We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Service...Mediocre food”
Review of Vis & Ko

Spaarne 96, Haarlem, The Netherlands
00315127990
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #3 of 163 restaurants in Haarlem
Certificate of Excellence 2013
Price range: $55 - $81
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Vis en Ko is a top-class fish restaurant set in a grand French-style building. The great expertise of the sommelier make you want to taste the wines even more.
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Vis en Ko is a top-class fish restaurant set in a grand French-style building. The great expertise of the sommelier make you want to taste the wines even more.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    39
    16
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
There are newer reviews for Vis & Ko
See the most recent reviews
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Bad Service...Mediocre food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

So disappointed...4 of us, One Italian, One French, Two Americans....all that know good food, restaurants and service. The restaurant has some beautiful details. We were greeted warmly when we arrived and form there it went downhill. The food seriously was nothing special....the wait between courses was ridiculous. After finishing our main course, our plates sat empty for over 20 minutes, before we had to get up from the table and ask them to please help us. Nobody asked how our meal was, they did not check our water or wine...we would have ordered more of each. We were going to leave without our dessert, but they then managed to bring that rather quickly. The dessert - a sort of pear tart with cinnamon ice cream was divine. Nice finish, but we will never go back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilburg, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Very nice food in a good atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We choose for a 4 course menu + desert. Added to this we had a matching wine menu, two drinks as an aperitive, two bottles of water and two coffees. The total bill amounted to 218 Euro's.
Vis & Ko serve very good food (8/10) based - fish cuisine. The meals were sufficiently large to more than satisfy our needs - we are normal-moderate eaters. The accompanying wines were fine but not very good (7/10). Here Vis & Ko could really do themselves a favour and some real room for improvement. All in all we found the price a bit steep. Nevertheless we really enjoyed the dinner in a very nice atmosphere - excellent service and very friendly staff.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santpoort, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Disapointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

This should be the best pace in Haarlem, but we had a very bad experience. It started that our resevation did not come through, we had to wait. The staff is not professional, look they arrived directlyfrom school. The chef did not look interested, and behaved angry to his employees, and the food was so, so. Nothing special, haarlem has much better places!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Maybe too subtle for me”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Never been there, so came with high expectations. Everything well prepared and well cooked, but did lack the 'wow'-factor (4 courses with wine accomplishment, apperetive and coffee €105 per person). Had hoped for more pronounced flavors, but maybe it was all too subtle for me. The wine was nice, but not more than that. Not competing in flavors with the food.
Young staff provided good service, after a slow start, but still looking for the right balance between formal and informal.
Overall, all good food (a lot can go wrong with fish) and service but not exciting with upper market prices.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
“Very friendly staff, reasonable tasting menu with excellent wine pairing.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

The restaurant is along the road the winds through the Spaarne River. So I can imagine that this must be a nice restaurant to visit in spring or summer.

The staff was very friendly although a bit stiff when informing us of what was being served and the wine associated with the dish. I took it as a language issue so I did not really mind. They did try to give out their best in trying to please us by asking us whether everything was okay.

Very well presented, the dishes were very good The restaurant specialises in seafood. The complimentary smoked salmon mousse was excellent! The main courses were a tad short of being excellent but maybe it was just the fact that we were very tired that evening. Whatever the dishes lacked though, the wines kicked in the punch needed to bring one to a meal nirvana. The place knows its dishes and it definitely knows its dish as well.

For those of you driving in the rain, take the Appelaar underground parking about 100 meters from the restaurant. It's not easy to get kerb parking in this area.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vis & Ko also viewed

Haarlem, North Holland Province
Haarlem, North Holland Province
 
Haarlem, North Holland Province
Haarlem, North Holland Province
 

Been to Vis & Ko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vis & Ko, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.