We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb art superbly presented in an intersting building” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Frans Hals Museum

Frans Hals Museum
Groot Heiligland 62, Haarlem, The Netherlands (Centrum)
023-5115775
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #2 of 14 Attractions in Haarlem
Type: Art Museums
Activities: City walk sightseeing
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This small museum focuses on the works of Frans Hals, 17th-century portrait painter.
Glos, UK
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Superb art superbly presented in an intersting building”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Fascinating alms house in Haarlem. Lots of superb art, especially the still lifes. Still with original brick floors and leather wall coverings and other artifacts, and all the old clocks were going and struck on the hour. Very comfortable atmosphere in the museum, very enjoyable way to view art.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    59
    11
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Makes you smile on a rainy day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This is a very nice, well organized and informative exhibition showing the old master's painting in a relation with his contemporaries. The building itself also worth the visit.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upland, California, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Enjoyable art museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Knew very little about Hals before we visited and now we feel like experts! We had purchased the Netherlands Museum pass, so we decided to take a quick trip inside. We ended up spending more time than we thought we would. Glad we didn't miss it.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“One of the great small museums of the world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Two hours will do it if you must, but come here to see why Frans Hals is rated by many Holland's greatest painter. If you disagree, look again at Hals's faces; They are as wonderfully painted as Rembrandt's but show more individual character, Lots of supporting art to put Hals in a rich context. Nicely laid out, well lit, altogether an up-to-date museum.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Top Contributor
270 reviews 270 reviews
189 attraction reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
“The great Frans Hals and" nightwatch"!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

I grew up with a picture of the Laughing Cavalier on our lounge room wall. This picture is not on show here, rather it is in London as the centrepiece of the Wallace collection. I was disappointed at first but then mellowed as I took in the wonderful collection before me.
I had no idea of the size of his "Nightwatch" painting and drawn by the crowds I discovered the work on display with two guardians hovering. This is necessary now as a nutter took a swipe at the masterpiece with a blade and caused some minor damage.
We caught a train from Amsterdam, about 30 minutes and then walked to Groot Heligigland to find the museum.
If you are visiting Amsterdam, make the effort and go to Haarlem and take in the beautiful works by Frans Hals.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frans Hals Museum also viewed

Haarlem, North Holland Province
Haarlem, North Holland Province
 
Haarlem, North Holland Province
Haarlem, North Holland Province
 

Been to Frans Hals Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frans Hals Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.