We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff & good hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carlton Square Hotel

Save Saved
You added Carlton Square Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Carlton Square Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Baan 7, 2012 DB Haarlem, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 hotels in Haarlem
1 review
“Friendly staff & good hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Very friendly staff, the hotel was nice and clean rooms are very comfortable. The train station is not that far, a nice walk and there are plenty of places to eat and shop. The staff helped us multiple times,would recommend it and go back there myself.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonSquare, General Manager at Carlton Square Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Yizi,

Thank you for your kind recommendation, it's really appreciated!


With kind regards,

Anneke Rompa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    85
    118
    32
    4
    4
See reviews for
18
118
5
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2 days and were happy with our choice. We went for the standard room, and I was a little concerned this room may have been quite small but it was perfectly fine. We asked for a double bed rather than 2 singles and the hotel accommodated us. Room was clean, comfortable bed, nice big windows that open various ways, good TV system, stocked mini bar and safe in the room. Bathroom was decorated well, looked very modern and shower was very comfortable. Room cleaning was good and general decor of the hotel was very nice. You cannot hear any noise or other guests, doors closing or anything like that. Hotel is near everything, even walking to Haarlem station is a pleasant 20 minute walk. Haarlem is much more peaceful and a nicer city than the chaos that is Amsterdam (which is 15 minutes train ride away). For couples, I would recommend Haarlem and the Carlton Square Hotel

Room Tip: We had room 106 and the view is only over the courtyard but this was of no issue to us. Room 106 is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonSquare, General Manager at Carlton Square Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your wonderfull comments, you made my day!

With kind regards,

Anneke Rompa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

Stay always in this hotel everyte I stay in Haarlem, as it's location is good and easy parking underground. The room is cozy and quiet big. Bathroom is clean, I think they do some renovation, as the hotel is old, but somehow it's feels like new, short it we'll maintained. Staff are friendly, concierge are helpful, they willing to help on what you needs. Maybe I stay at least once or twice a year in this hotel as business trip or family holiday. But for sure will stay again next year!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonSquare, General Manager at Carlton Square Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your flattering words, really looking forward to welcome you back soon!

WIth kind regards,


Anneke Rompa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

This hotel is in a great location, just two minutes walk from the town centre. There are plenty of places to eat nearby and transport passes locally too. It took us about to minutes to get to Schiphol by road. The hotel itself is clean and tidy - nice decor and homely. Rooms are very comfortable and clean, however the bathroom I had was a little dated looking. Having said that it was very clean, nice amenities and plenty of hot water. Tea and coffee in the room was a bonus after a long day at work. Free wi-fi was a huge plus, as were the reception staff who were fantastic.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonSquare, General Manager at Carlton Square Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Anthony,

Thank you for your honest review, really appreciated!

We are sorry to hear about the bathroom. Unfortunately not all of our bathrooms have been renovated yet. For your next stay, please contact us directly at info@square.carlton.nl and we will make sure you will have on of our newly renovated bathrooms!

With kind regards,

Anneke Rompa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I stayed here on business a lot many years ago (the staff still recognised me) and this was a sightseeing trip. We went into Amsterdam one day by bus, less than 5 mins from hotel, and a short walk to the Rijksmuseum; the next day by train with a bus from near hotel to Haarlem railway station. Public transport easy to use; Haarlem is a good base. The town itself has many attractions and good restaurants. And by the way the hotel is excellent and far cheaper than the equivalent quality in Amsterdam

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonSquare, General Manager at Carlton Square Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Keith,

Thank you for your review and please spread the word! Hope to see you back soon!

With kind regards,


Anneke Rompa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Stayed here on business for two nights and I cant fault the hotel.
The staff were friendly, the breakfast in the morning was great and the rooms are spacious, clean and well maintained.
Overall really happy that the company put me in this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonSquare, General Manager at Carlton Square Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review. If you ever plan to stay in Haarlem again, please contact us, as we can offer you a special rate.

With kind regards,

Anneke Rompa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

This hotel is conveniently located in a quiet part of Haarlem yet close to the town center and other town attractions. Rooms are neat and well maintained. The restaurant serves freshly prepared food and reasonably priced too. I arrived early around 1.30 pm, but the the front desk quickly found me a room and check in was efficient, A note of caution - contact via email may not be a reliable way to communicate, my email sent through the Carlton website did not get a response.
Having said that the staff is efficient and courteous.
There was confusion about my duration, caused by my company's travel agency. IRene at the front desk took the initiative to resolve the issue/confusion and that enabled me to extend my stay through the busy weekend. She was most helpful and pleasant, helped me plan my weekend trip to Amsterdam and local attractions. I would definitely stay here again if I return to Haarlem.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonSquare, General Manager at Carlton Square Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review! We are sorry to hear that your email did not reach us.
We did have some problems with our website email system, but those problems have been solved. However, if you have any questions for future reservations, you can always contact us at info@square.carlton.nl

With kind regards,

Anneke Rompa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carlton Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Square Hotel

Address: Baan 7, 2012 DB Haarlem, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 hotels in Haarlem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton Square Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carlton Square is an intimate 4-star Haarlem hotel in the heart of the charming city of Haarlem, combining international allure with luxurious ambiance and genuine hospitality. As you walk through the front door of our Haarlem hotel you will immediately feel drawn in by the staff, design and interior. The warmth of the cosy lounge and crackling fire in the hearth instantly give our guests that 'home away from home' feeling.Carlton Square, with 122 hotelrooms, is situated in the heart of the shopping district. Only 10 km from Schiphol International Airport and the Amsterdam RAI Congress Centre, the Carlton Square Hotel is located in Haarlem city centre just off one of the main roads leading to Amsterdam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotel.de and Venere so you can book your Carlton Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Square Haarlem
Hotel Carlton Square

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlton Square Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.