We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome food and service! Don't miss this gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Specktakel

Specktakel
Spekstraat 4, 2011 HM Haarlem, The Netherlands (Centrum)
+3123 532 3841
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 185 Restaurants in Haarlem
Price range: $17 - $66
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night, Private Dining
Neighborhood: Centrum
Description: At Specktakel we work with the best ingredients from all over the world with a born understanding of combining flavours of food & wine. Here there is no such thing as eating silently, not just by the volume of laughter and enjoyment brought on by the company at the table, but more so by the food and wine that is being enjoyed. Its colours, aromas, and flavours, so simple together creating a wonderful feast to talk about…Let us guide you how to enjoy the flavours and atmosphere in our world of food & wine....
Florida
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Awesome food and service! Don't miss this gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

By far, the best restaurant I visited in Haarlem. The location in the central square was great, and the atmosphere is just lovely. Service and food was amazing. I had the Prix Fix meal with wines recommended by the chef for each course. Can't wait to go again.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    38
    5
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

This restaurant is amazing what they do with food in just breath taking. Great place and the staff are second to none. Deffinately worth the price!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Specktacle is Spectacular!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

You know when you think you can't be surprised anymore by anything? Well, on Friday 26 June 2013, we were so pleasantly surprised by the standard, variety and quality of the food here. Add to that the lovely courtyard setting on a warm sultry evening and the great service from all the staff (especially our waiter, Tobias) and it's an experience we can't wait to repeat.

The menu was very different from the normal. Complex combinations based on food such as ostrich, kangaroo, scallops. Complimentary bread and oil. Desserts to die for. Price 33.5 euros for three wonderful courses. Great wine list. Presentation, second to none.

Specktakel is spectacular.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Planning our next visit already!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Ate here tonight without a reservation after just walking around Haarlem. We were lucky to get a great table in the garden. The complimentary bread and dip was delicious. Ostrich starter and kangaroo main were out of this world! Admittedly only ordered dessert because it was included in the menu price (because i was already full) but boy was i glad i did..Californian strawberry shortcake!! My tastebuds were so happy!
Good service overall, beautiful presentation and something i consider very important, good portion sizes. After a 3 course we were full. Now just to work out when we are in Haarlem again to go back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“surprise :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

great service, amazing food (a bit different though so get ready your international tastes :) a definitive must visit, we will come again for sure m.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Specktakel also viewed

Haarlem, North Holland Province
Haarlem, North Holland Province
 
Haarlem, North Holland Province
Haarlem, North Holland Province
 

Been to Specktakel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Specktakel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.