We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top 2 restaurants in Haarlem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vis & Ko

Vis & Ko
Spaarne 96, Haarlem, The Netherlands
00315127990
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 226 Restaurants in Haarlem
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $55 - $81
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Vis en Ko is a top-class fish restaurant set in a grand French-style building. The great expertise of the sommelier make you want to taste the wines even more.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Top 2 restaurants in Haarlem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Lambermons has always been our favourite in Haarlem. Finding good restaurants in Haarlem can be a challenge, after all we are spoilt by the choices in Maastricht, where we used to live.

We have tried several recommended "good" restaurants in Haarlem, only to return to Lambermons. Although the last experience in Lambermons made us wonder if the chef was trying a little TOO HARD, too many elements in a dish. However, we enjoyed every visit to Lambermons.

Finally we had visited Vis & Ko last night. I had read some reviews of the restaurant and I have to agree to some that the taste is a little too subtle. However, my partner was very satisfied with all of the dishes. We had a 5 course meal, exchanging the smoked salmon for langoustine and lobster (from the "a la carte" menu).

The food (although a little too subtle for my taste) were well prepared and nicely thought out for without trying too hard to impress. Not at michelin level (that's why they didn't get one yet!) but we would certainly return. Serious eating out in Haarlem would be between Lambermons, Vis & Ko until we try out Truffles and Noor (which were highly recommended "online"). Spektakels did not do well enough for us to want to spend money again with them.

It's quite odd to read about the bad services at Vis&Ko, we had superb service from the young attendants, most of them speak good English.

WINE: The wine is generally above average (my partner had pairing for 5 course) but the pairing with the more "powerful" dishes were not ideal. Fresh sauvignon blanc (though mixed with some chardonnay) was still not enough to handle dish with soy sauce.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    39
    11
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
115 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Bit of a disappointment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

With high expectations we entered the nice venue in downtown historic haarlem. Choose the 5 course menu (4 fish and a desert) and had to conclude that the desert was the most interesting dish. a bit weird for a fish restaurant. service was kind but very amateuristic. forgetting the wine, forgetting to call the taxi, putting unasked for drinks on the table and add them to the bill and some other minor flaws. if the food had been inspiring, this would all have been charming, but with mediocre dishes and a pretty high bill, it became irritable. won't see us again at this place.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BUITENKAAG
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“a vibrant, culinary experience in a great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Personal, unrushed service, relaxed yet vibrant atmosphere, open kitchen where one can watch the professional chefs at work, refined and defined flavours in the menu. I am very much looking forward to a return visit!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
91 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Bad Service...Mediocre food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

So disappointed...4 of us, One Italian, One French, Two Americans....all that know good food, restaurants and service. The restaurant has some beautiful details. We were greeted warmly when we arrived and form there it went downhill. The food seriously was nothing special....the wait between courses was ridiculous. After finishing our main course, our plates sat empty for over 20 minutes, before we had to get up from the table and ask them to please help us. Nobody asked how our meal was, they did not check our water or wine...we would have ordered more of each. We were going to leave without our dessert, but they then managed to bring that rather quickly. The dessert - a sort of pear tart with cinnamon ice cream was divine. Nice finish, but we will never go back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilburg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
48 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Very nice food in a good atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We choose for a 4 course menu + desert. Added to this we had a matching wine menu, two drinks as an aperitive, two bottles of water and two coffees. The total bill amounted to 218 Euro's.
Vis & Ko serve very good food (8/10) based - fish cuisine. The meals were sufficiently large to more than satisfy our needs - we are normal-moderate eaters. The accompanying wines were fine but not very good (7/10). Here Vis & Ko could really do themselves a favour and some real room for improvement. All in all we found the price a bit steep. Nevertheless we really enjoyed the dinner in a very nice atmosphere - excellent service and very friendly staff.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vis & Ko also viewed

Haarlem, North Holland Province
Haarlem, North Holland Province
 
Haarlem, North Holland Province
Haarlem, North Holland Province
 

Been to Vis & Ko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vis & Ko, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.