We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plan your trip ahead of time, be prepared for evangelism, totally worth it.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Corrie ten Boom House

The Corrie ten Boom House
19 Barteljorisstraat | North Holland, 2002 CE Haarlem, The Netherlands (Centrum)
+31-23-531-0823
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 29 things to do in Haarlem
Attraction details
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Plan your trip ahead of time, be prepared for evangelism, totally worth it.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

My experience with the ten Boom House was very similar to my experience reading her book. I found the evangelism and religiosity somewhat off-putting, but not hateful or judgmental. I think that the tour (and the book) were completely worthwhile in spite of my lack of spiritual connection. The human story is amazing and the ability to see the places described in the book was incredible.

There are only a few set tour times every day and they are not posted online. I recommend getting there when the house opens for the morning and getting in line for the first tour of the day.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    52
    16
    11
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Drogheda
Top Contributor
284 reviews 284 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
“Very Inspiring”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Having read 'The Hiding Place' some years ago it was great to see where it all began. The tour was free and informative. Unfortunately the Gestapo wrecked the house when they raided it, so not a lot of the fixtures and fittings are original. However, the hiding place itself is well preserved. The faith of Corrie ten Boom (and indeed of our tour guide) was very movingly expressed.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bairnsdale, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Felt so real”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

It was wonderful to visit the Ten Boom Museum in Haarlem. The tour was very well presented by the host with great spiritual truths shared that one think about and digest. Not superficial as most tours. The reconstructed wall of the hiding place is very tastefully done. Pity the tour is only 1 hour, we would have preferred a 2 hour tour and a bit longer time in the "bookshop". I suggest you look at the DVD "The Hiding Place" before visiting and listen to "The Hiding Place" audio drama of Focus on the Family before you go for a deeper insight - both very well produced. Highly recommended!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape May, New Jersey
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Sad Story But True”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We just happened upon a note about this place in one of our guide books on the Netherlands. One of the tours in English was offered at a time that worked with our schedule so we took the tour. Our guide, Mary, told us the story of how the ten Booms had had Jewish friends prior to the outbreak of the war. It just naturally followed that the family would hide Jews from the Nazis in their home. I won't tell you the whole story; but I will tell you that both my husband and myself we amazed at the devotion of Mr. ten Boom and his 2 daughters. Go take the tour. It is only about an hour. There is no charge, but the guide will request a donation at the end. No outside funding is received and the museum is run 100% by unpaid volunteers.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Enlightening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We happened upon a tour in English at the right time and are so happy we went. The guide was a wonderful woman who explained the history of the family and the circumstances and reasons why the ten Boom family did what they did. We were able to see where the family hid the Jews. It was the other side of the Anne Frank story, this family saved Jews, many in fact. I would recommend going, whether you are Jewish or not.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Corrie ten Boom House also viewed

Haarlem, North Holland Province
Haarlem, North Holland Province
 
Haarlem, North Holland Province
Haarlem, North Holland Province
 

Been to The Corrie ten Boom House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Corrie ten Boom House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.