We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a vibrant, culinary experience in a great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vis & Ko

Vis & Ko
Spaarne 96, Haarlem, The Netherlands
00315127990
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 226 Restaurants in Haarlem
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $55 - $81
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Vis en Ko is a top-class fish restaurant set in a grand French-style building. The great expertise of the sommelier make you want to taste the wines even more.
BUITENKAAG
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“a vibrant, culinary experience in a great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Personal, unrushed service, relaxed yet vibrant atmosphere, open kitchen where one can watch the professional chefs at work, refined and defined flavours in the menu. I am very much looking forward to a return visit!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    39
    11
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
91 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Bad Service...Mediocre food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

So disappointed...4 of us, One Italian, One French, Two Americans....all that know good food, restaurants and service. The restaurant has some beautiful details. We were greeted warmly when we arrived and form there it went downhill. The food seriously was nothing special....the wait between courses was ridiculous. After finishing our main course, our plates sat empty for over 20 minutes, before we had to get up from the table and ask them to please help us. Nobody asked how our meal was, they did not check our water or wine...we would have ordered more of each. We were going to leave without our dessert, but they then managed to bring that rather quickly. The dessert - a sort of pear tart with cinnamon ice cream was divine. Nice finish, but we will never go back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilburg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
48 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Very nice food in a good atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We choose for a 4 course menu + desert. Added to this we had a matching wine menu, two drinks as an aperitive, two bottles of water and two coffees. The total bill amounted to 218 Euro's.
Vis & Ko serve very good food (8/10) based - fish cuisine. The meals were sufficiently large to more than satisfy our needs - we are normal-moderate eaters. The accompanying wines were fine but not very good (7/10). Here Vis & Ko could really do themselves a favour and some real room for improvement. All in all we found the price a bit steep. Nevertheless we really enjoyed the dinner in a very nice atmosphere - excellent service and very friendly staff.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santpoort-Noord, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
83 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Disapointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

This should be the best pace in Haarlem, but we had a very bad experience. It started that our resevation did not come through, we had to wait. The staff is not professional, look they arrived directlyfrom school. The chef did not look interested, and behaved angry to his employees, and the food was so, so. Nothing special, haarlem has much better places!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Maybe too subtle for me”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Never been there, so came with high expectations. Everything well prepared and well cooked, but did lack the 'wow'-factor (4 courses with wine accomplishment, apperetive and coffee €105 per person). Had hoped for more pronounced flavors, but maybe it was all too subtle for me. The wine was nice, but not more than that. Not competing in flavors with the food.
Young staff provided good service, after a slow start, but still looking for the right balance between formal and informal.
Overall, all good food (a lot can go wrong with fish) and service but not exciting with upper market prices.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vis & Ko also viewed

Haarlem, North Holland Province
Haarlem, North Holland Province
 
Haarlem, North Holland Province
Haarlem, North Holland Province
 

Been to Vis & Ko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vis & Ko, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.