We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome food and service! Don't miss this gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Specktakel

Specktakel
Spekstraat 4, 2011 HM Haarlem, The Netherlands (Centrum)
+3123 532 3841
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 254 Restaurants in Haarlem
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $66
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Centrum
Description: At Specktakel we work with the best ingredients from all over the world with a born understanding of combining flavours of food & wine. Here there is no such thing as eating silently, not just by the volume of laughter and enjoyment brought on by the company at the table, but more so by the food and wine that is being enjoyed. Its colours, aromas, and flavours, so simple together creating a wonderful feast to talk about…Let us guide you how to enjoy the flavours and atmosphere in our world of food & wine....
Florida
Level Contributor
87 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Awesome food and service! Don't miss this gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

By far, the best restaurant I visited in Haarlem. The location in the central square was great, and the atmosphere is just lovely. Service and food was amazing. I had the Prix Fix meal with wines recommended by the chef for each course. Can't wait to go again.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank cmonteFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

This restaurant is amazing what they do with food in just breath taking. Great place and the staff are second to none. Deffinately worth the price!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ukilledkenny_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
87 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Specktacle is Spectacular!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

You know when you think you can't be surprised anymore by anything? Well, on Friday 26 June 2013, we were so pleasantly surprised by the standard, variety and quality of the food here. Add to that the lovely courtyard setting on a warm sultry evening and the great service from all the staff (especially our waiter, Tobias) and it's an experience we can't wait to repeat.

The menu was very different from the normal. Complex combinations based on food such as ostrich, kangaroo, scallops. Complimentary bread and oil. Desserts to die for. Price 33.5 euros for three wonderful courses. Great wine list. Presentation, second to none.

Specktakel is spectacular.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PBPCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
97 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Planning our next visit already!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Ate here tonight without a reservation after just walking around Haarlem. We were lucky to get a great table in the garden. The complimentary bread and dip was delicious. Ostrich starter and kangaroo main were out of this world! Admittedly only ordered dessert because it was included in the menu price (because i was already full) but boy was i glad i did..Californian strawberry shortcake!! My tastebuds were so happy!
Good service overall, beautiful presentation and something i consider very important, good portion sizes. After a 3 course we were full. Now just to work out when we are in Haarlem again to go back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Vrtw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“surprise :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

great service, amazing food (a bit different though so get ready your international tastes :) a definitive must visit, we will come again for sure m.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank xwerne00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Specktakel also viewed

Haarlem, North Holland Province
Haarlem, North Holland Province
 
Haarlem, North Holland Province
Haarlem, North Holland Province
 

Been to Specktakel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing