We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best fish restaurant I ever visited” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vis & Ko

Vis & Ko
Spaarne 96, Haarlem, The Netherlands
00315127990
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 181 Restaurants in Haarlem
Price range: $55 - $81
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Vis en Ko is a top-class fish restaurant set in a grand French-style building. The great expertise of the sommelier make you want to taste the wines even more.
Overveen, The Netherlands
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best fish restaurant I ever visited”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

The chef of Visenko has several decades of experience in serving exquisit fish menues. I visited his starred restaurant in IJmuiden some twenty years ago and was delighted by his scallops. Much to my happiness I discovered his new restaurant this may in Haarlem, only to find his scallops even more delicate! Visenko serves either menues, or a series of small dishes. Some of them are really surprising. Eg his 'fish and chips'. Served -as it should- in a newspaper bag, and the best you'll ever have!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    21
    8
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Zandvoort, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Just try it!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Delicious and waste of time NOT going there.....atmosphere is great and so is the food. It was really great to eat there...............Go!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heemstede, The Netherlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food, great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

For those who love to eat fish, this is the place to be. Every dish is a surprise. Located in the old center of Haarlem, by the canal, it is also a pleasure to go for a walk after dinner.
They served a great set of fine wines too. I would definitely recommend this place to fishlovers.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Misgav
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Pleasant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Pleasant place to eat lunch - the portions were a little on the small side - food was well presented

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Worth a detour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I don't give easily a 5 star review but in this case, I feel compelled to do it.
- Location: in Haarlem downtown, close to a river and walking distance from most museums.
- Premises : Old building, but entirely renovated. Open kitchen, but no noise or odors.
- Staff: all young, but surprisingly very professional.

Now about our dinner. We were a party of 4.
We had a 3 course prix fixe menu (Euros 42).
At lunch time, the menu is Euros 38. On the menu, there are also small portions à la carte, mostly comprised in a range Euros 6-12.

What we had:
- Starters. Tuna with greens and yoghourt. Coquilles St Jacques. Bouillabaisse.
All three dishes were excellent. The bouillabaisse was not exactly a Marseille bouillabaisse, and more like enhanced fish soup, but it was really outstanding, with fresh ingredients.

- Entrées. Halibut with smoked eel & sabayon crême of peas. Absolutely no glitch.

- Desserts. Panacota marinated with sabayon of strawberries. Fresh and delicious.

Each dish was a discovery. Staff was efficient, friendly, always on time but no pressure to hurry.

Where I would give a 3 star only is the wine list, somewhat overpriced.

I will definitely go back, when in the area.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vis & Ko also viewed

Haarlem, North Holland Province
Haarlem, North Holland Province
 
Haarlem, North Holland Province
Haarlem, North Holland Province
 

Been to Vis & Ko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vis & Ko, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.