We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finally I know what all these windmills are about!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Molen De Adriaan Museum

Molen De Adriaan Museum
Papentorenvest 1a, 2011 AV, Haarlem, The Netherlands
023-5450259
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 14 Attractions in Haarlem
Type: Architectural Buildings, Historic Sites, Landmarks
Attraction details
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Finally I know what all these windmills are about!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

This was a great museum/ attraction. You watch a (very bad) short film, which doesn't really give you faith in the rest of the visit, but that is all put to rights when you get the tour. A volunteer miller will take you up the stairs and explain at each level what was done there, what the mill did, will give you small snippets of history of mills, how mills worked, until finally you are at the very top and on the gallery looking out over Haarlem. Everyone loved it!

My Gran has bad knees and did find the stairs a little hard going. There are a lot of narrow staircases, no lifts, and the tour will take you to the very top. Just something to bare in mind if you have someone a little unsteady on their feet in the group.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    19
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Excellent attraction”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Working windmill with tour given by enthusiastic volunteers. Should be better known; we were the only ones on our tour. Learn about history and workmanship of windmills. I learned they were used in the Nazi occupation to send coded messages about German movements using the position of the blades. The next windmill down the line repeated the code, continuing for many miles.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Why is the Windmill on top of a Building”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

This is one of the many questions that will be answered when you visit this museum. This is one of a handful of windmills still existing in the Haarlem area. There was at one time over 200 in this area. The Dutch did not have coal to mine so they mined the wind. One always thinks of windmills as grinding flour, only partially true. They were used like a steam engine and they did all the needed tasks that were needed during the industrial revolution. The Adriaan shows how the mills worked and walking through the mill will give you a good idea what it was like to operate one.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Great tourist attraction”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Full tour of the windmill by a very informed, interesting, multilingual guide.

Fantastic models of the workings of the windmill. Great views from the top.

Tour lasted around 40 minutes. Well worth a visit if you go to Haarlem.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Interesting tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Our family of four, plus just another couple, were given a guided tour of the windmill. The guide explained the mechanisms inside and outside, and the three purposes for which the windmill was used over the years. There was also a nice view of the city along the way. As a bonus, while we were on the outdoor deck we got to see the nearby rotating bridge open and several ships pass through. This low-key tour was well worth the three euro admission.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Molen De Adriaan Museum also viewed

Haarlem, North Holland Province
Haarlem, North Holland Province
 
Haarlem, North Holland Province
Haarlem, North Holland Province
 

Been to Molen De Adriaan Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Molen De Adriaan Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.