We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, very friendly owners” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wherels

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Wherels to your Saves list
Wherels
Nieuwe Kruisstraat 11 | Nieuwe Kruisstraat 9, 2011RN Haarlem, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 15 Haarlem B&B and Inns
Gummersbach, Germany
Level Contributor
98 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great location, very friendly owners”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Not the chepest B&B, but worth it.
Great location in a very nice looking small street but very close to the center.
Helpful and friendly owners. Breakfast is good, Bath Tub is very nice
and the room we had was very nicely decorated.
A good place to discover a very beautiful city
(well, we did a lot of shopping there as well).

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    13
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
27
29
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

The nicest B & B I've stayed in so far. The room was spacious and comfortable, with all the amenities like a beautiful private bath, internet access, and even board games (which friends and I enjoyed thoroughly!) The breakfast was just right, not too heavy, so that I could head out to enjoy the city without feeling too stuffed. Rieneke and Rosa were wonderful and helpful hosts. I especially liked the abundance of maps, guide books and tourist information they provide. The location is perfectly situated near the main shopping street, but without all the noise. The central train station is only 5 minutes walk, but if you have lots of bags (as I did) ask for the number of the inexpensive taxi cab that will bring you directly to their door from Schipol for only $29 Euro.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada City, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Wherels was our first B&B stay on our family's 2-week European vacation. Reineke and her helper, Rudy, could not have been kinder and more accommodating. We stayed in the first floor apartment which with 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms suited our family of five perfectly. It also included a kitchen area as well as a washer and dryer which was very helpful. The breakfasts were delicious and bountiful and we felt very much at home there. The location of Wherels is ideal for exploring the town of Haarlem - everything is very close - no car needed. Haarlem itself is a wonderful, charming city with so much history. Thank you Reineke for a perfect stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidson, NC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We stayed three nights in the apartment, which has a bedroom, a nice small kitchen, and an equally nice bathroom with whirlpool bath. The location, about three blocks from the train station and two blocks from the Markt, was ideal. Parking was either expensive or distant. The breakfasts were quite nice. A very good stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Not sure how to describe this one; it's a different sort of European room. It actually reminds me of a cabin that you rent somewhere with games, toys, books, jellies, and shampoos already provided because you might get snowed in for several months...but it's Haarlem. We chose the place because it was close to the centre of the city and it had parking. Well, half was accurate. The parking place out front was VERY tight and I actually smashed my car into a concrete planter that was out of sight of my side view mirrors (and I had a spotter). So, don't go here if you want parking, just if you want a good location. The room was clean, but cluttered. Kind of like sleeping at your grandmas house; there's tons of knick knacks all over and while they are clean and unsoiled, it was just a bit cluttered. We only stayed for 2 days, but it was pleasant and the owner was very nice. If you book the room(s), just have a mindset that you're going to a bed and breakfast and then it will prepare you for rooms for of "stuff." Oh, when you show up, go to the door on the right to ring the bell for the owner who lives on the second floor, but the rooms are through the door on the left. We went in Apr 2011, but Trip Advisor won't let us go that far back, so I'm selecting July 2011 (the latest date) to be fair since things could have changed.

Room Tip: Look for a place to eat on line before you arrive; the places seem to close early and it's tough...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Rieneke is a wonderful host..our room was very quiet and comfortable. Great location and easy walk to city square, shops, restaurants ...a quiet retreat after busy days of sightseeing! Sumptuous breakfast!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, CA
Level Contributor
65 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

As we had a car, Haarlem was ideal, no messing with Amsterdam traffic. And what a little gem of a place to stay! Rieneke was fantastic and goes above and beyond to help with your questions and needs. I was surprised and delighted that breakfast was brought to our charming apartment every morning. It was a great bonus to have a lovely patio overflowing with flowers to unwind with a glass of beer or wine after a full days' adventure into Amsterdam or the countryside. Reineke rents a couple of apartments near Where Els and we had the one next door. We spent 4 nights and it began feeling alot like home...highly recommend a stay here and would love to return someday.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Haarlem hotels
Centrum
Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals
Carlton Square Hotel
#1 of 12 in Haarlem
4.0 of 5 stars 370 reviews
Golden Tulip Lion D'Or
#3 of 12 in Haarlem
4.0 of 5 stars 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Haarlem Hotelsuites
Haarlem Hotelsuites
#6 of 12 in Haarlem
4.5 of 5 stars 33 reviews
B&B Malts Hotel
#1 of 15 in Haarlem
5.0 of 5 stars 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wherels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wherels

Address: Nieuwe Kruisstraat 11 | Nieuwe Kruisstraat 9, 2011RN Haarlem, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Haarlem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘Where Els’ is ideally located in the heart of Haarlem. A great base from which to explore the Netherlands.This cosy houses suit very well for couples, groups and families.This typical Haarlem huis is located on a small street with no traffic, which is surprisingly quite considering the location - even during the night. Just steps away from shopping, restaurants and the famous Groote Markt (centre square).There is always a lot to do: many local theatre, music and dance events take place in Haarlem.Day visits to Amsterdam and The Hague are very easy. Where Els is a short walk to the train station where six trains per hour depart to take you straight to the centre of Amsterdam (15mins) and to The Hague (40mins). The North Sea with beautiful sandy dunes and beaches are just 10 minutes by car or 30 minutes bike to the west. The coastal towns of Zandvoort and Bloemendaal are great places for lunch or dinner by the sea. Your day will start in the breakfast room where you will get a sumptuous breakfast with fresh biological produce from the local market. All rooms are fully equipped with snacks, drinks TV, DVD, CD, wifi internet, cool, clean, comfortable bedding and a private ensuite bathroom. Note: Just a 15 minute drive from Schiphol international airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Wherels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wherels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.