We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy, clean perfect business trip hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carlton Square Hotel

Save Saved
You added Carlton Square Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Expedia.com
and 9 more sites!
Carlton Square Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Baan 7, Haarlem 2012 DB, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 hotels in Haarlem
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Comfy, clean perfect business trip hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Stayed here on business for two nights and I cant fault the hotel.
The staff were friendly, the breakfast in the morning was great and the rooms are spacious, clean and well maintained.
Overall really happy that the company put me in this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonSquare, General Manager at Carlton Square Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review. If you ever plan to stay in Haarlem again, please contact us, as we can offer you a special rate.

With kind regards,

Anneke Rompa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    101
    27
    4
    4
See reviews for
11
89
5
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

This hotel is conveniently located in a quiet part of Haarlem yet close to the town center and other town attractions. Rooms are neat and well maintained. The restaurant serves freshly prepared food and reasonably priced too. I arrived early around 1.30 pm, but the the front desk quickly found me a room and check in was efficient, A note of caution - contact via email may not be a reliable way to communicate, my email sent through the Carlton website did not get a response.
Having said that the staff is efficient and courteous.
There was confusion about my duration, caused by my company's travel agency. IRene at the front desk took the initiative to resolve the issue/confusion and that enabled me to extend my stay through the busy weekend. She was most helpful and pleasant, helped me plan my weekend trip to Amsterdam and local attractions. I would definitely stay here again if I return to Haarlem.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonSquare, General Manager at Carlton Square Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review! We are sorry to hear that your email did not reach us.
We did have some problems with our website email system, but those problems have been solved. However, if you have any questions for future reservations, you can always contact us at info@square.carlton.nl

With kind regards,

Anneke Rompa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed here for the KLM Open golf, the hotel is good, well positioned for the town, airport and the golf. The food is good and prepared in a kitchen in the middle of the restaurant with the chef's in a goldfish bowl, entertaining as well as good cuisine! A few service breakdowns - safe not working, slow response to Internet not working properly but all corrected in a friendly way. The staff were very helpful and I'd certainly go back if I was in the area again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonSquare, General Manager at Carlton Square Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your response! We are sorry to hear that some ‘breakdowns’ occurred during your stay, however we are happy we could help you with these issues immediately and it did not affect your stay with us.
We hope to welcome you back to our hotel soon!

With kind regards,


Anneke Rompa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

My wife and i were upgraded to an executive room as it was a very special occasion for us and it was to an executive room .
It was fantastic. Very spacious with a full complimentary bar and a bed which you could sleep all day in !
The restaurant is very nice with lots of room between tables and a pleasant atmosphere. Plenty of choice at breakfast.
This Hotel also has its own Pub inside called ` Whisky Mac`. Also a must see.
The only down side is there is only the foyer for sitting around but it did not bother us.
The reservations manager Samantha Crowe made all this possible for us so this hotel really tries to look after you.

Room Tip: Try an Executive room. Its worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonSquare, General Manager at Carlton Square Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Ray,

Thank you for your review, we are pleased to read your anniversary turned out to be a great experience.
Also very nice receiving the email from you after your stay with your appreciation!

With kind regards,


Anneke Rompa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lochgilphead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Lovely Hotel, stayed in a double superior room, which is the lowest rated room. Room was comfy, with mini bar, and air conditioning, and a small balcony, TV and beautiful appointed bathroom. The restaurant was excellent, with great choice , main courses around 20 euro, but this seems average around Haarlem, there was also a cheaper, light meals menu, which was ample as a main course. Seating outside on the terrace was lovely and we enjoyed a couple of meals out here, dining room is also air conditioned for when it is too hot outside. The whisky bar was excellent, and does sell all other alcohol, alongside a huge choice of whiskies. Staff were friendly and extremely helpful, checking transport, events and anything else you wanted to know on internet, and printing it for you spoke in Dutch firstly, then automatically changed to English when they realised we were British. The Hotel is a short walk from the centre, down the pedestrian (and bike!!) street Grote Houtstraat. (Easily reached from airport via No 300 bus leaving from the front of the airport, approx 4 euro's, getting off at stop : Centrum/Verwulft, Haarlem,(constantly updating digital screen on the bus tells you of upcoming and next bus stops and timing, which made it easy for us, having never been there before, this bus become 30N during the night, and does run through the night, we got the bus at 04.20 for the airport for an early flight home. http://9292.nl/en# is excellent for journey planning in and around Amsterdam. Train from Haarlem Station into Amsterdam runs approx. every 5 minutes, and takes approx. 15-20 minutes. All public transport is punctual and runs smoothly. Loved Haarlem, and the Carlton Square Hotel. Remember to watch out for bikes, even in pedestrian area's! Cars stop at lights and the many zebra crossings, Bikes tend to weave in about you, despite designated cycle lanes with their traffic lights. :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonSquare, General Manager at Carlton Square Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Mrs McCuaig,

Thank you for your review! We are pleased to hear the restaurant was excellent. Next month our new menu will be introduced, focused on the autumn season. Hope to see you back soon!

With kind regards,


Anneke Rompa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, AB
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

My husband had a temporary work assignment in Haarlem and found homey comfort at this hotel for 5 weeks in July & Aug. I traveled from Canada & joined him for 4 weeks. The room was clean, spacious and included a refrigerator. The bathroom was comfortable with a separate shower stall and a wonderful soaker tub! The room was efficiently designed and the AC was adequate. The staff was attentive and helpful in resolving some credit card issues. We didn't eat in the restaurant or the Whiskey Bar. Best of all was the location... this hotel is perfectly situated to walk to all parts of this adorable town. Forget about Amsterdam... go to Haarlem and stay at the Carlton... you won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 602, top floor nearest the elevator. It was surprisingly quiet and convenient. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonSquare, General Manager at Carlton Square Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your reply! It was a pleasure having you with us for so many weeks. Please let me know if you have planned to visit our hotel again and we will make sure you will have a memorable stay with us again!

With kind regards,

Anneke Rompa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Well managed hotel with a competent, friendly staff. Full breakfast buffet included in room rate. I found a "3 for 2" special on their site so the room rate was very affordable. Easy walking distance to Market Square and other Haarlem sights. Across the street from a large park and near several residential neighborhoods. Very quiet. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonSquare, General Manager at Carlton Square Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

We look forward to welcome you back to the Carlton Square in the near future!

With kind regards,

Anneke Rompa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Carlton Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Square Hotel

Also Known As:
Carlton Square Haarlem
Hotel Carlton Square
Address: Baan 7, Haarlem 2012 DB, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 hotels in Haarlem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton Square Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carlton Square is an intimate 4-star Haarlem hotel in the heart of the charming city of Haarlem, combining international allure with luxurious ambiance and genuine hospitality. As you walk through the front door of our Haarlem hotel you will immediately feel drawn in by the staff, design and interior. The warmth of the cosy lounge and crackling fire in the hearth instantly give our guests that 'home away from home' feeling.Carlton Square, with 122 hotelrooms, is situated in the heart of the shopping district. Only 10 km from Schiphol International Airport and the Amsterdam RAI Congress Centre, the Carlton Square Hotel is located in Haarlem city centre just off one of the main roads leading to Amsterdam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, HotelsNL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Carlton Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlton Square Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.