We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long comfortable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carlton Square Hotel

Save Saved
You added Carlton Square Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Carlton Square Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Baan 7, 2012 DB Haarlem, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 hotels in Haarlem
Wollongong, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Long comfortable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

My wife and I stayed here on and off for the 10 weeks we were in Holland. I was working nearby so I wanted a hotel close to shops and amenities to keep my wife entertained. This hotel is very comfortable and close to old Haarlem.

The breakfast was hearty, but no egg station so you had scrambled or hard boiled as your choice. The rest was excellent though. The restaurant for and evening meal was limited, but there are so many great restaurants in the city you are spoilt for choice.

The rooms are good, but a little aged. We managed to get a suite room for the last stay which was great. However the whole time we stayed in the hotel the A/C was not working, save the very last night. So the rooms were often stuffy even ion a cold day. We left the window open most nights just to sleep comfortably.

The Whisky bar is great with friendly staff (thanks Jan) and the reception staff were also great, and recognised us by name every day (not sure if that is a good thing??)

The Netherlands is such a great country and Haarlem is a great alternative to Amsterdam. There is the culture and typical Dutch city without the crowds or prices, and still only 20-30 minutes drive from central Amsterdam, or a 15 minute train or 30 minute ferry ride from IJmuiden.

Parking is available but not run by the hotel. If you are there for more than 2-3 days, get a weekly ticket for 50 Euro, and you can come and go as often as you like in that week. Careful though the office EFTPOS machines did not accept my credit cards, although the casual parking machine 50 meters away did, and it is run by the same company. Parking on Thursday night is a competition, and the nightly parking rate starts at 9pm instead of 7pm as on other nights.

Overall a good hotel, although there are finer appointed hotels in the city or cheaper one, this one is very central.

Room Tip: Look on the internet for deals and negotiate for a better room at the same price
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    79
    115
    27
    4
    4
See reviews for
16
106
4
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Hotel is pretty good. Our ac in the room wasn't working and we got moved to another room when we complained. Breakfast is expensive but not bad. The location isn't ideal but only about 10 minute walk from the main square. Staff are on the ball and deal with any issues really well.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

Had no complaints with this hotel. Stayed over August bank holiday. Rooms were spacious, very clean and tidy and a decent size.

Situated on the outer part of the centre in Haarlem it was a five minute walk to the main square and plenty of bars and restaurants within easy walking distance. Was nice to stay out of the centre of Amsterdam and see another part of the country. Very laid back and picturesque.

We didn't eat at the restaurant but did order room service which was tasty.

All the staff were very polite and helpful. A great base for a few days.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grangemouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Excellent hotel in Haarlem. Staff were helpful and polite and spoke perfect English. Room was spotlessly clean and a good size (we were in a "Superior" room). Great shower in the bathroom, better than mine at home!! Breakfast had everything you could think of - continental, Dutch or English, fruit, pasties, etc. Location - was close to the main shopping streets and restaurants. Haarlem is a lovely place and well worth visiting instead of Amsterdam for a change.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We spent 3 nights at Carlton Square and found the rooms to be quite comfortable, the staff to be responsive, helpful and friendly and the breakfasts to be quite good. It was a very good value, especially in comparison to staying in an Amsterdam hotel, and it was a much more laid back experience. Everything was within walking distance and the room was quiet, even though there was some construction going on nearby. The manager was very approachable and personable.

A great experience overall and the highlight of our Netherlands trip.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
122 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

I spent 2 nights here whilst on business in the area. The hotel is spacious and in a convenient location to open spaces, the town centre and the train station, whichare all within walking distance.
Check in and check out were ok. There is a spacious restaurant where I ate breakfast and evening meals, the food and service were good.
This is a fairly standard business hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Carlton Square gets the positive reviews from the "package deals" customers, who mostly come during the weekends. It is a business hotel during the week and since the expenses are paid by the company, not many will write a review.
All the Carlton hotels in Holland have the rating of 5 Stars. I have no idea how hotels get their Stars in Holland.
I stayed 7 days in the hotel, overall a nice experience, mostly because I visited my Home Country after so many years. During my long stay I witnessed a lot of shortcomings in the hotel. I wrote them all down for them and the lady from the reception said I would hear from the management because they love the feed back from customers. Never heard back.

Room Tip: Renovation next door until who knows, ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Carlton Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Square Hotel

Address: Baan 7, 2012 DB Haarlem, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 hotels in Haarlem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton Square Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carlton Square is an intimate 4-star Haarlem hotel in the heart of the charming city of Haarlem, combining international allure with luxurious ambiance and genuine hospitality. As you walk through the front door of our Haarlem hotel you will immediately feel drawn in by the staff, design and interior. The warmth of the cosy lounge and crackling fire in the hearth instantly give our guests that 'home away from home' feeling.Carlton Square, with 122 hotelrooms, is situated in the heart of the shopping district. Only 10 km from Schiphol International Airport and the Amsterdam RAI Congress Centre, the Carlton Square Hotel is located in Haarlem city centre just off one of the main roads leading to Amsterdam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Carlton Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Square Haarlem
Hotel Carlton Square

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlton Square Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.