We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightful tour” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Molen De Adriaan Museum

Molen De Adriaan Museum
Papentorenvest 1a, 2011 AV, Haarlem, The Netherlands
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 34 things to do in Haarlem
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A delightful tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We truly enjoyed our tour of the Molen De Adriaan Museum! We visited on a weekday and had a guide all to ourselves. I would assume that they are busier during weekends. Unfortunately, we did not get to actually see the wings turning - apparently that happens usually on weekends.

The tour begins with a short video and then proceeds up the stairs and into the windmill, stopping on many levels as the guide explains the physical workings of the windmill and the jobs of the people who worked there. The original windmill was destroyed by a fire - the one you see is a reconstruction, but is a complete and working reconstruction. As a result of its newer construction it is quite clean inside (we understand some of the old ones are dusty and loaded with cobwebs).
During one of the final stops inside the windmill, you are taken to a room full of beautifully made wooden models showing the inner workings of many different types of Dutch windmills.

Our guide was very knowledgeable and always willing to answer questions. In addition, from a high vantage point, she gave us a visual tour of Haarlem and its history!

There are MANY stairs - get your climbing legs on and prepare for a delightful tour!

Visited October 2013
3 Thank Doctortwirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing value for a truly informative visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

We were the first visitors yesterday, and had the personal attention of one of the volunteers (I didn't get her name), who spent nearly an hour of her time walking us around the windmill, explaining everything and answering questions. Superb! We didn't just get how a windmill works, but the place of the molen in Dutch history & culture. The mill itself is fascinating, and in working order; the models & displays are all excellent. Highly recommended!

Visited October 2013
1 Thank Rajbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Finally I know what all these windmills are about!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

This was a great museum/ attraction. You watch a (very bad) short film, which doesn't really give you faith in the rest of the visit, but that is all put to rights when you get the tour. A volunteer miller will take you up the stairs and explain at each level what was done there, what the mill did, will give you small snippets of history of mills, how mills worked, until finally you are at the very top and on the gallery looking out over Haarlem. Everyone loved it!

My Gran has bad knees and did find the stairs a little hard going. There are a lot of narrow staircases, no lifts, and the tour will take you to the very top. Just something to bare in mind if you have someone a little unsteady on their feet in the group.

Visited September 2013
1 Thank Rustylou63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
130 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Excellent attraction”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Working windmill with tour given by enthusiastic volunteers. Should be better known; we were the only ones on our tour. Learn about history and workmanship of windmills. I learned they were used in the Nazi occupation to send coded messages about German movements using the position of the blades. The next windmill down the line repeated the code, continuing for many miles.

Visited June 2013
Thank BronxSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
118 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Why is the Windmill on top of a Building”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

This is one of the many questions that will be answered when you visit this museum. This is one of a handful of windmills still existing in the Haarlem area. There was at one time over 200 in this area. The Dutch did not have coal to mine so they mined the wind. One always thinks of windmills as grinding flour, only partially true. They were used like a steam engine and they did all the needed tasks that were needed during the industrial revolution. The Adriaan shows how the mills worked and walking through the mill will give you a good idea what it was like to operate one.

Visited December 2012
2 Thank bikeontheroof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Molen De Adriaan Museum also viewed

Haarlem, North Holland Province
Haarlem, North Holland Province
Haarlem, North Holland Province
Haarlem, North Holland Province

Been to Molen De Adriaan Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing