We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Carlton has that European Class about it.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carlton Square Hotel

Save Saved
You added Carlton Square Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Carlton Square Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Baan 7, 2012 DB Haarlem, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Haarlem
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“The Carlton has that European Class about it.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

This is a wonderful hotel and the staff aims to please. After returning from breakfast the housekeepers had already straightened our room. Last night while at dinner we asked our waiter directions and he returned to the table with an Internet print out with detailed directions. He also brought information about one of the old cathedrals we asked about. This is a great location because it is within walking distance of downtown but far enough away not to hear all the noise of the night life. Today we are off to visit the city market and The Hiding Place.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonSquare, General Manager at Carlton Square Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review. We are very pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
Our staff does aim to please and will try and help our guests as best they can.

We hope to welcome you back to the Carlton quare in the near future!

With kind regards,

Anneke Rompa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    119
    33
    5
    4
See reviews for
18
120
5
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Carlton Square Hotel is very close to the shopping street, supermarkets, bus stops, and restaurants. The location is very central. The room was clean and classy. The staff were cordial and very helpful. They even explained to us the city map and recommended some nice restaurants. The buffet breakfast was a good way to jumpstart our day.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonSquare, General Manager at Carlton Square Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback, we hope to welcome you back soon!

With kind regards,

Anneke Rompa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

First stayed in the Carlton over 20 years ago and still happy to stay there. Some of the bathrooms are a little tired but overall the rooms are large and the beds very comfortable.
What puts it above other hotels is the staff - nothing is too much trouble and the personal service is superb. Where hotel training now is towards efficiency and professionalism the Carlton proves you can combine this with genuine hospitality and service. Their restaurant is as fine as you will find and the Whisky bar is not to be missed. Thanks to all who made our stay this week so memorable.

Room Tip: If you're a smoker ask for a room with a small balcony eg Rm 301
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonSquare, General Manager at Carlton Square Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your nice review, we are very pleased that you still prefer to stay at the Carlton Square after all these years!
Most of our rooms have been renovated in the past 3 years and we are sorry to see that you stayed in one of our few non renovated rooms.

We look forward to welcome you back to our hotel in the very near future!

With kind regards,

Anneke Rompa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

This is a very clean hotel, nicely decorated, the room has everything you need. Haarlem is a very nice, small town. I dedicated one day just to walk its lovely streets. But I wanted to spend more time in Amsterdam and Haarlem was much cheaper.
The hotel is at the other end of town from the train station and when you come back, extremely tired, walking for 25 minutes is not ideal, but nothing a taxi can't fix.
The 300 bus brings you from the airport and stops a few minutes from the hotel, we didn't know this and walk for a while until we find it. I can't remember the name of the station, but it would be good if you ask the hotel where to stop.
All in all, a good choice if you can't afford Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Ask them if you want double or twin at the check in, they gave me and my sister a double!!! I didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonSquare, General Manager at Carlton Square Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. Our hotel is situated close to Amsterdam indeed, only 15 minutes by train.
The bus stop you are referring to is just around the corner of the hotel and is called 'Tempelierstraat' and almost every bus departing from the Haarlem train station stops here.

With kind regards,

Anneke Rompa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Conveniently located for the centre of town – it’s not directly in the old town, but no more than a 10 minute walk away … Haarlem is not that big!
I booked a junior suite which I thought was a good price at 149 Euros, and it all looked good on the website.
It was a dingy room (108) on the first floor and the small window looked out onto an enclosed yard below that was used as occasional parking for – I presume – people working in the conference centre wing of the hotel that runs down one side of the building. As the room was on the first floor and the surrounding buildings were at least four stories high, the window let in very limited light, so the whole space seemed rather claustrophobic.
There was a bit of a black and gold theme going on in the room, which was okay, but the gold swirls on a the black carpet were a bit full-on – and not something you’d want to negotiate with after a few drinks!!!
The large bed was set back a half step up in the corner of the room and this was very comfortable.
There was a reasonably large desk area, mini-bar / fridge and a sofa and two armchairs around a coffee table behind the desk area. It wasn’t huge, but there was just about enough room to be able to claim ‘suite’ status. It was the fact that not much light came in that made it all feel a lot more enclosed.
The lights were obviously chosen by someone who’s into kitsch accessories – and has a sense of humour - silver chrome stands, dripping with cheap mock-crystal glass dangly bits! They grew on me after a while … and they kind of worked in context of the interior design, which is not my taste …. But I could certainly live with it for a few days.
The bathroom was small, black and white, in my opinion a snappier design than the actual room, small, but you had everything you needed in there and decent toiletries.
The WIFI was excellent 300+ Kbs upload speed – and it was free! YIPPEE!!!
These is a large restaurant downstairs and a Whisky Bar – neither of which I had time to investigate. The décor in the public spaces was a little off-putting to a style geek like me – lots of busy, colour-clashing carpets and cheap looking wood – and the checkout took a while because there was only one person on the desk at the time.
However, after my previous disastrous hotel experience in Haarlem, this was a distinct improvement!
I would stay there again and I’d also recommend it to others, but I would want a lighter room and definitely not one on back-side of the corridors! I am sure that they have nicer, lighter rooms … and of course, now I have the hindsight of experience!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonSquare, General Manager at Carlton Square Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you very much for your review!
We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, but we are sorry to read you were not completely satisfied about your Junior Suite. We do have lighter rooms indeed, but the rooms at the back of our hotel are more quiet. We hope to see you back in the Carlton Square!

Kind regards,

Anneke Rompa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights to celebrate our 1 year wedding anniversary. We arrived at the hotel about 10.30am and the receptionist allowed us to check in early. The room wasn't at all what I expected after booking a superior double with a queen size bed. It was very basic and dated, smelt very damp and musky, the bath suite was very old, from the window we could just see into a office block- so I'm sure they could see us! And the bed was definitely not a queen size or a superior room, although when asking at reception I was assured that it was, not romantic at all! But reading other reviews I assume they have nicer rooms. We were offer an upgrade for extra 108euros a night- the hotel wasn't busy at all so I'm sure they could have given us a better offer.
We then headed down to the resturant to grab some breakfast which had all ready finished but we were able to have something from the lunch menu, the food and service was very good. Although we did think it was strange when the waitress took my husbands pot of coffee away, and put it on another couples table- couldn't have been alot left and very cold for them!
It cost over 30euros for a burger and chips, fried egg on toast, glass of water and half a pot of coffee.
We spent most of our time out of the hotel exploring the town and travelling into amsterdam, but we did venture into The whiskey bar- which my husband thought was very impressive- with the large range of whiskeys they had to offer. Also the bartender was very very nice and chatty.
On the day of checkout I felt as though we were being rushed. The cleaners were banging and Hoover outside our door at about 8am-when it woke me, then knocked and just entered twice in the space of half hour so I had to quickly run to the door each time. I thought surely they could have found out at reception whether we had checked out especially since check out wasn't until 12!
When we got to reception the lady was quite blunt, we were signing our bill when she started serving someone else behind us, so we sort of stood their like lemons until my husband said our we done then??
We were allowed to leave our cases at reception for the whole day and use the toilet downstairs to freshen up- probery the modernist place in the hotel. Although 2 out of 3 of the toilets didn't have any loo roll and didn't look like it has been cleaned our stocked up on anything else for a few days.
Apart from that the hotel was very easy to find and very close to the centre of Haarlem. A good place to keep warm and put your head down after a day of exploring.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonSquare, General Manager at Carlton Square Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear guest,

We are very sorry to see that your stay was not up to the standard you would expect from us.

Our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you have experienced and we would kindly like to offer you a new stay with us free of charge.

Please be so kind as to contact us to make this reservation.

With kind regards,


Anneke Rompa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Stayed at the Carlton whilst on business in Haarlem.
Breakfast was OK, but best part was the Whiskey Bar. Very capable staff, diverse range of whiskey, would certainly stay at the Carlton again if in the area. 10/10 for the Whiskey Bar.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carlton Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Square Hotel

Address: Baan 7, 2012 DB Haarlem, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Haarlem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton Square Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carlton Square is an intimate 4-star Haarlem hotel in the heart of the charming city of Haarlem, combining international allure with luxurious ambiance and genuine hospitality. As you walk through the front door of our Haarlem hotel you will immediately feel drawn in by the staff, design and interior. The warmth of the cosy lounge and crackling fire in the hearth instantly give our guests that 'home away from home' feeling.Carlton Square, with 122 hotelrooms, is situated in the heart of the shopping district. Only 10 km from Schiphol International Airport and the Amsterdam RAI Congress Centre, the Carlton Square Hotel is located in Haarlem city centre just off one of the main roads leading to Amsterdam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Odigeo, Hotel.de and Otel so you can book your Carlton Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Square Haarlem
Hotel Carlton Square

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlton Square Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.