We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place for overnight nr. Schipol Airport” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wherels

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Wherels to your Saves list
Wherels
Nieuwe Kruisstraat 11 | Nieuwe Kruisstraat 9, 2011RN Haarlem, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 13 Haarlem B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Place for overnight nr. Schipol Airport”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This B and B is a wonderful place for so many reasons. My family, Mom, Dad, 3 teens, stayed in the ground floor level, using both bedrooms. It was wonderful to have beverages upon arrival and use of the washer and dryer. The breakfast was simple, healthy, and very plentiful. The hosts are more than helpful spending the extra time to chat about their country and check our bike route for the day to the tulip gardens, Keukenhoff. They made sure that we were knowledgeable about the bus to and from Schipol airport. That bus is quite magical in its regular schedule and direct route to Haarlem. After safari in Africa, we arrived at Wherels and were happy to have a great place to relax and enjoy both Haarlem, and Amsterdam. Don't stay in a hotel, if they have availability here!

Room Tip: Rooms are small with not much room for luggage which is normal in Europe. Bathroom is amazing with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    12
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
25
29
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Oak Harbor, Washington
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at this B&B in the attic room. To say that the steps were steep is an understatement, but the host Rieneke carried my suitcase upstairs quickly - no problem! Our room was big and the bed was very comfortable. We were surprised to find peanuts, wine, beer, water all available to us without charge. Nice! The best part were the excellent breakfasts with everything that we could want - breads, musli, boiled eggs, fruit, coffee, juice, etc. We walked from the train station and it was a pleasant 10-15 minute walk...easy to find the B&B (with instructions from Rieneke). The only problem was that my husband is tall and kept hitting his head on the stairways and doorjams.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

This was our third stop in our 2 week trip in Benelux. We took a train from Ettelbruck and got to Haarlem rather than Amsterdam. When I visited Amsterdam 15 years ago, my friend and I went to Haarlem for a day trip and found it to be charming. Rather than booking an expensive hotel in an undesirable area, I thought it was more practical to base oursleves in Haarlem and go into Amsterdam as there are many trains to Amsterdam. After reviewing Triadvisor comments, I booked a room in March with Reineke and thought all was set. We got to Haarlem and followed Reineke's direction to Wherels without a problem. Reineke told us that we would be staying at Around the Corner. I didn't really have a problem with this, but I wish she had told me the change of room prior to us arriving. Around the Corner is another Dutch house and here lives Hendien, who is the owner of the house.

Reineke showed us a map of Haarlem and areas of interest as well as many restaurants. AH is a supermarket and it is literally right around the corner from Wherels and runs parallel to the direction that you take when you get out of the Haarlem station. There are lots of places to eat in Haarlem. Reineke told us that Hendien would bring breakfast to our room. So, we climbed up the steep stairs and the first floor (in the US, it would be 2nd floor) was our bed room, kitchen and the bathroom. Reineke set up another bed for our 3 yer old and even had some toys and books for our son but the room was tight with another bed. There was a kitchen with a coffee maker, tea kettle, and a small refrigerator. There was cold water and juice waiting for us. There was also a small roof deck for us to use which was accessible from the kitchen. Bathroom was interesting. There was no shower curtain, so you just take a shower and use a squeegee to mop off the shower area. The toilet flushed twice and made a funny noise every time we used it.

All in all, it was real Dutch living. We stayed here for 4 nights. For the stairs, we blocked off the stair way with our suitcase so our son wouldn't fall down (he didn't) and it was an interesting situation. The beds were very comfortable. Our son's pillow was the best pillow because it was so comfortable. We were still in a heat wave. One day, it reached to 96 degrees, and we asked Hendien for a fan. What a relief it was when she lent us her fan.

Every morning, Hendien came up to our kitchen with our breakfast which was filled with bread, cold cuts, fruits, juice, yogurt, etc. There was plenty to eat. Hendien told us that her English was not so good, but we understood her without a problem. She was a great hostess.

We made our daily trips to Amsterdam and then stayed in Haarlem to explore this wonderful city. Frans Hals Museum should not be missed. It is a real gem.

All in all, our stay here was fine. It was charming in its own way and Hendien tried really hard to make sure that we had everything we needed. We were also able to use Reineke's washer and dryer as she gave us the keys to Wherels as well as Hendein's.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Not the chepest B&B, but worth it.
Great location in a very nice looking small street but very close to the center.
Helpful and friendly owners. Breakfast is good, Bath Tub is very nice
and the room we had was very nicely decorated.
A good place to discover a very beautiful city
(well, we did a lot of shopping there as well).

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

The nicest B & B I've stayed in so far. The room was spacious and comfortable, with all the amenities like a beautiful private bath, internet access, and even board games (which friends and I enjoyed thoroughly!) The breakfast was just right, not too heavy, so that I could head out to enjoy the city without feeling too stuffed. Rieneke and Rosa were wonderful and helpful hosts. I especially liked the abundance of maps, guide books and tourist information they provide. The location is perfectly situated near the main shopping street, but without all the noise. The central train station is only 5 minutes walk, but if you have lots of bags (as I did) ask for the number of the inexpensive taxi cab that will bring you directly to their door from Schipol for only $29 Euro.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada City, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Wherels was our first B&B stay on our family's 2-week European vacation. Reineke and her helper, Rudy, could not have been kinder and more accommodating. We stayed in the first floor apartment which with 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms suited our family of five perfectly. It also included a kitchen area as well as a washer and dryer which was very helpful. The breakfasts were delicious and bountiful and we felt very much at home there. The location of Wherels is ideal for exploring the town of Haarlem - everything is very close - no car needed. Haarlem itself is a wonderful, charming city with so much history. Thank you Reineke for a perfect stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidson, NC
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We stayed three nights in the apartment, which has a bedroom, a nice small kitchen, and an equally nice bathroom with whirlpool bath. The location, about three blocks from the train station and two blocks from the Markt, was ideal. Parking was either expensive or distant. The breakfasts were quite nice. A very good stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wherels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wherels

Address: Nieuwe Kruisstraat 11 | Nieuwe Kruisstraat 9, 2011RN Haarlem, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Haarlem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘Where Els’ is ideally located in the heart of Haarlem. A great base from which to explore the Netherlands.This cosy houses suit very well for couples, groups and families.This typical Haarlem huis is located on a small street with no traffic, which is surprisingly quite considering the location - even during the night. Just steps away from shopping, restaurants and the famous Groote Markt (centre square).There is always a lot to do: many local theatre, music and dance events take place in Haarlem.Day visits to Amsterdam and The Hague are very easy. Where Els is a short walk to the train station where six trains per hour depart to take you straight to the centre of Amsterdam (15mins) and to The Hague (40mins). The North Sea with beautiful sandy dunes and beaches are just 10 minutes by car or 30 minutes bike to the west. The coastal towns of Zandvoort and Bloemendaal are great places for lunch or dinner by the sea. Your day will start in the breakfast room where you will get a sumptuous breakfast with fresh biological produce from the local market. All rooms are fully equipped with snacks, drinks TV, DVD, CD, wifi internet, cool, clean, comfortable bedding and a private ensuite bathroom. Note: Just a 15 minute drive from Schiphol international airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Wherels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wherels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.