We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful tribute to an amazing woman” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Corrie ten Boom House

The Corrie ten Boom House
19 Barteljorisstraat | North Holland, 2002 CE Haarlem, The Netherlands (Centrum)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 14 attractions in Haarlem
Type: Historic Sites, Museums, Specialty Museums
Attraction Details
Ithaca, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A wonderful tribute to an amazing woman”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

After being a huge fan of the book, it was obvious that my husband and I come and visit Corrie Ten Boom's house in Haarlem when we were in Holland for a work conference.

The canal house is much different than I envisioned it in the book - steep and narrow staircases and the tiniest little hiding place for the persecuted people Corrie was helping. The surprising thing is the size of the space to get into the hiding place - I didn't imagine that it was so close to the ground and hard to get through (we were allowed to try during the tour).

The tour was very personalized and a volunteer tour guide told us Corrie's story.

There is no charge for the tour, but you really should give some sort of donation to keep this place available for future visitors!

The watch shop downstairs is still Ten Boom jewelry store. Be sure to use the entrance in the alley, though, the watch shop is not directly connected to the tours.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    37
    13
    10
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A must-do if you're in Haarlem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

My travel party of Four went on this tour after reading through various reviews of this place. We didn't exactly know what to expect but the tour was excellent.
The tour was free, manned by volunteers & mainly covered almost all the rooms in the home & it brought us back to feel how it'd be like to be living in that same hse during WW2.

The large religious component was not a bother at all, as it is the main reason as to why Corrie & her family did what they did for the Jews back then, & indeed a true demonstration of generosity & kindness that this woman had.

This was indeed the best historical tour that we went on during our country stops in different parts of Europe & would certainly like to offer a recommendation to others which may be keen.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charters Towers, Queensland, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

My partner & I went to this tour. We happened to be staying across the road from this house & stumbled across it when venturing out & thought we may as well go. We didn't exactly know what to expect but the tour was excellent. From memory, I believe the tour was free. The tour was mainly completed in the living room & felt 'so real' however we did get to venture to other areas of the house. There were pictures of the family around the house & of the Jewish people that had lived in the house for safety. The hiding place was well-preserved & you really got a sense of what it had been like living in the house during WWII. Yes, there was a large religious component but this does not draw away from the generosity & kindness that this woman & her family had to offer.

I felt this was one of the best tours that we went on during our time in Holland & would recommend this tour to others.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Plan your trip ahead of time, be prepared for evangelism, totally worth it.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

My experience with the ten Boom House was very similar to my experience reading her book. I found the evangelism and religiosity somewhat off-putting, but not hateful or judgmental. I think that the tour (and the book) were completely worthwhile in spite of my lack of spiritual connection. The human story is amazing and the ability to see the places described in the book was incredible.

There are only a few set tour times every day and they are not posted online. I recommend getting there when the house opens for the morning and getting in line for the first tour of the day.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drogheda
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Very Inspiring”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Having read 'The Hiding Place' some years ago it was great to see where it all began. The tour was free and informative. Unfortunately the Gestapo wrecked the house when they raided it, so not a lot of the fixtures and fittings are original. However, the hiding place itself is well preserved. The faith of Corrie ten Boom (and indeed of our tour guide) was very movingly expressed.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Corrie ten Boom House also viewed

Haarlem, North Holland Province
Haarlem, North Holland Province
 
Haarlem, North Holland Province
Haarlem, North Holland Province
 

Been to The Corrie ten Boom House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Corrie ten Boom House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Corrie ten Boom House to your Saves list