We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly tasty!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sumo Sushi & Grill

Sumo Sushi & Grill
Oude Groenmarkt 14-16, Haarlem, The Netherlands
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 216 Restaurants in Haarlem
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Surprisingly tasty!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We would never normally eat in a restaurant which is authentic of the country we are visiting (save that for while at home) but the friend we were visiting booked this restaurant as she thought it would be something different to try. We were also a little worried as my husband has a seafood allergy...we had no need to worry.
There was a huge selection and every dish was lovely. It was great that we could keep ordering more of the same or try something different. If you like variation and to pick at different foods - this is a great place to go.
The service was a bit hit or miss - sometime too quick and other times we were left to sit and wait. However, it was packed! It was a Monday night and the rest of Haarlem was dead - they were all here eating their dinner late into the night!
It was great value and we were surprised to see when we returned to Amsterdam the following day, it was a chain restaurant - the food was fresh and packed with flavour. Would definitely eat at a Sumo again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    55
    17
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“sushi fast food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Ow why are places like this so popular? And why do people keep telling me we should go here because of the sushi?? Its like saying the burgers at Mcdonalds are really good.
Don’t get me wrong, the food is not bad and the service was fast (although they forgot our drinks order 2 times…) but it is like an eating factory, people were just stuffing their faces with food, round after round. Ok it is value for money! And you can eat as much as you want, if you want that, go here and have fun. We will go to a real sushi/Japanese restaurant next time.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Pleasant Sushi in Haarlem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Excellent service: Fast delivery of drinks, quick to pick up food orders, bill arrived seconds after asking & waiter has mobile pin in hand. Place can be a bit busy but that's rather inevitable for a popular place. Do make a reservation. Pick your own selection of sushi, grill, salad, noodels, etc. for one fixed price. Only sashimi costs extra. Great location, must be fun to eat outside in the summer. Food is good value for money. Has a pleasant evening, planning to return.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillegom, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great food, great service, nice atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

When there with my family, who were never in a Japanese restaurant before. My mom is a celiac (she has an allergy for gluten), which is not always easy to cope with in a restaurant. I called in advance to book a take, and told I would be coming with someone with a gluten allergy. She got a special order list, on which was marked which dishes she could and could not have, which was great. And, out of the 95 dishes on the menu, there were like 60 which she could have! We were amazed!
Besides that, the food itself tasted great, the sushi as well as the warm dishes. The service is friendly and extremely fast, and the decoration of the restaurant is nicely done, with pink flowers and Japanese styled lamps. Only downside is that it's really crowded.
Definately to be recommended

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Khabarovsk, Russia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Unforgettable sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

This restaurant had knock-your-socks-off sushi! The menu is outstanding, served in an all you can eat style. The waitress walks you through how ordering is done. The restaurant was packed, the service was great, and speedy, the food was the best I have had in a long time (and I eat sushi often) Also, the prices were very reasonable. If you have a non-sushi lover among you there are alternatives on the menu that are very delicious as well. If you like sushi, don't miss this restaurant!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sumo Sushi & Grill also viewed

Haarlem, North Holland Province
Haarlem, North Holland Province
 
Haarlem, North Holland Province
Haarlem, North Holland Province
 

Been to Sumo Sushi & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sumo Sushi & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.