We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible heroism” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Corrie ten Boom House

The Corrie ten Boom House
19 Barteljorisstraat | North Holland, Haarlem 2002 CE, The Netherlands (Centrum)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 14 attractions in Haarlem
Type: Historic Sites, Museums, Specialty Museums
Attraction Details
mesa az
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Incredible heroism”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

This was a very inspirational tour. That one family could do so much for their fellow humans is awe inspiring. Several gave their lives for the Jewish peoples of Holland during WW2. Corrie lived thru it all, nazis, concentration camps, illness , loss. All she wanted was to aid God's people. She lived a long life and the remainder of it was filled with her Testimony on forgiveness. She.took that world twice to share with all peoples. The people who run the tour and .museam are dedicated in keeping this story fresh and alive . Bless them.This was a nightlight of our trip.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    35
    13
    10
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Unbelievable heroism”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

If you are seeking inspiration then look no further. I and my family visited this museum on a recent trip to Amsterdam/Haarlem and we were totally captivated by the story we were told. Our teenage daughters also both thoroughly enjoyed it as it brought the terrible realities of the wartime occupation to life. (At one point, on the press of an alarm bell, they were given 70 seconds to run up a few flights of stairs and get themselves into the hiding place - much as the jews/members of the resistance had to do who were living there at the time).

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful gem of an attraction”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We visited the Corrie ten Boom museum on the recommendation of friends, and am so glad that we did.

The museum is located above the old jewellers shop that has been in the Ten Boom family for years (Corrie ten Boom was herself a watch repairer).

There is a side door on which is posted the next time for the tours (both Dutch and English speaking tours are available). Everyone must wait outside until the tour is due to begin and then at the appointed time you are ushered in and taken upstairs by the volunteer tour-guide into the old parlour room. The tour guide then tells you the history of the Ten Boom family and shows you family photographs finishing with the story of their involvement in the Dutch resistance movement during the World War 2.

After the talk you are taken up to Corrie's bedroom where the "hiding place" is still in existance (you can go into it), and then up onto the roof over which people escaped. You are then shown more photographs and told of her work after the war in another one of the bedrooms.

The tour finishes in the dining room where there is the opportunity to buy books and leave a donation (no hard sell for either).

The whole thing was a wonderful experience, run by volunteers and is free (although a donation of 2.50 Euros is suggested on the website, but not at any time during the tour).

It is well worth the visit (and the rest of Haarlem is lovely too). The story definitely is worth repeating, as my Dutch friend said:

"Anne Frank gets a lot of publicity for hiding herself away and writing a diary, Corrie ten Boom did not need to hide herself but put herself at risk by hiding and assisting others".

This is an authentic tribute to a courageous woman who survived the war (including 2 years in Ravensbruck concentration camp), and to the rest of her family who sadly did not.

If you're in Holland you should visit this place!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A wonderful tribute to an amazing woman”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

After being a huge fan of the book, it was obvious that my husband and I come and visit Corrie Ten Boom's house in Haarlem when we were in Holland for a work conference.

The canal house is much different than I envisioned it in the book - steep and narrow staircases and the tiniest little hiding place for the persecuted people Corrie was helping. The surprising thing is the size of the space to get into the hiding place - I didn't imagine that it was so close to the ground and hard to get through (we were allowed to try during the tour).

The tour was very personalized and a volunteer tour guide told us Corrie's story.

There is no charge for the tour, but you really should give some sort of donation to keep this place available for future visitors!

The watch shop downstairs is still Ten Boom jewelry store. Be sure to use the entrance in the alley, though, the watch shop is not directly connected to the tours.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A must-do if you're in Haarlem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

My travel party of Four went on this tour after reading through various reviews of this place. We didn't exactly know what to expect but the tour was excellent.
The tour was free, manned by volunteers & mainly covered almost all the rooms in the home & it brought us back to feel how it'd be like to be living in that same hse during WW2.

The large religious component was not a bother at all, as it is the main reason as to why Corrie & her family did what they did for the Jews back then, & indeed a true demonstration of generosity & kindness that this woman had.

This was indeed the best historical tour that we went on during our country stops in different parts of Europe & would certainly like to offer a recommendation to others which may be keen.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Corrie ten Boom House also viewed

Haarlem, North Holland Province
Haarlem, North Holland Province
 
Haarlem, North Holland Province
Haarlem, North Holland Province
 

Been to The Corrie ten Boom House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Corrie ten Boom House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Corrie ten Boom House to your Saves list