We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carlton Square Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Carlton Square Hotel to your Saves list
Carlton Square Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Baan 7, 2012 DB Haarlem, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Haarlem
cork, ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Myself and my boyfriend stayed at this hotel for 3 nights, cannot fault it, room was spotless, and bed comfortable and hotel only about a 10 minute walk to centre of Haarlem. We asked for a late checkout and it was no problem, staff were very friendly and very willing to help, would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anneke R, General Manager at Carlton Square Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Monica,

Thank you very much and please spread the word all over Cork!

With kind regards,

Anneke Rompa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    134
    35
    6
    5
See reviews for
20
134
6
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Congresbury, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Nice hotel, well situated within easy walking distance of Haarlem old city centre with its narrow, cobbled pedestrian lanes and myriad of restaurants and bars. Good service, good food, good quality rooms, reasonably priced. I turned off the air conditioning and opened the window or balcony door instead and closed the curtains to stop the sun warming the room too much. All fine.

The only negatives are the very warm possibly Winter duvets, which are too hot in Summer. The sausages at breakfast are not to my taste. Overall though, I stay there regularly and the staff are always welcoming.

Room Tip: Some lower rooms overlook the outside dining area which can be a little noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anneke R, General Manager at Carlton Square Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Trevor,

Thank you for your review, please never hesitate to come back!!

With kind regards,

Anneke Rompa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Very nice hotel. Friendly and helpful staff. Very good service. Breakfast was really good. So was dinner! Rooms are luxurious. The free minibar in the room was amazing. The beds were glorious in comfort with good pillows and mattress. Hotel is near town centre. Only negative was the air conditioner that is a little noisy and the room gets very hot at night. Not sure if it is an air conditioner or just a big fan? Opening the windows does help until it starts raining! We will definitely be going back!!

Room Tip: We would always choose the double deluxe rooms facing the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anneke R, General Manager at Carlton Square Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your detailed review, we really are looking forward to welcome you back to the hotel!

With kind regards,

Anneke Rompa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Good service, incl breakfast. Fast check in, Nice lady at the reception, spacious room what look oldskool, with refurnised bathroom!!! Really Nice, dark curtains , what i prefer to sleep, good pillow and matrass! Close to centrum and on walking distance to train ( 10-15 min, if you are drunk 20-30 min, even with Google maps ;-). ) would go back.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anneke R, General Manager at Carlton Square Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Jolanda,

Thank you very much for your wonderful and detailed review, never hesitate to come back!!

With kind regards,

Anneke Rompa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gouda, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Best points of this hotel are the front desk staff who were charming and the work of the cleaning staff, who were unfaultable. Breakfast very good. Negatives: airco hums loudly but does not actually cool (room 102) resulting in the room being too hot at night. Bed is on the hard side but tolerable. Would choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anneke R, General Manager at Carlton Square Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Kees,

Many thanks for your lovely words about our staff, I will send them to my team!!
Your remark about aircon will be forwarded to our Technical Department.

Looking forward having you back in the hotel again!

With kind regards,


Anneke Rompa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

quiet location. Comfortable rooms and very friendly staff. We would certainly stay there again. Very handy for Haarlem centre and about a 10 minute walk to the Square. Would have preferred a lighter quilt, considering the time of year.

Room Tip: Hotel in a quiet location, so room location not that important. Our room was at the rear of the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anneke R, General Manager at Carlton Square Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Denise,

Thank you very much for your review and your suggestions, please spread the word all over the UK!

With kind regards,


Anneke Rompa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Once again we have had a long stay at the Carton & you can not fault this place. The staff are what makes this place very special, they are all so very friendly, helpful & professional. In the 2 months we have been here we did not have 1 problem. Congratulations to each & everyone of you as I have never experience such wonderful service in my travels.

Room Tip: They are all great & there is a variety of rooms that cater for individual needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anneke R, General Manager at Carlton Square Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Mr Abreu,

Thank you very much for your most wonderfull feedback! Really looking forward to welcome back later this month!

With kind regards,

Anneke Rompa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carlton Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Square Hotel

Address: Baan 7, 2012 DB Haarlem, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Haarlem
#1 Business Hotel in Haarlem
#1 Luxury Hotel in Haarlem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carlton Square is an intimate 4-star Haarlem hotel in the heart of the charming city of Haarlem, combining international allure with luxurious ambiance and genuine hospitality. As you walk through the front door of our Haarlem hotel you will immediately feel drawn in by the staff, design and interior. The warmth of the cosy lounge and crackling fire in the hearth instantly give our guests that 'home away from home' feeling.Carlton Square, with 122 hotelrooms, is situated in the heart of the shopping district. Only 10 km from Schiphol International Airport and the Amsterdam RAI Congress Centre, the Carlton Square Hotel is located in Haarlem city centre just off one of the main roads leading to Amsterdam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Carlton Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Square Haarlem
Hotel Carlton Square

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlton Square Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.