We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh how I wish” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Corrie ten Boom House

The Corrie ten Boom House
19 Barteljorisstraat | North Holland, 2002 CE Haarlem, The Netherlands (Centrum)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 14 attractions in Haarlem
Type: Historic Sites, Museums, Specialty Museums
Attraction Details
Floyds Knobs, Indiana
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Oh how I wish”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Well, the best laid plans...I was unaware of exact times of tours, if there are any. We arrived at the house for a short window of time. Arriving about 1:30 and the next tour listed on the door, was not until 3. Since the tour lasts an hour, it was impossible. Ive wanted to see the house for decades, and will be unlikely to return to Europe again. But just being there and seeing the outside was a dream come true. I guess that I thought there might be hourly tours. I will also add, if you haven't read The Hiding Place, do so. It's an amazing story.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    35
    13
    10
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Upland, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Historical home”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Interesting free sight. My husband enjoyed this one more than I did. I found it difficult to stay awake while sitting in the parlor, listening to the history of the house, but I mostly attribute this to the extremely warm weather.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“More Than Just History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We wanted to get a visit in the summer but we didn't have time so we decided we would make a special visit.
Although there were only two of us, when we arrived at the Ten Boom house, there were around 12-15 people waiting to take the tour. There are tours in English at various times.

We were met by 'Peter', a lovely older gentleman who took us into the house and sat us down in the front living room. The walls had family portraits and memorabilia. Peter told us the outline of story behind the house and the Ten Boom family. We were already familiar having read the book, "The Hiding Place", and watched the movie.

It was a most unusual museum tour. Museum tours are usually; a wander round a large building with grand statues, paintings, artefacts, fossils etc. - this was VERY different.

This was a walk around someone's house. A typical Dutch town house of it's day. These were real people with ordinary lives who were thrust, by their Christian commitment into a tremendous period of gallantry and bravery as they helped innocent Jewish people escape certain death at the hands of the Nazi's during the German occupation of Holland in world war 2.

I have read some people's reviews; that the tour had too much of a Christian content. If that bothers you then don't go - because Christianity is the only reason why the Ten Boom family did what they did. Without the Christian content - which was not over the top by the way - the story is meaningless. Without Christianity, there would be no Ten Boom museum. These people would have lived and died and made no impression on history whatsoever.

It is a truly moving and inspirational place to visit. Worth an hour of your time and free of charge also.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geelong
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A moving and inspiring experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

After seeing the enormous queues for the Anne Frank House we decided to give it a miss and go instead to the Ten Boom house in Haarlem. SO glad we did!! We were in a group of only 6 with a lovely fellow, a volunteer, as our guide. Having read Corrie's book many years ago it was quite a surreal experience stepping into the house where this amazing story of a family's heroic actions during WW2 took place. Amazing that there is no charge for the tour; you have the choice to make a donation or purchase book, DVD or such. The time we spent there was probably a highlight of our 6 week holiday. So much that you see is about wars, excessive wealth and opulence, battles for power and man's inhumanity to man. This place is about the bravery of a family with strong beliefs, who refused to be cowed into inaction when they saw their fellow man being treated inhumanely. Highly recommended

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“very interesting for those interested in Holocaust history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I learned a lot on this tour. You begin in a lovely sitting room full of antiques,etc while an excellent guide gives you the historic background of the home, the family and how they decided to hide Jews from the Nazis. They were a wonderful Christian family who tried to do the right thing and once they were caught endured the concentration camps. Corrie, after surviving the camps, preached her story and the Gospel around the world. you go to see the actual "hiding place" and if you are like me will come away in awe of the sacrifices some people in the world have made in His name.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Corrie ten Boom House also viewed

Haarlem, North Holland Province
Haarlem, North Holland Province
 
Haarlem, North Holland Province
Haarlem, North Holland Province
 

Been to The Corrie ten Boom House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Corrie ten Boom House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Corrie ten Boom House to your Saves list