We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Now in our top five of museums and painters!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Frans Hals Museum

Frans Hals Museum
Groot Heiligland 62, Haarlem, The Netherlands (Centrum)
023-5115775
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Skip the Line
$47*
and up
Skip the Line: Amsterdam and Holland Pass
Ranked #3 of 30 Attractions in Haarlem
Activities: City walk sightseeing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This small museum focuses on the works of Frans Hals, 17th-century portrait painter.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Now in our top five of museums and painters!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

What a delight. Incredible building and history, delightful info on frans hals. Excellent 16 minute video i hope they keep showing forever as the museum does not itself have that many of his paintings, really, and they are not collected in one room. Just the right size. Not crowded when we were there. Go!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    80
    16
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
260 reviews 260 reviews
77 attraction reviews
Reviews in 199 cities Reviews in 199 cities
198 helpful votes 198 helpful votes
“Famous Militia paintings and more in nice museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

The museum is housed in the former Oude Mannenhuis (Old mens house) in a street called Groot Heiligland. (Great Holy Land). There is a special bus stop, conveniently named Frans Hals Museum, around the corner on a 5 minute walk. (August 2013, bus 3 from Central station)

The major attractions of course are the large paintings of the lively Banquets of the Officers of Militia of the 17th century. They are on display in a large room with a dining table in the middle with the food of the 17th century on display. This makes an interesting combination: the dining on the paintings and the life size model of a dining table in front of the paintings.

At the entrance of the museum is a large video wall with the story of Frans Hals and the evolution of his work. When I visited the narration was in Dutch only. Maybe ask at the front desk if any other language is available too.

Besides the Militia paintings there are the very lively portraits made by Frans Hals. Some are double portraits of married couples, on separate panels, the man on the left panel, his wife at his right.

The most beautiful Frans Hals painting in my opinion, the only one where he portrayed a couple on a single canvas, is on display in the Rijksmuseum in Amsterdam (Couple in a garden: Wedding portrait of Isaac Abrahamsz. Massa and Beatrix van der Laan) Check that out when you are in the Rijksmuseum.

Other parts of the museum have fine paintings, some beautiful style rooms and interesting artefacts like 17th century furniture (clocks, chairs and chests). A separate room has a large dolls house.

Part of the museum has changing exhibitions on various themes. Check the museum’s website for details.

There is a small café for some drinks and light meals and a nice souvenir shop.

The area around the museum is very interesting to walk with centuries old small alleyways. It’s an easy, short walk to the central market with the St.Bavo Church and other museums.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
75 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Frans Hals Museum exhibition Eye to Eye with Rembrandt, Rubens and Titian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We went to Harlem by train from Amsterdam, which takes only 20 minutes.
At Harlem we walked through the lovely town and got to the house that holds the Frans Hals exhibition. We were lucky that visited the exhibition that was from 23.3.2013 to 28.7 2013.
The exhibition showed the works of Hals and comparing to famous predecessors and contemporaries among them Titian, Rembrandt, Rubens, Van Dyck and Jordaens.
It was a great experience that was enjoy mainly due to a good free audio tour.
It is a good museum to be visit at any time.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
236 reviews 236 reviews
167 attraction reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“Good museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

There was a special exhibition of Hals paintings from other museums at the time of our visit so we had a bonus. But their permanent collection is very good by itself, especially the room with famous group portraits of guild and town officers.
The staff were very accommodating. Because of the special exhibition an extra payment was required in addition to our Holland Pass ticket, and somehow they did not take a credit card for that, and since it was our last day in Holland, we had just a few euros in cash left. They rushed us to the museum store and the transaction thru their credit card register

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Really got a strong sense of Frans Hals as an artist.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I can't say I really knew much about Frans Hals before going to the museum, but I really enjoyed looking at his paintings, of which this city-owned museum owns an extensive collection. The audio guide is available in English, and though the recordings are not that lengthy, they do a decent job of placing Hals in a time and place. The building itself, built as an old age home, is very beautiful with nicely-scaled galleries and a lovely courtyard. The museum is a bit of a walk from the main town square of Haarlem, but worth seeking out.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frans Hals Museum also viewed

Haarlem, North Holland Province
Haarlem, North Holland Province
 
Haarlem, North Holland Province
Haarlem, North Holland Province
 

Been to Frans Hals Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frans Hals Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.