ever had all with a wide variety of vegetables and meat. Haarlem should be a destiny in your travel plans and the Carlton Square your vacation accommodation.

Room Tip: All the rooms I am sure are perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anneke R, General Manager at Carlton Square Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Mary,

Thank you for your detailed review about our hotel and specific for our restaurant. It was a pleasure having you in our hotel!

With kind regards,

Anneke Rompa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork, ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Myself and my boyfriend stayed at this hotel for 3 nights, cannot fault it, room was spotless, and bed comfortable and hotel only about a 10 minute walk to centre of Haarlem. We asked for a late checkout and it was no problem, staff were very friendly and very willing to help, would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anneke R, General Manager at Carlton Square Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Monica,

Thank you very much and please spread the word all over Cork!

With kind regards,

Anneke Rompa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carlton Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Square Hotel

Address: Baan 7, 2012 DB Haarlem, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Haarlem
#1 Business Hotel in Haarlem
#1 Romantic Hotel in Haarlem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carlton Square is an intimate 4-star Haarlem hotel in the heart of the charming city of Haarlem, combining international allure with luxurious ambiance and genuine hospitality. As you walk through the front door of our Haarlem hotel you will immediately feel drawn in by the staff, design and interior. The warmth of the cosy lounge and crackling fire in the hearth instantly give our guests that 'home away from home' feeling.Carlton Square, with 122 hotelrooms, is situated in the heart of the shopping district. Only 10 km from Schiphol International Airport and the Amsterdam RAI Congress Centre, the Carlton Square Hotel is located in Haarlem city centre just off one of the main roads leading to Amsterdam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Carlton Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Square Haarlem
Hotel Carlton Square

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlton Square Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.