We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wherels

Save Saved
You added Wherels to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wherels
Nieuwe Kruisstraat 11 | Nieuwe Kruisstraat 9, 2011RN Haarlem, The Netherlands (Centrum)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 Haarlem B&B and Inns
New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Quaint place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

This was our third stop in our 2 week trip in Benelux. We took a train from Ettelbruck and got to Haarlem rather than Amsterdam. When I visited Amsterdam 15 years ago, my friend and I went to Haarlem for a day trip and found it to be charming. Rather than booking an expensive hotel in an undesirable area, I thought it was more practical to base oursleves in Haarlem and go into Amsterdam as there are many trains to Amsterdam. After reviewing Triadvisor comments, I booked a room in March with Reineke and thought all was set. We got to Haarlem and followed Reineke's direction to Wherels without a problem. Reineke told us that we would be staying at Around the Corner. I didn't really have a problem with this, but I wish she had told me the change of room prior to us arriving. Around the Corner is another Dutch house and here lives Hendien, who is the owner of the house.

Reineke showed us a map of Haarlem and areas of interest as well as many restaurants. AH is a supermarket and it is literally right around the corner from Wherels and runs parallel to the direction that you take when you get out of the Haarlem station. There are lots of places to eat in Haarlem. Reineke told us that Hendien would bring breakfast to our room. So, we climbed up the steep stairs and the first floor (in the US, it would be 2nd floor) was our bed room, kitchen and the bathroom. Reineke set up another bed for our 3 yer old and even had some toys and books for our son but the room was tight with another bed. There was a kitchen with a coffee maker, tea kettle, and a small refrigerator. There was cold water and juice waiting for us. There was also a small roof deck for us to use which was accessible from the kitchen. Bathroom was interesting. There was no shower curtain, so you just take a shower and use a squeegee to mop off the shower area. The toilet flushed twice and made a funny noise every time we used it.

All in all, it was real Dutch living. We stayed here for 4 nights. For the stairs, we blocked off the stair way with our suitcase so our son wouldn't fall down (he didn't) and it was an interesting situation. The beds were very comfortable. Our son's pillow was the best pillow because it was so comfortable. We were still in a heat wave. One day, it reached to 96 degrees, and we asked Hendien for a fan. What a relief it was when she lent us her fan.

Every morning, Hendien came up to our kitchen with our breakfast which was filled with bread, cold cuts, fruits, juice, yogurt, etc. There was plenty to eat. Hendien told us that her English was not so good, but we understood her without a problem. She was a great hostess.

We made our daily trips to Amsterdam and then stayed in Haarlem to explore this wonderful city. Frans Hals Museum should not be missed. It is a real gem.

All in all, our stay here was fine. It was charming in its own way and Hendien tried really hard to make sure that we had everything we needed. We were also able to use Reineke's washer and dryer as she gave us the keys to Wherels as well as Hendein's.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    12
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
25
29
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Not the chepest B&B, but worth it.
Great location in a very nice looking small street but very close to the center.
Helpful and friendly owners. Breakfast is good, Bath Tub is very nice
and the room we had was very nicely decorated.
A good place to discover a very beautiful city
(well, we did a lot of shopping there as well).

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

The nicest B & B I've stayed in so far. The room was spacious and comfortable, with all the amenities like a beautiful private bath, internet access, and even board games (which friends and I enjoyed thoroughly!) The breakfast was just right, not too heavy, so that I could head out to enjoy the city without feeling too stuffed. Rieneke and Rosa were wonderful and helpful hosts. I especially liked the abundance of maps, guide books and tourist information they provide. The location is perfectly situated near the main shopping street, but without all the noise. The central train station is only 5 minutes walk, but if you have lots of bags (as I did) ask for the number of the inexpensive taxi cab that will bring you directly to their door from Schipol for only $29 Euro.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada City, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Wherels was our first B&B stay on our family's 2-week European vacation. Reineke and her helper, Rudy, could not have been kinder and more accommodating. We stayed in the first floor apartment which with 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms suited our family of five perfectly. It also included a kitchen area as well as a washer and dryer which was very helpful. The breakfasts were delicious and bountiful and we felt very much at home there. The location of Wherels is ideal for exploring the town of Haarlem - everything is very close - no car needed. Haarlem itself is a wonderful, charming city with so much history. Thank you Reineke for a perfect stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidson, NC
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We stayed three nights in the apartment, which has a bedroom, a nice small kitchen, and an equally nice bathroom with whirlpool bath. The location, about three blocks from the train station and two blocks from the Markt, was ideal. Parking was either expensive or distant. The breakfasts were quite nice. A very good stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Not sure how to describe this one; it's a different sort of European room. It actually reminds me of a cabin that you rent somewhere with games, toys, books, jellies, and shampoos already provided because you might get snowed in for several months...but it's Haarlem. We chose the place because it was close to the centre of the city and it had parking. Well, half was accurate. The parking place out front was VERY tight and I actually smashed my car into a concrete planter that was out of sight of my side view mirrors (and I had a spotter). So, don't go here if you want parking, just if you want a good location. The room was clean, but cluttered. Kind of like sleeping at your grandmas house; there's tons of knick knacks all over and while they are clean and unsoiled, it was just a bit cluttered. We only stayed for 2 days, but it was pleasant and the owner was very nice. If you book the room(s), just have a mindset that you're going to a bed and breakfast and then it will prepare you for rooms for of "stuff." Oh, when you show up, go to the door on the right to ring the bell for the owner who lives on the second floor, but the rooms are through the door on the left. We went in Apr 2011, but Trip Advisor won't let us go that far back, so I'm selecting July 2011 (the latest date) to be fair since things could have changed.

Room Tip: Look for a place to eat on line before you arrive; the places seem to close early and it's tough...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Rieneke is a wonderful host..our room was very quiet and comfortable. Great location and easy walk to city square, shops, restaurants ...a quiet retreat after busy days of sightseeing! Sumptuous breakfast!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wherels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wherels

Address: Nieuwe Kruisstraat 11 | Nieuwe Kruisstraat 9, 2011RN Haarlem, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlem > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Haarlem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘Where Els’ is ideally located in the heart of Haarlem. A great base from which to explore the Netherlands.This cosy houses suit very well for couples, groups and families.This typical Haarlem huis is located on a small street with no traffic, which is surprisingly quite considering the location - even during the night. Just steps away from shopping, restaurants and the famous Groote Markt (centre square).There is always a lot to do: many local theatre, music and dance events take place in Haarlem.Day visits to Amsterdam and The Hague are very easy. Where Els is a short walk to the train station where six trains per hour depart to take you straight to the centre of Amsterdam (15mins) and to The Hague (40mins). The North Sea with beautiful sandy dunes and beaches are just 10 minutes by car or 30 minutes bike to the west. The coastal towns of Zandvoort and Bloemendaal are great places for lunch or dinner by the sea. Your day will start in the breakfast room where you will get a sumptuous breakfast with fresh biological produce from the local market. All rooms are fully equipped with snacks, drinks TV, DVD, CD, wifi internet, cool, clean, comfortable bedding and a private ensuite bathroom. Note: Just a 15 minute drive from Schiphol international airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Wherels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wherels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.