We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“charming retreat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carlton Square Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Carlton Square Hotel to your Saves list
Carlton Square Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Baan 7, 2012 DB Haarlem, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Haarlem
Poole, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“charming retreat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

We were delighted with this hotel, situated on the edge of the bustling town of Haarlem. Our room, on the 5th floor, had a nice view of the park and was well kitted out. Our 3 night stay was comfortable on the whole, though we were rather hot one night and there's no air conditioning.
We ate out rather than dining at the hotel, so can't rate the restaurant at all but Haarlem has lots to offer.
It is a bit of a trek into Amsterdam, easy enough with frequent trains that go to the centre and buses that go to the museum quarter but it will take a chunk of your time and money. I would definitely recommend this hotel, with the footnote that it certainly isn't Amsterdam.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anneke R, General Manager at Carlton Square Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your detailed and charming review. What a pity to read your remark about the ‘missing’ aircon: all our rooms are equipped with aircon that can be controlled per individual room. Hope to welcome you back soon!

With kind regards,


Anneke Rompa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    130
    35
    5
    5
See reviews for
20
132
6
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Carlton Square Hotel for six days and loved it.The hotel was clean and the staff were very friendly.The complimentary minibar was a plus. Breakfast was good-lots of choices.

Some of the furnishings were in need of replacement. The only downside to this hotel is its distance from Amsterdam.It is however possible to take a brief bus ride to the city.

When we return to the Netherlands we are sure to stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anneke R, General Manager at Carlton Square Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear guest,

I really enjoyed reading your kind review, hope you will return to our country soon!

With kind regards,


Anneke Rompa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

This hotel is located outside Amsterdam. We stayed here and took the train into Amsterdam. It is a great value and has an outstanding staff! The rooms are clean and the area is beautiful!

The only negative I have is that, instead of one single mattress, the bed had two separate ones. It was comfortable sleeping; just not comfortable for snuggling.

Room Tip: The executive rooms have a complimentary mini bar!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anneke R, General Manager at Carlton Square Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Iris,

Thank you very much for the lovely review. I am so happy to learn about your satisfaction!

We do have beds with 1 matrass as well. If you consider to stay with us again in the future, please let our reception staff know about your preference!
Hope to see you back soon!

With kind regards,

Anneke Rompa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Very nice hotel. What I really appreciated was the service of the nice woman at the front desk. She recommended a great restaurant and helped us with all sorts of questions.

The hotel is a short jaunt from everything in the beautiful town.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anneke R, General Manager at Carlton Square Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Sean,

Thank you for your flattering review, I have forwarded your appreciation about the restaurant to Lisa! Sincerely hope to welcome you soon again.

With kind regards,


Anneke Rompa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

Haarlem is a lovely little town, with all the charm of Amsterdam and none of the frenetic craziness! The Carlton Hotel is well positioned for tourists - an easy walk to the shopping area. While this cannot be described as a luxurious or boutique hotel (probably a US three star),it was more than adequate and good value. The rooms (we had an executive room) are a nice size. Our double bed was actually two twins with a foam mattress topper - quite comfortable. The bathroom had recently been redone - it was small, with only a shower, but quite adequate. I loved the free minibar, with alcoholic drinks and snacks included. Breakfast was standard hotel fare - adequate but not exceptional. This hotel seems to be a favorite for large tour groups, so was sometimes very full. They seemed to cope, however. Reception staff were obliging and friendly. We rented their bikes one day - they were in excellent condition and reasonable at €15 per day.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonSquare, General Manager at Carlton Square Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear BigBree!

Thank you for your beautiful and detailed recommendation an being an Ambassador for the nice city of Haarlem!!
Hope to welcome you back one day soon.

With kind regards,


Anneke Rompa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

We went to Amsterdam, with another couple, we had amazing time, which began with our stay at the FABULOUS Carlton Square Hotel, the rooms were spot on. The staff could not do enough for you. When you stay there you have to visit the Wiskey Bar, they had us try a 18 year old Wiskey, which I am a champagne girl, but it went down smoothly. We went on canal rides, we had a meal at the restaurant around the corner, I must say thinking of going again for my birthday in July. If you have not stayed at this hotel you will not be disappointed, you have a lot to see in the area, Museums, cathedrals, and it is about 20mins away from the hussle and bustle of the city area.

Room Tip: Everything you need or want is in Haarlem, so we just stayed in this area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonSquare, General Manager at Carlton Square Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Sharon,

I have really enjoyed reading the kind words of a real ‘Champagne girl’! Hope to welcome you back in July again!

With kind regards,


Anneke Rompa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
228 helpful votes 228 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Great hotel, always excellent service and ideally located a short walk from plenty of dining and drinking places in Haarlem. I'm a regular guest here and always enjoy my stay. There is a nice restaurant and bar in case you prefer to stay in house.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonSquare, General Manager at Carlton Square Hotel, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dearest Spherehopper,

I am so happy to read about your positive experiences! Your hapiness makes me happy too!
Wishing you well,and hope to welcome you back very soon!

With kind regards,

Anneke Rompa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carlton Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Square Hotel

Address: Baan 7, 2012 DB Haarlem, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Haarlem
#1 Luxury Hotel in Haarlem
#1 Romantic Hotel in Haarlem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carlton Square is an intimate 4-star Haarlem hotel in the heart of the charming city of Haarlem, combining international allure with luxurious ambiance and genuine hospitality. As you walk through the front door of our Haarlem hotel you will immediately feel drawn in by the staff, design and interior. The warmth of the cosy lounge and crackling fire in the hearth instantly give our guests that 'home away from home' feeling.Carlton Square, with 122 hotelrooms, is situated in the heart of the shopping district. Only 10 km from Schiphol International Airport and the Amsterdam RAI Congress Centre, the Carlton Square Hotel is located in Haarlem city centre just off one of the main roads leading to Amsterdam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Carlton Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Square Haarlem
Hotel Carlton Square

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlton Square Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.