We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost perfect evening, apart from other customer smoking inconsiderately when on the terrace out front” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Specktakel

Specktakel
Spekstraat 4, 2011 HM Haarlem, The Netherlands (Centrum)
+3123 532 3841
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 222 Restaurants in Haarlem
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $66
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations
Neighborhood: Centrum
Description: At Specktakel we work with the best ingredients from all over the world with a born understanding of combining flavours of food & wine. Here there is no such thing as eating silently, not just by the volume of laughter and enjoyment brought on by the company at the table, but more so by the food and wine that is being enjoyed. Its colours, aromas, and flavours, so simple together creating a wonderful feast to talk about…Let us guide you how to enjoy the flavours and atmosphere in our world of food & wine....
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Almost perfect evening, apart from other customer smoking inconsiderately when on the terrace out front”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Excellent food. Spicey tuna tacos were really fresh and light. Spanish style starter paired well with Californian Cabernet Sauvignon. The kangaroo steak and pie combo was delicious. And the USA Rib eye was perfectly cooked: the fat had rendered leaving really tasty meat behind. Service was exemplary, finding us a table away from the smoker for our second course. Lovely experience, we will come again. Important to book in advance, as next time we would like to try their Umami menu.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    51
    7
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Awesome food and service! Don't miss this gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

By far, the best restaurant I visited in Haarlem. The location in the central square was great, and the atmosphere is just lovely. Service and food was amazing. I had the Prix Fix meal with wines recommended by the chef for each course. Can't wait to go again.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

This restaurant is amazing what they do with food in just breath taking. Great place and the staff are second to none. Deffinately worth the price!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Specktacle is Spectacular!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

You know when you think you can't be surprised anymore by anything? Well, on Friday 26 June 2013, we were so pleasantly surprised by the standard, variety and quality of the food here. Add to that the lovely courtyard setting on a warm sultry evening and the great service from all the staff (especially our waiter, Tobias) and it's an experience we can't wait to repeat.

The menu was very different from the normal. Complex combinations based on food such as ostrich, kangaroo, scallops. Complimentary bread and oil. Desserts to die for. Price 33.5 euros for three wonderful courses. Great wine list. Presentation, second to none.

Specktakel is spectacular.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Planning our next visit already!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Ate here tonight without a reservation after just walking around Haarlem. We were lucky to get a great table in the garden. The complimentary bread and dip was delicious. Ostrich starter and kangaroo main were out of this world! Admittedly only ordered dessert because it was included in the menu price (because i was already full) but boy was i glad i did..Californian strawberry shortcake!! My tastebuds were so happy!
Good service overall, beautiful presentation and something i consider very important, good portion sizes. After a 3 course we were full. Now just to work out when we are in Haarlem again to go back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Specktakel also viewed

Haarlem, North Holland Province
Haarlem, North Holland Province
 
Haarlem, North Holland Province
Haarlem, North Holland Province
 

Been to Specktakel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Specktakel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.