We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good quality , reasonable prices, excellent surprise menu!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Hout

Restaurant Hout
Wagenweg 214 | Wagenweg 214, 2012 NM Haarlem, The Netherlands
235516358
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 200 Restaurants in Haarlem
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The restaurant has only been there for maybe 2-3 years. The site itself is in Dutch and reservations can be made through seatme.nl
Heemstede, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Very good quality , reasonable prices, excellent surprise menu!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The service was excellent and we had a suprise menu that was really very special. The envirnemnt is good and the vieuw to the park, de Hout, is marvellous. We were with 8 friends all where very pleased also the ones who ordered another type of food. we had 3 courses all of a good taste and surpising as they say.Wines where in good balance with the menu.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    12
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, Virginia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Excellent Easter Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My family and I had Easter lunch here during our visit to the Netherlands. The waiter suggested the 2 course "suprise" menu and asked us if there were any foods we did not eat. He also suggested a wine pairing for each course. We're so glad we took his suggestions, the food and wine were excellent! We started with an appetizer of catfish mouse wrapped in smoked eel. Although I never would have ordered this myself, it was amazing! The starter was chicken on risotto, another excellent selection. The wines that were paired with each course really complimented the meal.

We saved room for desert and were so glad we did. The desert was a Grand Marnier creme brule which was outstanding as well.

We will definately be returning on our next visit to Haarlem.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice food,unfortunately limited service!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

After reading multiple positive reviews we decided to give Hout A try, and had a "late seating" dinner there last friday!
The Atmosphere is good ,although we felt a little cramped up by the set up in the restaurant,there is barely room between the tables to walk.
The menu is pretty straightforward with a few nice surprises!The food tasted great although some plates looked a bit chaotic/messy.
The have small but decent wine selection to accompany the food.
The service level is the part where it goes wrong,only 2 people dedicated on at least 50 couverts downstairs(they also have seating on the first floor!)
We had to wait multiple times to order additional drinks or side orders.
At the end of the evening it was getting better,probably because it was getting less crowded.
Great food but lack of service is disappointing,definitely something to improve!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Super food, have to come back to taste more.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

Me and my wife visited your using a Group on offer. We ate a 4 course menu for 55 Euro's all together. (1 glass of win, 1 bottle of sparkling water and 1 espresso).

All the dishes were very well made. There was such a nice balance in the ingredients. The wine they served accompanied the dishes well. Size of dishes was big, but enough for a good taste.

Personnel was kind and professional, though they were a bit understaffed. The environment of the restaurant is the Park. We definitely need to come back to try the atmosphere in the Summer.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“The secret of Haarlem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

This review is a summery of 5 dinners I had in this restaurant. What you can expect here is really friendly service and good knowledge from the staff about the dishes on the menu. The food is International / French and now and then there is some humor in it like a small tube with cola taste on the rim of your plate. Asian tastes are also on the menu.
If you know your wines you can find a bottle on the wine list you like relatively easy but it is not the most accessable list I have seen. Try the dishes who sound unfamiliar and you will not be disappointed, not because of the pure tastes, and not because of the price. A menu is € 30,- and when you choose to be vegetarian you will be spoiled for choice.
This restaurant is perfect for al fresco dining if (of course) the weather is good!

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Hout also viewed

Haarlem, North Holland Province
Haarlem, North Holland Province
 
Haarlem, North Holland Province
Haarlem, North Holland Province
 

Been to Restaurant Hout? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Hout, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.