We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectakel with Pearls” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Specktakel

Specktakel
Spekstraat 4, 2011 HM Haarlem, The Netherlands (Centrum)
+3123 532 3841
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 200 Restaurants in Haarlem
Price range: $17 - $66
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night, Private Dining
Neighborhood: Centrum
Description: At Specktakel we work with the best ingredients from all over the world with a born understanding of combining flavours of food & wine. Here there is no such thing as eating silently, not just by the volume of laughter and enjoyment brought on by the company at the table, but more so by the food and wine that is being enjoyed. Its colours, aromas, and flavours, so simple together creating a wonderful feast to talk about…Let us guide you how to enjoy the flavours and atmosphere in our world of food & wine....
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Spectakel with Pearls”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This was another great idea from spectakel team, they always surprise me with the complex combinations of flavours and an explosion of tastes in your mouth. All dishes are explained by the waiters
This all combined with great wines makes you come back for more surprises.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    41
    5
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Shoreline, WA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“We liked it so much we are going back tonight.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Excellent restaurant. We had the three course meal and enjoyed it all. The staff was very friendly and the food was great. We went there on the first night in Haarlem and we are now returning on our last night.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Cangaroo and crocodile”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

For the first time in my life I tasted cangaroo meat (fantastic) and crocodile (disappointing). The cangaroo was excellent...tender!
The crocodile was poor! As dessert cheese: on average. The other negative issue was the price, it was too high compared to the food ordered, 4* anyway!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Spektatel stay one of thé best in Haarlem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

Hère with my girlfriend sunday evenings before queensday now 33,5€ for 3 courses. Bottle of Wine 23€. As we say never disapointed hère. I took à starter terre et mer with octopussy And thaï beef in salad very tasty And good of course after thé traditional fuka. Thé other starter was very good. Thé main course steak of kangourou with young potatoes And vegetables fantastique méat.
Dessert I took thé little meringue with fruit of passion in à Way île flottante. Good bottle from south africa good coffee. The service was good And smile.
Négative point : too much extras on thé card, be carefull to bring thé fuka before thé starter And not in thé same Time.
This restaurant is in my top 3 in Haarlem And never disapointed when we eat there. The courses with asiatic influences And spicy are really very good for thé fans.
Of course I recommand spektatel.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“surprisingly and extraordinary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Specktakel is a surprisingly and extraordinary restaurant. Special dishes like kangaroo, crocodile, parrotfish, wagyu beef is just a small part of what this restaurant has to offer. With every dish a matching wine. Or just let the host pick a nice bottle for you. Countless times I have visited this restaurant en they never failed me.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Specktakel also viewed

Haarlem, North Holland Province
Haarlem, North Holland Province
 
Haarlem, North Holland Province
Haarlem, North Holland Province
 

Been to Specktakel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Specktakel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.